We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest four stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #41 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I recently visited Novotel in Manchester and found it to be more honest than many of the five star hotels that operate in the UK. It delivered fairly good and there was a great effort to assist. Most of the staff was helpful and friendly, check in/out was fast, the rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast more than expected. The location is brilliant, right under china town, next to Piccadilly square and a step away from the village with nice bars and music. These guys offer 2 iMacs in the lobby for free Internet connection which I found a great addition. I know there is a health centre in the hotel yet I had no time to visit.

On the negative side the room was very cold and I suggest management to prepare the rooms before arrival by switching on the heating some time before check in (should the know the time the customer will arrive). The room was looking in a tiny atrium that you can literally touch the resident opposite if you both lean against the window.

I would visit again yet not recommend it for travelers that have a slight larger budget.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manos_LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Novotel Manchester Centre and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 1,666 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights last weekend. if you want all the sites of Manchester on your doorstep then this is the place to stay! China Town on your doorstep, the MEN a five minute taxi ride away and Printworks (nightlife) just around the corner! The rooms were immaculate and breakfast in the morning was amazing! Highly recommended!

The bar is open 24/7 and the staff were amazing. A really good hotel in a brilliant location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Manchester. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre . Kind regards,Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 22 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Excellent hotel, my daughter and myself went on an overnight shopping trip. Fairly central for shopping (short walk to centre). Hotel staff excellent, room fantastic apart from a bottle left under the bed from previous customers. Wi-fi that I couldnt get going no matter what I tried. Fantastic breakfast, drinks expensive but usual for hotels. We would certainly stop here again. Booked through travel republic which was cheaper.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gribjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here for a business trip (at the University of Manchester). I was able to check in early after an international flight, which was nice. And I was upgraded to a nice suite (e.g., coffee machine). I had a good rate, breakfast included. 10 pounds/day internet seemed a bit on the high side.

The area is convenient for the University, and there are a lot of nearby restaurants. The breakfast was good (but expensive if not included in your room rate). We actually had the meeting dinner at the hotel (in a meeting room). It was undistinguished. The hotel bar was good.

Not charming, but comfortable and efficient. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on business. The reception staff were efficient but lacked a bit of personality in my opinion.
The main entrance, restaurant and bar areas are all very modern and the hotel is well situated in the heart of Manchester right next to China town. I parked in the Qpark car park which is underneath the hotel and made use of the reduced rates as part of staying at the hotel (£13.50 for 24 hours).
My room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was also very modern and the shower was very good.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again next time I'm in Manchester.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whukev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 km away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#32 of 120 in Manchester
253 reviews
0.6 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,833 reviews
1 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#25 Family Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $103 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing