We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Tapas!”

Alexandros Greek Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 2,500 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Alexandros Restaurant in Manchester offers authentic Greek food inspired by various regions of Greece. We buy our products from well-known for their quality local suppliers, using free range meats, fresh vegetables and fresh fish.
Reviewed February 11, 2015

We decided to try the Wednesday-only tapas night for a change. Greek tapas?? Lets see what we get! Basically you choose from 30+ courses, some of which are much larger than others as is reflected in the price. We had hummus, broad beans and sausage in a tomato sauce, halloumi in another sauce, the wonderful moussaka and spiced lamb, which all came to £24 and, with bread, was quite adequate for two healthy appetites (the usual meze is definitely doggie-bag territory, be warned). This was early evening and the restaurant was quite quiet for once, but we didn't even consider trying to book for Valentine's weekend as the manager could have filled the place several times over, so bear in mind that late or no-shows not only eat into the takings but deprive other diners of a table they could have had.

The observation that all the courses were beautifully fresh and individually seasoned, with the lamb being of the highest quality and tender, should hardly need to be stated, and all the staff are excellent. Also bear in mind that this restaurant is not expensive, not in a trendy suburb, does not need to bother with dancers, music, plate-smashing, etc and serves good solid traditional home-cooked style food not the latest fusion gimmick. Love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Neilmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2015

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 720 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2015

We have been to this Greek restaurant many times and have always been welcomed like family, there was 12 of us on a bissy Saturday night and everything was fantastic we went with the mezze because it makes sense with so many people and everyone went home full and happy thanks again for everything see you again soon

3  Thank 413,050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2015

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2015

We booked this restaurant on advice of friends and were certainly not disappointed. Four of us arrived on a cold Saturday evening and received a warm welcome. We decided on the set vegetarian Meze as this seemed good value. (£17.00-£20.00, the meat version is £18.50-£21.00) If we knew how generous the portions were, we would have only gone for the £17.00 Meze. Everything we ate was full of flavour and well presented. The staff were attentive and explained what the dishes were. Despite a large party being present, we did not have to wait long for our food, which as stated earlier was plentiful to the extent we took up the offer of taking several portions home. There is a good choice of starters, mains and deserts as well as drinks. Parking is freely available across the road in the evenings.

Initially, we were seated by the door but found this rather drafty on a cold night and after mentioning this to a member of staff, we were offered another table away from the door with minimal fuss. Overall, a great night out and a good alternative to Turkish cuisine.

3  Thank mancman2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2015 via mobile

Booked this restaurant and the lady took a deposit as this is the policy to avoid no shows. We turn on a Friday evening at 6.30 slightly late as we were caught in traffic and straight away were greeted with a very rude welcome! Cold atmosphere made worst by staff which I am guessing is the management team or owners! We were told that the meze is the best option for our party of 8 and was pushed to have this! We decided not too and when we started to order our food we were told we need to pre order stuff prior to arrival such as the lamb kleftiko! I have never heard such rubbish and we were never informed of this either! Reluctantly having accepted our order and our request to have a child portion of chicken kebab and chips come out with out starters we final thought we could start to enjoy our evening. 2 mins later the lady came over and said they could not accommodate our request to bring out a child meal with the starters! When we questioned this she said the chef refused bare in mind at that time there was only 2 tables eating so not exactly busy! We were told we would have to wait 40mins and her food would be brought with the mains! I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS EVER. When we said we were not happy the response we got was IT IS NOT MY FAULT YOUR CHILD IS HUNGRY. What a joke we came to the restaurant to feed her not to come and enjoy your great hospitality. At no point did they apologise she even admitted it was her mistake that she did not inform us that when she took our booking she failed to tell us about the pre booked meals yet still it was our fault! Then to top it off the chef who must of also been one of the owners came out to try and show his presence and his anger! I would not have given them the pleasure of what I thought but think it is important this so called restaurant is reported! I WILL WAIT FOR MY RESPONSE WHICH THEY AGAIN TRY AND JUSTIFY! I AM NOT SUPRISED IT IS VOTED NO 1 AS REVIEWERS ARE PROBABLY TO FRIGHTENED TO PUT THE TRUTH TO AVOID THE BARRAGE OF ABUSE FROM THESE STRANGE INDIVIDUALS! The food may be good but I would avoid like the plague due to the ignorant and arrogant owners ##WORSTRESTAURANT EVER##

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
28  Thank Sumit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2015

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2015

Excellent service. My partner is Greek and we have been too many Greek restaurant's now but must say this is amongst the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandros337, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Thank you so much. Ευχαριστώ πολύ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexandros Greek Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Alexandros Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing