We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
109
242
138
60
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
242
138
60
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pretzels free beer convenient location an iron hotel garage underground parking two nights breakfast room on foot old town france carpet city centre station session bedside
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 582 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

It had been years since we had stayed in a Best Western and after this trip it will never happen again. I had reserved a room with a queen and 2 twin beds. When we arrived at the door of our room we found 3 laundry bags in front of the door. I only mention this because after I walked in the room I thought we were given the wrong room. The room obviously was undergoing renovations as the framework of a drop ceiling was installed, but the ceiling had not been. This left an extension cord visibly running to a smoke detector that was hanging from a hook in the actual ceiling. I'm not sure of the French standards, but this would not meet code in the US. The furniture was visibly worn with tears on the corner of the big chair and the padding visible on a decorative chair in the corner. Another huge issue was that we only had a queen bed and a single twin bed instead of two twins. This meant that my son had to sleep on a pull out couch, which would have been fine if that is what we had paid for, but it wasn't. Also, they do not have room service and do not offer a free breakfast (I'm not sure why it says they do on trip advisor). In fact, the receptionist tried to charge us for breakfast when we checked out. Parking is at a premium and the garage operate by BW was full when we arrived. My husband had to park in a garage that was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, good news is it was only 16 Euro rather than the 40 Euro it would have cost us if they'd had space.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017

Central to everything, trams, station, shops and Xmas markets this is a great place to stay in a wonderful town, we had a great time here! The Xmas markets were busy but so good and a very pretty city.

Room Tip: Facing the street for a view
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Waryonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Best Western Hotel de France, Strasbourg France; This hotel is all about its location near the Petit France area of Strasbourg. The hotel has one small elevator used for both passenger and luggage transport. It is not only small, it is also slow. Rooms vary in amenities, but from traveling companions they are all deficient in some way. Lighting is generally poor, not all outlets work and there is little space for more than one suitcase. Breakfast is included starting at 6:30. Breakfast staff generally did not make an appearance until about 10 minutes later. They then plugged in the water for boiling eggs and brought out additional items. One morning, our tour director went to look for the breakfast staff but could not locate anyone so she went to the front desk. No one could be located there either! Overall, this hotel was quite a disappointment. By the way, Petit France is lovely and should not be missed

Room Tip: Rooms at another establishment might be preferable
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank toomacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cl_HUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Sir
we thank you for your opinion we apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered. your technical comments will allow us to improve for our future work. For your information we have advanced the breakfast schedule for your group.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We had a superior room, overlooking the side street. Parking was a difficulty as the hotel garage was full, so the receptionist gave us a map with garages on that we would get 30% discount at.The room was very tired in need of decoration, the sofa bed was broken so you could not sit on it. Not sure what the room was superior to, it was a very average business man's room in a city. The location is right in the heart of the city.
The free drink between 6 -8pm was not happening the evening we stayed.
The breakfast was extremely busy and noisy but quite a variety. Pleased we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cl_HUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Madam
we thank you for your opinion we apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered. your technical comments will allow us to improve our service. We have a happy time every day and feel sorry that you could not enjoy it
With my best regards
Cl HUBSCHER
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great with loads of shops, restaurants, and bars only steps away, just a 10 minute walk to the cathedral, and on the edge of Petit France.

Check-in was swift. All hotels should do this! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a lift, which seemed a bit shabby.

Our room was large enough, but was not very welcoming or comfortable to hang out in. The bed was on the firm side. There were power outlets at each nightstand--excellent for charging phones and devices at bedside! There was no mini-fridge in the room, but the hotel said they do have a few available, so that's nice to know they exist.

The bathroom was decent size with a shower (only) that had very little mold, which housekeeping could easily scrub away. The shower water pressure was good and the hot water stayed hot. There was a wall-mounted, two speed hair dryer.

The free WiFi worked well. The hotel has a small parking garage for a fee, and a reservation is required. Our stay was OK (loved the convenient location!), and the price was very reasonable, but I'd be tempted to look elsewhere the next time I'm in Strasbourg.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank RoadWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cl_HUBSCHER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Sir
We thank you for all your valuable comments and will not fail to do so to the people concerned in order to improve our service
With our best regards

Cl HUBSCHER
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews