We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
89
46
21
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
46
21
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea halls of residence hidden hotel rooms are small with tea coffee making facilities rooms are comfortable and clean recent refurbishment lovely afternoon family wedding guest rooms manchester university conference venue left open lounge bar lovely bed a standard double room hand wash
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 168 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Did some research prior to going to watch U2 at the MEN...and Chancellor's came out top.....
When we arrived it was non-stop attention... the hotel and rooms are all spotless... can only assume its recently gone under a multi million pound update
The bedding, particularly the pillows are to die for...... best nights sleep in a long time...
Everything was so clean !
Woke up to a great breakfast...... help yourself to everything and anything....
Some hotels have become a bit mean with breakfasts...... can't fault the variety or quantity.....
The staff, as ever were very attentive....
The night porter was a great guy...... let's say no more....
All in all... fabulous place ..
This is not a criticism...... but the website makes you believe you in acres of countryside.... have a look on google earth and you will know what I mean..

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaL2255, General Manager at Chancellors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear Guest

In the words of U2 - your review is "Magnificent"! Thank you, we are truly touched by your positive reflections, and are delighted you enjoyed your stay, noting in particular the warmth of welcome, cleanliness, thoughtful investment, comfort of the beds, quality of the breakfast and a spot on night service! We are blessed to look out at Manchester's only city hotel with a private garden, whilst being surrounded by domestic dwellings, and the Victorian Manor which is encapsulated by the modern hotel development, is indeed a unique asset.

We hope the concert met expectation too, and if you follow us on Twitter and Facebook, you will be sure to hear our latest news and offers. It turns out "you still haven't found what you are looking for" at least with a Manchester hotel - isn't true now!

With best wishes

Team Chancellors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

This place is out of this world. The staff are of pleasant waiter Peter is outstanding. Food and surroundings are of high quality. Very nice vibes. We would give it 7 stars its that perfect.

Our place of heaven

Kathy and Mark Dooley

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sista-k44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaL2255, General Manager at Chancellors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear guests - of course we know who you are - Trip doesn't permit us to reference your names so apologies!

Thank you - you are so kind in your review and constant support, through regular visits, and of course it is our pleasure to welcome you both and look after you. Peter will be positively blushing!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon,

With best wishes

Fiona and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018

It was January when I last stayed at this hotel so when I walked in yesterday I was amazed that the gentleman on reception, Andy, remembered me and gave my husband and me a wonderful warm greeting. This was followed by a "welcome back" and cuddle from Gill as she passed by. (Rosie was missing which was sad because I wanted to thank her for getting my room sorted!) When we checked into our room there was a card and chocs from Christine and the housekeeping team! Breakfast was again wonderful and served with efficiency and friendliness by Vera and Polly. You just do not get this sort of service from many hotels. The staff here deliver service that many larger hotels just can not manage... they are a credit to Chancellors!

Room tip: Rooms are small but have everything needed. Club rooms are bigger if your budget allows and the executive rooms are superb
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspg232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaL2255, General Manager at Chancellors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear Guests, (forgive us, we know your name, however Trip does not permit us to reference it)

Thank you so much, we are all truly thrilled with your wonderful account of your most recent stay, and the colleagues names are blushing! We are more importantly delighted to learn your husband's health is positive, and thank you for coming back and letting the team know your good news.

Chancellors Hotel has a unique opportunity to balance genuine hospitality with professional care of our guests in a delighted environment, and we are so appreciative that a valued guest such as yourself has been kind enough to recognise the service, quality of food and personal attention extended. Do follow us on Twitter and Facebook, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

With best wishes

Team Chancellors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Set in beautiful grounds, clean and welcoming, comfortable bar and sun lounge. Rooms ok, but small. Staff friendly and helpful.Unfortunately had problems connecting to hotel free wifi. Handy for Manchester Uni.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loiner527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaL2255, General Manager at Chancellors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay reflections, and we are delighted to learn you found the grounds aesthetically pleasing, the hotel clean and the team welcoming, in particular enjoying our Victorian conservatory and bar. We concur our standard are compact, however hope you would also agree they have been thoughtfully decoration and equipped, with a high standard of finishes, including the bathrooms, and as you note, we are very conveniently located whilst visit The University of Manchester. Our apologies you had an issue connecting to the Wi-Fi - we believe this may have n=been isolated, it is cloud based and we will be carefully monitoring for any break in service.

Do follow us on twitter and Facebook for our latest news and offers, and we look forward to being of service again in the future.

With best regards

Team Chancellors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We booked the Chancellors Hotel because of it's convenient location to visit Manchester University. It was a bit further out of the city than we realised but that meant it was quiet, which was appreciated. It's actually right next door to the Fallowfield Halls of Residence so is perfect for friends and family visiting students (10% discount is also given to friends and family of students at the university). Everything was in good order both around the hotel and in the rooms. My room was quite small and would have been a struggle for two people (it was difficult to get to the other side of the bed because of the desk and chair), but my daughter's was larger. Lovely clean bathroom with a shower only. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and breakfast was good too. First decent cup of coffee I have had served in a hotel at breakfast for many years. I would recommend and will stay again if ever in Manchester.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaL2255, General Manager at Chancellors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay reflections, it was our pleasure to welcome you, and are delighted you enjoyed a comfortable stay, noting our great location to escape city noise, whilst still being very accessible. We are glad you enjoyed your coffee!

Do follow us on Twitter and Facebook for our latest news and offers, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best wishes

Team Chancellors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews