We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located, beautiful vitrauxs and furniture. ”
Review of Maison Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Rouge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 lovely days in Strasburg and the Maison Rouge hotel resulted the best option. The double room with city view is cosy and very comfortable. Breakfast not to be missed, I .'d definitely recommend it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank _sbeatriz308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Beatriz

Lovely recommandation ; we hope to see you again !

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Maison Rouge for three evenings. I was given a second floor room with a view of the street (room 209) which I very much appreciated. I had two large windows that opened. At times, when the room was too stuffy for my liking, I would leave the windows open and it gave me a nice cross breeze.

One day after returning from site-seeing, I noticed that someone had placed a floor to ceiling type of a metal grate over one of the windows. I couldn't remove it; it did not allow any fresh air to come in. The next day, without explanation, it was gone. I have no idea why it was out there to begin with. However, I was glad it was removed.

My room was comfortable, cozy and elegant. In addition to the bed- which was very comfortable- there were a couple of chairs, a table and a desk available for use. The room also contained a mini fridge. I appreciated this because I like to keep my water bottles cold for drinking throughout the day.

The glass-encased shower was large by European standards and the shower head -which was huge- worked perfectly.

The breakfast was very good. It was substantial and plentiful. The items available at breakfast included: scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruit, cereals, meats such as mortadella, salami, prosciutto and ham, cheeses, rolls, bread, juices and a coffee machine that made 8-10 varieties of coffee, including espresso, decaf and cafe au lait, to name a few. I did notice that even though breakfast is served from 6:30 am to 10:30 am, nothing is restocked after 9:45 am. At around 9:45, the employees start combining food trays to prepare for closing.

I found the staff here to be very pleasant and accommodating.

Now, for the downside:

After my first evening in the hotel, my cooling option for the air conditioning unit was disabled, and only heat was available to me. Being a person who is always warm, I did not appreciate the A/C being taken away without any explanation. That happened at the same time the large metal grate showed up at my window. Needless to say, I was not amused.

The only other negative to the hotel is that there is poor insulation between floors. I could hear conversations of the people staying in the room above me. Unfortunately, I could also hear a man urinating into the toilet, and the flush that followed immediately afterwards.

The hotel location is very good. There are many restaurants and shops nearby. It is a short 10 minute walk to both La Petite France and the Strasbourg Cathedral.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank WandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thanks for your nice review !

Your room as been was fully refurbished last month.
Regarding your description we have to adjust some détails regarding insulation between floors.
Regarding the air condition, the period is difficult to provide. Either eating either cooling. It depends each day.

We enjoy to see you again at "Maison rouge"

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This is an excellent hotel, placed in a very convenient place, close and next to the main attractions of Strasbourg.
The staff is extremely polite and helpful, rooms are spacious, breakfast is very rich served in cosy rooms on the 1st floor.
Should I come again to Strasbourg this is the hotel to stay at.
Victor Weiner
Rishon Lezion - Israel

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me11048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Victor

Thanks a lot for your really nice recommandation.

We hope to see you again in Strasbourg

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Walked from the train station which took about 10-15 minutes. Hotel is conveniently located to shops, restaurants and cafés. Shopping mall, Galerie Lafayette is across the street.
It is an old hotel but well kept and professionally managed. Staff speaks English and are pleasant. Our room overlooked the street but it was quiet. Breakfast was not included. For 16€ each we had an excellent breakfast of jambon (ham), cheese, croissants, assortments of bread, fruit.... One can also go out to get a nice breakfast as well. We had a pleasant two day stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Florence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Responsable relations clients at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Sue,

Many thanks for your detailed comment. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay in Maison Rouge and especially our breakfast buffet and the view over the rooftops from your room.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Strasbourg!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Super central location convenient to sights and great restaurants. Above all well suited for business travellers (ie: internet access that works, room safe etc). Good breakfast and great service and obliging staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thanks for your nice review and recommandation

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here at the start and end of our trip. Asked for quiet rooms and we were placed on the side, which worked well (and gave us a balcony). Air con works well. Spacious room. Unusually for France there is a kettle; also a mini bar. Bath with shower over in a good sized bathroom.
Travelled to Strasbourg by train and took the tram to the hotel - C leaves at station level and you walk up from Homme de Fer or you can do as we did and get A or D from below the station which stop just after the hotel. Tickets easy to buy from machine.
There are online offers well below the door price. They don't include breakfast but there are lots of nearby places for French breakfast which is much cheaper, or you can add breakfast if you want.
Excellent location for walking round the old town and lots of choice for restaurants nearby.
Staff very friendly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ElaineRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thanks for your review

On our web site you will always find our best prices with or without breakfast included.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

It was a long walk from the train station but worth it when we got there. Beautiful hotel and within walking distance to everything in maintain area like Notre Dame Cathedral. Really nice location and nice walking area. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leroy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thanks for your recommandation

Next time , from the train station take the tramway line A or D and after three stops you will reach in 5 minutes the hotel.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 130 in Strasbourg
844 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#8 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#11 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,412 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#7 of 130 in Strasbourg
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rouge Hotel

Address: 4 rue des Francs Bourgeois, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#17 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $110 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Standard rooms to Suites, each room offers discreet comfort and relaxing elegance. Whether for work or leisure, the pleasure remains the same ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Rouge Strasbourg
Hotel Maison Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing