We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate ... just.”
Review of YHA Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Manchester
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Travelled with children (11 and 9) for weekend in Manchester.

Room adequate - bit grubby.

En-suite was akin to an aeroplane toilet (or those at Monkseaton High School !).

Kitchen had leaking "U Bend" and half missing oven door.

Woken on Saturday morning by geese on the canal.

Saturday evening the Castlefields events arena opposite had a rock concert on - with family room overlooking the arena area, it meant the children didn't get to sleep until after 11pm.

Overall - adequate ..... just.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyManWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

I had to do some work in Manchester for a couple of day sometimes and so I stayed at this hostel during that time. I had a single room with facilities and restaurant and both were clean and comfortable (this is a hostel so I did not expect the same comfort as in a hotel. ) Food was served in cafeteria style, basic but OK. No luxuries here but no luxuy price either. So I was happy. It"s in a cool and trendy bit of Manchester central and easy transportation links. It was nice sometimes to talk to the other hostellers.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Never stayed at a YHA before, however this seemed like incredible value. Stayed in a private room with 4 beds (2x bunks). Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. Location is excellent. The building is modern and light. Staff are friendly. I would recommend this YHA to anyone! incredible value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Bit far out of the town centre and bus/train stations which was a slight problem with it raining when I arrived mid afternnon. Fortunately there was good pub nearby to the bus station and I was away after a few pints and the rain had stopped. Rooms OK, liked the water area views which broke up the drabbness of Manchester in general. Some trees and interesting buildings would be good, no reflection on the hostel of course. Bar area and reception were good, service fine and the museum nearby quite interesting also. Managed to be here when the Hungry Pigeon free concert was on which was a bonus. Google it if you are interested - good bands, licensed area in the middle of the city. Got the shirt to show for it too! All up not a bad spot and the best kebabs in the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane69Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This hostel is modern and well built, the facilities are basic but adequate and it's very central.

It's let down as our whole floor smelt stale and sweaty, this created the impression that it wasn't properly cleaned and was bad enough to make the stay a bad experience.

Also the staff mucked up our booking, not a good start.

Finally, avoid the breakfast. It's cheap but still not worth it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

The YHA isn't easy to find, but once arrived it already feels like vacations!
Very nice location and I particularly found the breakfast room lovely.
Employees there were very cool. I would advise that place for a few days to spend around Manchester or Liverpool.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnAgony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

this hostel was nice enough. i was there on the 27th november 2008. the breakfast was cold and when i was made to wait 10 minutes for a clean fork it was even colder. on the plus side there was a decent choice for breakfast. the ensuite was a disaster. there was no water coming from the shower. the lad i asked for help did his best and finally got the water flowing. however i made the mistake of assuming everything was now ok because when i got in the shower i also found that the water would not heat up either. as i was not going to get dry and dressed and go and ask for assistance again i just put up with a cold shower. the silly thing with the ensuite is that when the light is turned on the extraction thingy starts up and is quite loud. that is not what you want happening if someone uses the toilet during the night. it also takes an age to go off after the light has been turned off. it is still a good place to stay if you cant afford a hotel. i would go again they just need to sort some things out.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#29 of 121 in Manchester
315 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hatters Hilton Chambers
Hatters Hilton Chambers
#33 of 84 in Manchester
401 reviews
1.8 km away
Hatters Hostel on Newton Street
1.8 km away
Staycity Aparthotels Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $49 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing