We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REGULAR STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stay here regularly on business. Based in the converted GPO building, the layout detracts from the potential. Good size rooms with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Flat screen TVs but they are a long way from the bed and not that large. The rooms are well equipped and air conditioned. Those on the 'town' side can be noisy. The restaurant is fine, food is reasonable. Breakfast is a buffet with plenty of choice. The bar area is open and serves food. Drinks are quite expensive. The real challenge is the layout. It is a 'long' building and some rooms are a significant walk down along landings. To reach the rest rooms from the bar is also quite a haul. The levels/floors are not conducive to a relaxing environment. That said, I use this (and other Macdonald hotels) a lot for business as by and large I am a fan and supporter of the chain.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,023)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,281 - 5,287 of 6,023 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is a refurbished BT office - but you wouldn't be able to tell. The decor and finish is very high quality with spacious rooms and large bathrooms (with modern, contemporary fittings). The room rates are good - I got £102 for standard and £120 for an exec room (higher floor with views over the city) via our Corporate Provider. However, breakfast is £19.50 (£15 if pre-booked), overnight parking £12.00 (though in a secure compound which is good) and I was charged £5 to have room service delivered. The total therefore quickly adds up.

All in all, a really good hotel in a great location (right next to the station).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very spacious room, lovely modern style, separate bath and shower, very clean, speaker in bathroom linked to tv, plenty of storage, safe, iron, tv, everything was excellent.
I personally would not order room service though, we had very little choice when we rang up at about 11pm. Ended up having a pizza costing £17 that wasnt even that nice.

Had no car parking spaces left, so i parked on a yellow box thing, but still had pay full price parking. Was lucky i was allowed to park on the yellow box.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyynicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The spa was great although would of been better with a pool

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is faultless. Stayed for one night and paid about £70.00 for a double room. The room was spacious, immaculately clean, great views onto the city, massive bathroom with a large shower cubicle and a seperate bath (there were even speakers from the TV linked into the bathroom). Bed was comfy with decent quality linen. Having stayed in Manchester a few times previously, in both economy and more 'swanky' hotels, this was the only hotel where no street noise has permeated into the room. Best sleep in a hotel for a long while! Only minor quibble is the tea and coffee supplies in the room were a little stingy. I didnt have and food there so can't pass comment on that side of things though the menu did look rather tempting!
One point to mention is that if you come directly from Picadilly station, don't come out of the main doors, but rather the side entry which I think leads to the Metro, as this leads pretty much straight to the hotel (I made the mistake initially of coming out of the main doors at Picadilly and navigating a longer route to the hotel than was necessary)
Overall I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was the first time me and my boyfriend have ever stayed in a hotel and we would most defiantly go back again, all the staff were friendly, the rooms were amazing and so were the views out the window were great. its only a short walk into the city centre and train station as well. Staying here was one of the best weekends we have had and i cant wait to go back again :D x

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here this weekend for a night out and throughly enjoyed the experience. Staff on reception and the concierge were fantastic. Room was clean, luxurious and very comfortable. Reasonable rate when booked and prepaid through late rooms.
Only thing that I didnt enjoy was paying £16 for a glass of wine and a pint in the hotel bar. We then went out to buy our own wine.
Will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Superior double was great, the higher the floor the better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinningJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
1.0 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 km away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 120 in Manchester
2,519 reviews
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#43 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $113 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing