We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent deal using Hilton honours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had an excellent stay with good room upgrade to executive floor, corner room with good views.
Cookie on arrival was a nice touch as wad complementary mini bar
Restaurant choices / deals a little disappointing so eat out at local restaurant .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craidon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to share with the team that you had such a fantastic stay. Your feedback regarding the restaurant menu has been noted.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,152)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,023 - 3,029 of 4,152 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Living just a few minutes away from this hotel I have often admired the stylish interior through the floor to ceiling windows whilst walking by.However,living in such close proximity I have never had occasion to stay until last night when a technical problem occurred at my apartment block.Tired and frankly, fed up we were greeted by a pleasant , efficient receptionist who welcomed us and handed over warm cookies to take to our room.Once inside the room I was impressed by how every need of the guest has been addressed.From Apple Macs that also provided regular T.V to free internet access (I caught up on the results of the voice on BBC iplayer!)Crisp cotton robes were hung in the pristine bathroom along with all the toiletries I needed.A well stocked bar and safe for valuables along with the more mundane but necessary, full sized ironing board and Iron.A good selection of teas and coffees etc were also provided.The location of the hotel is excellent being minutes from the railway station and being pretty much in the heart of the city. Although I didn't eat in the restaurant I did enjoy a night cap in the stylish but relaxed bar where again, the staff were excellent and where attention to small details like warming my husbands brandy glass were offered without pretension, as a matter of course.If you are visiting Manchester on either business or pleasure I highly recommend Hiltons, Double Tree.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for such a great review!

As a neighbour we all enjoyed sharing our DoubleTree by Hilton hospitality! It is great to read and share with the entire team that you enjoyed all areas of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to experience our restaurant and bar soon!

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Sayed in March 2012. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Special menion to Regis who was excellent in dealing with amendments to my reservation. Great follow through on his part.

Great lobby area, lovely rooms. Hotel is in fantastic location and still has a modern feel to it.

Did not try Restaurant for brekkie or dinner so cant comment on it.

Only negative is the bar. Very uncomfortable seating, too bright and expensive drinks. Not condusive to lingering over drinks. Just felt very 'sterile'

Third time to stay here and not the last.

Thanks Doubletree!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonanOscars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I will share your comments with Regis - we are proud to read that the team all offered such great service during recent stays.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is my review on the Doubletree by Hilton in Manchester

We do live in Manchester but with a problem in our Apartment block due to no water we had to check into this Hotel

It is the perfect location right next door to Piccadilly Station,Canal Street and the rest of Manchester on the doorstep

Check in was quick and asked for a view of Canal Street but we did not get it, We also recieved two warm cookies at check in

We was on the 6th floor with an ok view, The Rooms are an ok size not to big and not to small but all in adequate size, the bed was super comfortable and the room was quite modern, It also has a i mac computer/television with a keyboard and mouse, and super fast wifi, the bathroom was also a good size though no bath just a shower,each room also has a large floor to ceiling window

The whole stay was very comfortable though and its great modern hotel which is close to everything and a stones throw away from Canal Street

Room Tip: Ask for a good view or a corner room of Canal Street or a higher floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlandouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear orlandouk,

As a Tripadvisor 'Top Contributor' thank you for taking the time to share your views and media with the online community.

It is fantastic to learn, as a neighbour you enjoyed the hotel - we welcomed many residents of your neighbouring apartment building over the weekend and it was fantastic to share our local hospitality with you all!

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to sample our Restaurant and Bar.

Best wishes,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. great staff, rooms, breakfast, location. just perfect really will be staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

We all look forward to welcoming you back - great to hear we will be seeing you again soon!

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I recently planned a visit to Manchester and stayed in the Double Tree hotel. From the first step in to the hotel we were warmly welcomed, and that warmth and friendliness of the staff stayed throughout our visit. The bedroom was large, clean, and light, the beds was very comfortabl, and the shower room was spotless. We also ate in the resturant, both at lunchtime and breakfast and the food was supurb, well cooked, fresh and well presented. I would defintely reccommend this hotel to everybody and would certainly stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor.

It is genuinely inspiring to read and share with the team such fantastic feedback, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel in it's many incarnations, City Inn, Mint and now Doubletree by Hilton and now it's really at it's lowest ebb. I guess it's going to become a travelodge soon!

Great location, nice room, still imac PC/TV from 5 years ago, looks way to small now. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, kingsize (ish) ie two singles zipped together and boy, can you feel that zip! The pillows were cheap and hard. The bed simply does not match the website description at all.

Breakfast was horrible. Cheap produce cooked badly. The bacon was weirdly cooked, chewy with horrible uncooked white fat.

The cocktail bar, which used to be fantastic is a little uncomfortable now and needs updating. It wasn't busy but still took us over 10 minutes to get served.

It now feels very much like a 2/3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyXSteveUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.8 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,055 reviews
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 119 in Manchester
2,858 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 119 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $140 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing