We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chateau de Pourtales
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This is a difficult one.
Very professional staff.
Good location.
Excellent breakfast.
No other catering. The restaurant at the entrance to the park has the rudest, most unhelpful staff ever. And the food was not much to write home about.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a small (tiny) balcony
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Anthony,
Thank you so much for leaving us a review.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay among us and that our team has met your expectations.
However we are sorry that the restaurant located near the Château de Pourtalès did not satisfy you. Unfortunately the restaurant is not part of the Castle.
During your next stay, do not hesitate to solicit our receptionists, we will be happy to recommend restaurants.
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

En Anglais: As the air pollution in Strasbourg proper can be quite bad at times, the Hotel Chateau de Portales was an amazing retreat within what I named the "magic forest" of Parc Pourtales. The air was clean, the setting stupendous, and I could pretend I was at my chateau in the French countryside while finishing a book manuscript. Would definitely recommend for visitors to Strasbourg who want to get away from downtown!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ProfSeanOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sean,
What a pleasure to read that you have so much enjoyed your stay among us.
Your words encourage us and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again during a next stay in Strasbourg!
Best regards, Château de Pourtalès

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The chateau from a distance is nice and the grounds are stunning. Up close, the buildings could use some lipstick (or plastic surgery) as age and lack of maintenance has taken its toll. That being said, everything was functional, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. The GPS was essential and brought me right to the property which if off the beaten path.
Cons:
- Parking is not close to the building and the parking lot is gravel (so you must carry your luggage)
- No elevator. Access to to floor 1 is up a wide, winding staircase. Floor 2 is a steep, narrow staircase.
- Banging water pipes were loud all night long and heavy footsteps could be heard on the squeaky floors.
- A strong petroleum odor was in the air that made me keep the windows closed and stay indoors. This may vary depending on the direction of the wind.
Pros:
- Beautiful grounds and walking trails
- Historic- it is easy to imagine royalty walking the halls and grounds
- Friendly Staff
- Good breakfast

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Réceptionniste at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ronald,

We are delighted that you enjoyed the authenticity of the Château and the quality of our breakfast.
However, we regret that your stay was not fully up to your expectations.
We specify that our guests can park at the front of the castle the time to leave their luggage and that we accompany each of our guests to the room, we are always happy to offer our help when it comes to wearing luggage.
We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you of the quality of our services.
Best regards, Château de Pourtalès

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Fantastic hotel in a nice surrounding.The park was beautiful and the art was nice.We had a great room and the breakfast was good.The service was very satisfying.Strasbourg is a nice city.If you are going to stay there I would recommend this hotel to everybody

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mrdekoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment and your recommendation.
What a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and the services we offer.
We are delighted that you share with the travelers your discovery of the works of art that are strewn in the park.
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel is very good especially if you're travelling here by car. The staff were very professional and the breakfast was perfectly adequate.
The rooms were clean albeit fairly standard. There was no air con but a fan was provided. The overall appearance is ok but the grounds look like they would benefit from a bit of attention as the outside is the first thing you see as you arrive.
On a plus side if you have bicycles or wish to hire them to get around Strasbourg it is the most amazingly fantastic cycling friendly area. To cycle to the centre takes about 15 minutes using the incredible cycle paths.
For evening meals the restaurant at the end of the lane served freshly cooked meals (2 meals + 4 beers was €50) - literally 2 minutes away on foot.
To summarise; free parking, breakfast included and close enough to the centre for €85 is good as a stopover. Not sure I'd want to stop for longer.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stumpy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving us a review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have had the opportunity to enjoy the many bike paths that offers many possibilities, between forest and city.
We hope to welcome you again soon and this time, enjoy the services we offer such as the wellness area, the garden or our lounge bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The Annex rooms are newer but main Chateau rooms are on average larger. We prefer the Annex rooms as we have dogs and these are easier to access than the narrow stairway to the main Chateau rooms.

Weekend bookings in the summmer need to be made early as availability is limited especially if a wedding is going on.

Room Tip: The Annex rooms are newer but main Chateau rooms are on average larger. We prefer the Annex rooms as...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear John,
Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stays with us and hope to welcome you again soon! Best regards, Château de Pourtalès

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

What's not to like. Stay in a palace in the middle of a lovely park with great included services like a spa, excellent breakfast, good wifi. And friendly people too. This was such a pleasant surprise and very reasonably priced.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paulien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionsit at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Paulien,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very enjoy to know that you had a pleasant stay among us.
This is exactly what we would like for our guests. A quality stay at the castle for a price accessible to all.
We hope to welcome you again at Château de Pourtalès

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#9 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,088 reviews
Hotel D
#2 of 130 in Strasbourg
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athena Hotel & Spa
#8 of 130 in Strasbourg
639 reviews
Chateau de L'ile
#1 of 6 in Ostwald
501 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#3 of 130 in Strasbourg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau de Pourtales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau de Pourtales

Address: 161 rue Melanie, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: $144 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau de Pourtales 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château de Pourtalès is located in the north area of Strasbourg. It has witnessed over 250 years of European history welcoming some of the most important musicians, philosophers and poets. Today, the Château continues to offer its hospitality to guests from all over the world. Opened in 2009, the hotel offers 28 hotel rooms equipped with modern facilities. The rooms are located in the château or the annex. The hotel also provides a spa area with Finnish sauna and relaxing facilities as well as direct access to the garden. The Château de Pourtàles is surrounded by gardens and parks: the ideal location to relax and enjoy the natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Chateau de Pourtales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing