We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #41 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    711
    227
    78
    36
See reviews for
282
412
122
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here on business - using the conference facilities too. Overall stay was good. Service was brilliant.

I stayed in a junior sweet - rooms were spacious and fit for purpose. And very clean. Not sure about the lime green seats!

Ate in the restaurant - food was good and better than expected.

Nothing was too much trouble and had an enjoyable stay - despite it being for work!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Had a great weekend in this hotel last week. Service was wonderful - staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast served was superb . The location was also second to none - right next to Chinatown . The only negative for us was that the bed and pillows were a bit hard so hotel owners take note ! All in all would recommend highly !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Have stayed at Novotel Manchester before - can't fault the location as 10 mins walk from Picadilly station and close to shops in city centre. Check-in was slow, room was clean but hot and difficult to control temperature ; bathroom great and good to have toilet in a separate room. WiFi was confusing with 3 different price plans on offer in the room and it was difficult to log on.

I ordered some newspapers for delivery to the room on Sunday morning. When these didn't come, I called Reception at 10.15 who said delivery to the hotel had been late but I would have them shortly. They didn't come and, when checking out, I asked again for them and was given a paper I hadn't ordered and one the receptionist had clearly leafed through (with no mags) Disappointing so I refused them. Only a small thing but was a shame.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottP548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I've stayed in several Manchester hotels for business so feel qualified to comment. A good central location but that's about it, check in & out took around 10 mins (too long in my opinion), flashy lobby and the rooms are then woodchip wall paper and dated. Poor 3G signals meaning you have to pay £10 a day for wifi.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. We are in final stages of bedroom refurbishment with last phase due for completion in June. We do have a number of internet options starting from a free offer in our lobby on two iMacs. Our full offer is under review and we are grateful for your feedback. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
2,481 reviews
0.1 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.1 km away
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
#45 of 117 in Manchester
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing