We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cafe”
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
Ranked #3 of 57 Dessert in Manchester
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 28, 2018

This was the second visit to Sugar Junction and like the first it was good.

The cake slice was absolutely huge and was delicious although very very sweet and the coffees were lovely.

Nice quite pit stop whilst shopping in manchester and away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre streets. Good find :)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Holly-P89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexWatt, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hi Holly,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and we are thrilled you loved your huge cake slice portion :) x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 716 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Terrible food, especially the french toast which was unrecognisable. Poached eggs were overdone and tea was served in dirty teacups. The only positive was the nice staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank QJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexWatt, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hi QJA,

thanks for your review.

I see this is your first ever review, so you must really not have enjoyed yourself.

I wish you would have told us you didn't enjoy your french toast as our other guests do, we would of changed it for anything else on the menu

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your weekend

Alex x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

I visited here with my daughter (10) specifically as we were looking for somewhere that did brownie. We were not disappointed!
Located in the Northern Quarter it is a short walk from the Manchester Arndale and Piccadilly Gardens.
It is worth pointing out that Sugar Junction does offer a full menu, they do breakfasts and soups and sandwiches as well as larger meals. It is also well known for afternoon teas.
It is a relatively small place with various sizes of tabels and chairs and also some high tables near the bar.
It was early afternoon and we were greeted and seated quickly. We ordered our brownie which arrived pretty quickly. They apologised that they had no ice cream but instead could provide cream which we went for. The brownie itself was incredible, soft and gooey and not too rich. It was a good sized portion and also came with fresh raspberries on top as well as what looked like cress (seemed a bit odd.) It was polished off in no time!
The staff were very friendly and attentive.
There is a toilet available should you need one.
A successfully visit and we will have to go back to try the breakfast!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JohnathanM774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexWatt, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hey Johnathan,

Thank you very much for your review!

We love our brownies and so glad you and your little one enjoyed it :)

Hope to see you again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been a few times now, most recently for breakfast.

We had the pancakes and the vegan breakfast and although both very different they were delicious. The vegan brekkie is a treat but be warned you need a real sweet tooth for the pancakes. Gorgeous but a big sweet hit!

We’ve previously popped in for soup and coffee etc. The soup wasn’t our favourite of their meals but it was well presented and served with a smile.

Nice little coffee shop / cafe if you want to avoid the nasty coffee chains.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DJGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexWatt, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hey DJGR!

Thanks for the review!

See you again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Sugar Junction is located in Manchester's cool Northern Quarter, an area in the city full of independant shops, charismatic bars and honest eateries.

Both of the staff who were working were genuinely friendly and warm. The atmosphere of the cafe was cosy, and at the same time light and airy.

We really enjoyed our teas and coffees, and the French toast we had was absolutely delicious.

We both used the wifi, myself for a Skype call, and didn't have any problems whatsoever.

I would thoroughly recommend Sugar Junction to anyone wanting to catch up with friends, out on a date, pottering around Manchester or even checking the work emails.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WILL_LONDON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexWatt, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hi Will!

Thank you for taking the time ti write your review!

You are always welcome to come and sit and use the WIFI :)

x x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing