We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defintely would not be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles
Ranked #113 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
“Defintely would not be back”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The bed on the floor was the hardest with a big dip in the middle and the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in. The lamp was not working. No teatowell provided to clean dishes. Clean cutlery on arrival was dirty and hadnt been cleaned properly. Balcony floor was filthy with the floors not swept and cobwebs everywhere. No tissues, shampoo or conditioner provided to room. Dust was rife in the apartment. The grille in the bathroom not checked or dusted in months. On top of the crockery cupboard the dust was unseen to. As soon as we walked in we knew we had made a mistake. The carpet in the hallway was stained and in terrible condition. The closing mechanism of the door to reception just missed our daughters head by inches when it fell after we opened the door. Last straw We made a complaint to the manager and expected a return call as he promised. No we did not receive the return call. Unfortunately I am an ex housekeeper so am very fastidious regardless of customer VIP or not. And no room service was provided. Check the conditions carefully. I suppose you get what you pay for. Apart from our gripes. The city of Strasbourg is awesome. I would have neglected to have written this review had we had a return phone call to our grievances, but I feel the public need to know

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    45
    55
    22
    26
See reviews for
61
39
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The location of this hotel is not very good - close enough to the station, but far from the city center. Windows overlooking the railroad and the buildings around are bleak. On adjacent streets are shops and restaurants. Must be 7-10 minutes to reach the streets with restaurants and shops.
But despite all this, the hotel left a good impression. Staff courteous, the hotel is clean, spacious room. We had only one problem - with room lighting - lamps was not enough and the light was dim. The rooms good sound insulation. We had a junior suite and it was convenient because it was a small kitchen with necessary equipment. Bathroom and comfortable with plenty of towels and a set of soap and shampoo.
In the room there is no WiFi, but in the lobby, you can use to connect to the Internet indefinitely. In general, it is quite a good place for a little money to Strasbourg.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AssiaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We visited Strasbourg on a tour to the EU Parliament, which was sitting so rooms were scarce. Even so, at 220 euros for per single for 3 nights, we thought we would get a reasonable standard of hotel room. How wrong we were!
Filthy carpets, stained walls, no towels, no proper shower in the bathroom - this really was the worst (but far from the cheapest) hotel I have ever stayed at in over 30 years of very regular weekly travelling.
Another unfortunate downside is that the hotel is right next to the railway tracks. Large boilers in the room ensure that its so swelteringly hot that the windows need to be open 24/7, and those overnight frieght trains will do their best to make sure that your sleep is regularly disturbed.
The staff were good and helpful and seemingly know they have a poor product as, after some complaints they did in the end offer a 35% refund on the room - even so, I coulnd not reccomend anyone to stay at this hotel even at the lower price.
Strasbourg itslef, by the way, is a wonderful city - choose a better hotel than this one and you'll have a great time!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eccysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strasbourg hotels

Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Nice Place close to center. However staff was quite unfriendly, especially the bald guy at the reception. At 13:30 our room was not ready (expedia did not state 14 o'clock check-in), the parking was full (expedia mentioned that parking is available). For both issues, the receptionist did not even apologize or offered to help in any way (like holding the luggage at the reception or the like).
When leaving, the same receptionist (the bald guy) was very impolite: when I gave the key back I said "we already paid for the stay on the internet" to which he replied "Well, I have to check that!!". I was like he almost called me a liar!!! He could have just said "Just a moment please"..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, WA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Modern 2 star hotel in central location within minutes of Place Des Halles shopping center; city center, tram & bus stops.

Clean, spacious room and bathroom.

1 bedroom included kitchenette with sink, cooktop, microwave.

Breakfast available. Parking available. both for nominal fee.

View not great. My room looked out over parking lot, adjacent apartment building, and railroad tracks beyond that.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — wi-fi was expensive.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BigJimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
#108 of 129 in Strasbourg
170 reviews
Hotel Vendome
#52 of 129 in Strasbourg
189 reviews
Couvent des Franciscains
#55 of 129 in Strasbourg
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Victoria
#68 of 129 in Strasbourg
197 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Citadines Strasbourg Kleber
Citadines Strasbourg Kleber
#44 of 129 in Strasbourg
293 reviews
Gare Centre
Hotel Nid de Cigognes
Hotel Nid de Cigognes
#79 of 129 in Strasbourg
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles

Property: Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles
Address: 9 rue des Magasins, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Victoria Garden Suites Strasbourg)
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our residence Ruby Suites is located at the heart of the Halles district, 750 m from the main train station, and at less than 20 min walking from the city center (quartier de la Petite France, Cathedrale Notre-Dame, Alsacien museum...). The renowned European Parliament is 2 km away from the hotel (reachable with the bus n°6), and the Strasbourg-Entzheim airport is 20 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruby Suites Quartier Les Halles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing