We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little venice gourmet dinner old building romantic hotel historical hotel lots of character old world overlooking the river perfect location breakfast service lovely hotel petite venice lovely town no lift spent one night hotel is located modern bathroom
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 703 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2018

Hotel is perfect location, right in the heart of Little Venice. The room was comfortable and clean with a huge bathtub. All of the staff was courteous and helpful. Great breakfast - I suggest adding it into your stay. We were also lucky enough to have dinner in the restaurant. We had 5 course meal and it was wonderful, one of the best meals in France.

Room Tip: Just know that the elevator doesn't go to all the floors - but the staff will help carry luggage upstairs.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldbernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

Perfect location in Le Petite Venice. I was traveling alone so I selected one of the smaller rooms. If I return to Colmar, which I hope I do I would spend more for a nicer room, but it was fine for just me. The breakfast was very nice. Sadly I cannot remember the name of the woman who works the breakfast and the front desk. She was incredible. Always a smile and charming.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CTTraveler203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Small hotel, situated close to the historic centre of Colmar. Historic small building, rooms are relatively small. Some internal stuff looks a bit "wear and tear" and outdated. My advice: Do not book a room during Christmas Market if you arrive by your own or hire car. Access roads are blocked, and if you drive around for two hours and if you are lucky you will find a parking place within 10 min. walk. Unfortunately you as a customer are not informed about that when booking neither by the Hotel nor the booking site. So no go in December.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank juergen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre B, Directeur général at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Dear Mr Juegen M,
We warmly thank you for your stay and for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are really surprised for your reaction because all your guest know about the road restriction when they book.
We send although an email to inform you about all the restrictions due to security reason during Christmas Markt.
At least you can although book a garage during your stay as we suggest you when you'll get the hotel confirmation.
Next we show you the information that all our guest get by mail.

Dear Guests,
 For security reason during the Christmas Mark, the traffic of vehicles will be totally prohibited in the heart of the historic center of Colmar from 11 am to 7 pm from Monday till Thursday and from 10 am to 8 pm on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
We inform you that the “Rue du manège” street will be closed for a good part of the day and the access in front of our establishment cannot be done.
We suggest you to opt for the unloading of your luggage on Boulevard Saint-Pierre or Rue des Américains located a few minutes’ walk from our hotel.
We strongly recommend you to book one of our private garage at the price of 17€ per night, subject to availability.
Otherwise, please note that the “Rapp” parking, located 10 minutes’ walk from our hotel, benefits of a capacity of 900 paying places, that the “Saint Josse” parking, located 7 minutes, benefits of a capacity of 480 paying places, and finally, that the “Lacarre” parking, located 20 minutes, benefits of a capacity of 380 free places et 298 paying places.

And here is the suggestion in our confirmation...
Each year from November the 15th till January the 10th, the public parking in front of the hotel is occupied by the Christmas Market, so we highly recommend you to reserve a closed garage at the rate of € 17,- per night. (5 minutes walking from the hotel)

We hope that we answer your questions and all our guests find definitely solutions about car park.Sorry for your inconvenience
With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

Loved the place as it is charming and fits with the area. The river is just outside and the owners are there to help always. Have stayed here several times and consider no other place.
Breakfast are good excellent snd most guests get Along like family. Great spot to stay and affordable

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Allansha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017

This is considered a very good hotel - and it is in many ways. It is charming, centrally located in little Venice and the staff is very helpful and nice. However, the building is situated in Colmars old town and hence it is old and a bit unpractical. Many stairs and narrow hallways. The staff is very helpful and carry your bags, so no need to worry about that, but good to know, so you ask for the right rooms if you do not walk well. Food is delicious and I can recommend to include a gourmet dinner in your room price.

Room Tip: Ask for river views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ragnhild S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews