We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manchester
from US$46.01
More Info
from US$15.78
More Info
from US$13.15
More Info
from US$22.35
More Info
Reviews (7,542)
Filter reviews
7,542 results
Traveller rating
4,623
2,163
556
147
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,623
2,163
556
147
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages steam train power hall industrial revolution air and space hall cotton mill different buildings great for kids children and adults interactive displays few hours school holidays free entry whole family rainy day half term great place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
662 - 667 of 7,542 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Housed in the first passenger railway station in the world, the place where the UK set its first unified time zone. A tribute to great Northern Engineers and the future.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

It’s a nice place to spend your time during a visit at Manchester, but personally I have seen better ones.. I don’t say that is not worth to be visited, but is not the museum that I was expecting.. my son enjoy more his visit since is interesting on Robots and the gallery with the robots are the diamond of the museum even if you have to pay to enter at the specific room.. I didn’t like the way they use people by telling them that is Free entrance, but when you reach the entrance they are asking for a donation instead , if you want they tells you..Personally I will not visit again the specific museum, but if someone ask me I will mentioned to them the positive and the negatives, so will decide by himself

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Tazmania14575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

This is a fascinating place! Plan a day to do it justice. If you are visiting in winter and its cold make sure you wrap up well, 'cos on the day we visited there was little heating in the Power Hall or The Aerospace Hall, over the road. Hence the 4 star rating. Go in by train or tram to save on the hassle of driving. Both stations are within 500m (1/4 mile in old money) from the museum. The cafe is well stocked and good value.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

Kids aged 10 and 12 loved the museum and trying out the different activities. Best of all it's free, optional donation.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

It's an fairly good museum, with impressive exhibitions of locomotives and textile machines which made Manchester the busy and working city that it is today

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank lauvilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews