We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure”
Review of Richmond Tea Rooms

Richmond Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 57 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Richmond Tea Rooms aims to provide a unique experience for everyone in our immaculate venue located on Richmond Street in Manchester city centre. Try our famous Alice in Wonderland Afternoon Tea, sample some of our lovely home made cakes, or pop in for a traditional lunch. We're also available as a meeting place before a big night out, or for evening meals alongside Richmond Tearooms being available for private hire, functions, wedding receptions and outside catering. Please note the Tea Rooms is located in a Victorian Mill, therefore access is limited. We have two large steps outside which lead to an accessible chair lift. We also have an accessible toilet. Afternoon tea and meals served until: Sunday - Wednesday - 7.15pm Thursday - 8.15pm Friday & Saturday - 8.45pm
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I am a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland so finding this place was absolutely delightful! I love the decor and the atmosphere is wonderful. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I look forward to returning.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Yasmin6712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTearoomsMcr, Front Office Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Came here for a birthday treat. Absolutely fabulous service. Booked a table got there early and was seated pretty much straight away. Server was wonderful. Food was delicious, and if you have room try the deserts... they are fabulous It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Would highly recommend this place.... And so reasonably priced too.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank cspeak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTearoomsMcr, Front Office Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Wonderful to hear that you had fabulous service for your birthday booking and enjoyed the delicious food :) We hope you'll visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

I suppose you have to be a fan of 'Alice in Wonderland' to fully appreciate the Richmond Tea Rooms. Where 'everything' seems to be on the menu - from Cake to Chips, and Biscuits to Beer. Where Chinese ladies eat alone whilst videoing themselves eat the tea and cakes. I didn't know what to expect and by the end i didn't really know what i'd eaten - it seemed like everything and yet nothing.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank klive1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTearoomsMcr, Front Office Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thanks for your review, we do get a variety of customers from all over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

What a fab find! This tearoom is a quirky homage to Alice in Wonderland and is just wonderful. We booked for seven people and we all had afternoon tea. We had a few vegetarians in our group and they were easily catered for. The sandwiches were nice, the scones were still warm and so delicious, and the mini cakes were scrumptious. My only slight criticism was that the meat option came with cream cheese and cucumber, and egg mayonnaise - the same as the vegetarian option. I personally would have preferred more meat sandwiches. They have a wide selection of teas with free refills. The service was second to none and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. Our waitress was very personable and attentive. We all really enjoyed our afternoon here. I would definitely say that booking in advance is a must! I would have no hesitation in recommending Richmond Tearooms, a delightful place full of character and charm. Thanks for making my husband’s 40th birthday afternoon tea perfect. We’ll definitely be back when in Manchester.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank GG-W83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTearoomsMcr, Front Office Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

What a lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed your food and tea. I'll pass on the feedback regarding meat sandwich options to the kitchen! We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Drank tea and ate omlettes, both was delightful. My girlfriend is dairy intolerant and they were instantly offered what could fit for her. Service is quick and good.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sándor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondTearoomsMcr, Front Office Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and you found the omelettes and tea delightful :) We hope you'll visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richmond Tea Rooms also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Richmond Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing