We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean Rooms, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatters Hilton Chambers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hatters Hilton Chambers
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Chambers in May. They accommodated my booking switches easily and without fuss. They also arranged to collect our Football tickets for us and held our luggage. There was an ample breakfast provided in the morning. One of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in. There is a laundromat next door and you are minutes from the shopping and nightlife district of Manchester and a short walk to the train station.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaAnniero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    129
    86
    34
    45
See reviews for
11
36
134
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

I stayed in a private room at the beginning and end of a 2 week trip through north England and Wales last year. Our 50 pounds or so each night bought us a clean if small and sparse room, a hall bath and a rather dismal breakfast. Sunday night was a lot quieter than Friday but - hey, it was a hostel, in Manchester. The staff was more than helpful and very professional, even when my boyfriend got cranky. The Internet isn't free but boy is it fast!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

Stayed in a private room/ ensuite: clean, warm and pretty!

bathroom very clean, there was warm water 24 hours.

we really liked our room, it was just what we needed (and warm which was very important, manchester in December was so cold!)

there is a kitchenette that offers free tea, coffee, milk, toast and corn flakes , all day [and night i guess] for guests.

the location is the best you can get, in the best area [vintage and second hand shops all over, many record and vinyl stores also] and so close to the "city's centre"

pretty secure

staff very friendly, they helped us in everything we asked for.

i would recommend it to anyone who searches for a basic, clean, safe place to stay, nothing too shiny.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We booked two double rooms as we stayed with friends. The rooms were excellent. Massive, comfortable beds, powerful shower. We were even given a code to a kitchen just for the people on our level who had booked private rooms. This provided a fridge with free tea, coffee and toast. The only down side to this great central hostel is that we didn't get a proper nights sleep as it is in a very busy noisey location and we were kept awake untill 2am by loud music and people on the street. However because this is a very central hostel in Manchester and it was a Saturday night I guess we should have expected this. Otherwise I was very pleased that the rooms at this hostel rival those of the Premier Inn or other basic chain hotels for a cheaper weekend rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsMazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

This accomodation was recommended on the trainline.com website as hotel accomodation. Before arriving I realized it was a hostel but, as it had been recommended on a 'hotel' website thought it must be of a reasonable standard. How wrong I was. The staff were lovely. Kind, polite and considerate but, I can only describe the twin room I booked as a broom cupboard. It measured approx 2m x 7m, had a single glazed window that overlooked a kebab shop, which was open until 4.00am. There was a light not working in the room, the T.V. didn't work, the toilet was extremely difficult to flush and what had been left on the wall of the bathroom was either human excrement or blood? As it was a hostel the guests were obviously young student types who had come for a good boozy weekend. I have no objections to this, I was young myself once, but I do object to being kept awake all night to the noise.(the two inch gap under the bedroom door didn't help) when I thought I was going for a weekend away in a hotel. All in all it was a very unpleasant experience and one I will not be recommending to anyone. (Why are you asking about recommendations to a HOTEL below when this accomodation is a hostel. This is why peopkle get the wrong idea.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinks053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

I stayed at Hilton Chambers for just under a week, and have to say it's one of my favourite hostels, up there with Urban Chambers Melbourne. It's in a superb location in the Northern Quarter, surrounded by shops and great cafes and food spots if you're after lunch. If you want dinner however, you need to be prepared to walk a bit further.

The staff at Hilton Chambers were very friendly and knowledgable, I had a lot of different things I wanted to do and the staff were able to help me out with all of them.

The rooms were spacious and pretty clean. My only complaint was that the ensuite bathroom in the dorm I had was in desperate need of a floor towel or similar, as it often became a little bit muddy. I didn't get involved in the hostel culture much so can't comment on that, but there was a great kitchen and dining area, although the orange juice/cordial left a bit to desire!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

just come back from stayin in this hostel as i went to manchester pride and it was excellent the private rooms are just great !!! its a five min walk for center of manchester which is good they have everything you need the staff are really friendly i would deffinately go back if i needed to saty in manchester.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle1990Rochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.2 km away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.6 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.7 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatters Hilton Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatters Hilton Chambers

Property: Hatters Hilton Chambers
Address: Hilton Chambers 15 Hilton Street | The Northern Quarter, Manchester M1 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatters Hilton Chambers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Hatters Hilton Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chambers Hotel Manchester
Hilton Hotel Manchester
Hilton Manchester
Manchester Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing