We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
205
135
43
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
135
43
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building chateau grounds tarte flambee no elevator croissants downtown strasbourg large room on foot the hotel staff hotel is located annex wedding tram centre cheese pros sauna
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 401 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2017

En Anglais: As the air pollution in Strasbourg proper can be quite bad at times, the Hotel Chateau de Portales was an amazing retreat within what I named the "magic forest" of Parc Pourtales. The air was clean, the setting stupendous, and I could pretend I was at my chateau in the French countryside while finishing a book manuscript. Would definitely recommend for visitors to Strasbourg who want to get away from downtown!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ProfSeanOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear Sean,
What a pleasure to read that you have so much enjoyed your stay among us.
Your words encourage us and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again during a next stay in Strasbourg!
Best regards, Château de Pourtalès

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

The chateau from a distance is nice and the grounds are stunning. Up close, the buildings could use some lipstick (or plastic surgery) as age and lack of maintenance has taken its toll. That being said, everything was functional, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. The GPS was essential and brought me right to the property which if off the beaten path.
Cons:
- Parking is not close to the building and the parking lot is gravel (so you must carry your luggage)
- No elevator. Access to to floor 1 is up a wide, winding staircase. Floor 2 is a steep, narrow staircase.
- Banging water pipes were loud all night long and heavy footsteps could be heard on the squeaky floors.
- A strong petroleum odor was in the air that made me keep the windows closed and stay indoors. This may vary depending on the direction of the wind.
Pros:
- Beautiful grounds and walking trails
- Historic- it is easy to imagine royalty walking the halls and grounds
- Friendly Staff
- Good breakfast

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Réceptionniste at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear Ronald,

We are delighted that you enjoyed the authenticity of the Château and the quality of our breakfast.
However, we regret that your stay was not fully up to your expectations.
We specify that our guests can park at the front of the castle the time to leave their luggage and that we accompany each of our guests to the room, we are always happy to offer our help when it comes to wearing luggage.
We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you of the quality of our services.
Best regards, Château de Pourtalès

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

Fantastic hotel in a nice surrounding.The park was beautiful and the art was nice.We had a great room and the breakfast was good.The service was very satisfying.Strasbourg is a nice city.If you are going to stay there I would recommend this hotel to everybody

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mrdekoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment and your recommendation.
What a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and the services we offer.
We are delighted that you share with the travelers your discovery of the works of art that are strewn in the park.
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel is very good especially if you're travelling here by car. The staff were very professional and the breakfast was perfectly adequate.
The rooms were clean albeit fairly standard. There was no air con but a fan was provided. The overall appearance is ok but the grounds look like they would benefit from a bit of attention as the outside is the first thing you see as you arrive.
On a plus side if you have bicycles or wish to hire them to get around Strasbourg it is the most amazingly fantastic cycling friendly area. To cycle to the centre takes about 15 minutes using the incredible cycle paths.
For evening meals the restaurant at the end of the lane served freshly cooked meals (2 meals + 4 beers was €50) - literally 2 minutes away on foot.
To summarise; free parking, breakfast included and close enough to the centre for €85 is good as a stopover. Not sure I'd want to stop for longer.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stumpy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving us a review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have had the opportunity to enjoy the many bike paths that offers many possibilities, between forest and city.
We hope to welcome you again soon and this time, enjoy the services we offer such as the wellness area, the garden or our lounge bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

The Annex rooms are newer but main Chateau rooms are on average larger. We prefer the Annex rooms as we have dogs and these are easier to access than the narrow stairway to the main Chateau rooms.

Weekend bookings in the summmer need to be made early as availability is limited especially if a wedding is going on.

Room Tip: The Annex rooms are newer but main Chateau rooms are on average larger. We prefer the Annex rooms as we have dogs and these are easier to access than the narrow stairway to the main Chateau rooms. Weekend bookings in the summmer need to be made early as availability is limited especially if a wedding is going on.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, Receptionist at Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear John,
Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stays with us and hope to welcome you again soon! Best regards, Château de Pourtalès

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews