We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great decor and ambience and lovely afternoon tea!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
Ranked #3 of 45 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great decor and ambience and lovely afternoon tea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

went with my husband as i had seen so many good reviews about the place. the decor is really lovely and all the attention to detail in terms of the vintage crockery - charming! we had the afternoon tea and it came with a pretty three tier cake stand. the finger sandwiches looked a bit rough round the edges, but were packed full of ingredients. we had the ham and mustard one as well as the smoked salmon one and they were both delicious. for sweets, there was a lovely warm scone with jam and cream, a meringue/ cream sandwich, a small piece of fudge in a heart shape, a chocolate tart and also a cupcake. i must confess i am more into savoury stuff, so there was a bit of an overload of the sweet stuff, but they were all very generous and well made. i knew the sweets were going to be too much for me, but just had to try the afternoon tea after all the rave reviews!! the earl grey i had was lovely, with lemon slices and my husband was able to trade a pot of tea for a soft drink. what a lovely, charming place. the service was really efficient and polite as well. would definitely love to return to try other things on the menu and would certainly be recommending it to friends and colleagues. great place in the northern quarter!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    148
    69
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely, great idea and lovely place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

I took my daughter here on Saturday for some together time. We had a lovely tea with scones and milkshakes for her. The waitresses were lovely and the decor is just perfect. A lovely place to enjoy the simple and disappearing things in life.

Helpful?
2 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“soooo cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

this place is just lovely. the finger sandwiches were really nice, the cakes were absolutely beautiful, the mismatched (on purpose) teacups, saucers, plates were all lovely. the staff are so nice and really friendly. they have a book swap shelf too. four of us sat on a sofa and two armchairs and our friends sat at a large table next to us. the music was nice. i really am going back. going to take my mum. oh, and it doesnt say on the menu online but yes, they do coffee for non tea drinkers. phew.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeRobbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tommypip
Level Contributor
166 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed in Manchester for my birthday, and went looking for this place, as heard it mentioned in the mag that comes with the Sunday Mirror, (being a massive tea shop fan). Wonderful shop, location, food, drinks,and staff. Will retrun every time I am in Manc. Only pointer would be for the owners to make the afternoon tea menu more simple, I love having afternoon tea, but didn't like most of the menu for it. Having said that, the food I had was wonderful.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seahorsesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place where coffee and tea is still served in china cups!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I was introduced to Sugar Junction by a good friend of mine (summer of 2011) and I returned every time I had the opportunity. Everything about the place (decor, staff, food, drinks) gives you a welcoming feeling. To avoid disappointment, book a table if you're thinking of visiting Friday to Sunday. I would very much recommend their plum cake and Guiness cake, the scones. The bread is absolutely delicious, always fresh, very tasty.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing