We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
53
129
42
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
129
42
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean roomsdecent choicetriple roomlate arrivalold townthe main train stationan easy walknext morningwould stay here againlobbywifireceptionparkingcathedral
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 258 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Small Hotel in walking distance to the old town. Small, but fully equiped rooms with modern bathrooms and aircondition. Good breakfast (for french standards, basic for nothern europeans). Unfortunately the aircondition didn't work, when we were staying there at outside temperatures of 30 degrees! The management wasn' t able or willing to do something about it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellevue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for taking time to write a comment concerning your stay in our hotel.


I am pleased that your stay has matched your expetation.

I am so sorry for air conditionning maintenance that oblige us to stop the system twice during the week, but we needed to replace two spare parts to make it works more efficiently. Now AC is working fine and a fresh air at 15°C is produced.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon.


Best regards;

Sébastien
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really good 2 (or 3?) star hotel in the city centre! Centrally located, old town is really near within a little walk. Service was friendly and helpful.
The room was little, situated on the 1st floor and had a street view. It was quite noisy in the evening when people walked in the street and early morning it was unable to sleep because the noise from the cars (maybe rooms in higher floors are more quiet.
Bathroom was new and modern, but the room itself needs redecoration (like I understand the hotel is under construction and it will improve).
First morning there was a problem with hot water and had to take cold shower. Wifi was very poor at the first day but after several times complaining in the reception the system was restarted and everything worked just fine.
Breakfast hall was really beautiful. On the second day pastries were not fresh. Variety should be improved as well because when staying more than 1-2 days you just wouldn't like to eat the same food every morning.

Room Tip: Rooms with street view on lower floors are noisy, avoid in summer time if want to keep windows open.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xJanikax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien d, Directeur général at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thanks you for taking part of your precious time to give your feeling about your stay.

As you noticed, hotel is closed to the hyper center of strasbourg and less than 10 minutes walking distanc e to cathedral.

You had the pleasure to test our new bathrooms, note that all bathrooms have been renovated and that in september we will renovate the room decoration, by changing all furnitures including beds.

I get very surprised by your remarks on pastry quality, as we are cooking ourselves our pastry every morning, and they are never reused because I am eating every morning the remaining quantity !

I hope to welcome you again very soon to show you how much we care about your comments and what we did to improve our overall quality,.


Best regards.


sébastien DENYS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel is rather well located, just within 10 minute walking distance from the centre, it is quiet, rooms are clean, shower functions well. It is pretty decent choice for decent price. The breakfast was modest, but good.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank KriGev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for your comment and I am glad that you have been satisfied by your stay in our hotel.

In the purpose to constantly increase our overall quality we are always looking for Guest's advise, such as how to make our breakfast buffet better. So do not hesitate while having breakfast to tell us about your felling and what you would expect to have on the buffet. This is the only way for us to become better.

Best regards.


Sébastien DENYS
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at this small hotel for 2 nights and found it suited our needs very well. The staff at reception were particularly helpful and friendly. They even made a phone call to Lyon for us to ensure that our rental car was automatic. The room was clean and warm. The bathroom was modern and there was plenty of hot water. We were given a triple room, which gave us a little more room than we expected. The hotel is outside the centre of the old town, but it's only a pleasant 10 minute walk to the gorgeous cathedral of Notre Dame. We ate out at two little taverns that were just near the cathedral and they were well priced and the food was delicious. There are lots of eating options within 10 minutes of the hotel. The breakfast was simple but adequate and was served in a very quaint room downstairs. The waitress who served us was very courteous and friendly. Overall, we would recommend this to any travellers to Strasbourg who do not need to stay in the tourist centre of the town and who wish to get value for money.

Room Tip: There is a construction site next door at the moment but the noise did not bother us as we were out all day.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for taking some of your time to write a review on our hotel.

The team and I are very pleased that room, staff and breakfast have satisfied you.
Since (recently) we have bought the hotel, we try to increased quality in all part of the hotel. And it is a great satisfaction that you find our new bathroom modern and comfortable.

I hope to welcome again in a close future (Australia is not so far...)

Best regards.


Sébastien DENYS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I don't know how much the room cost because it was a business trip. Clean and basic, bed comfortable, quiet. Shower fine. Breakfast 'buffet' was modest but adequate. It was within walking distance of the main part of the city. Staff obliging and friendly. Huge massage chair in reception (strange!) was worth a go and was free!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennie-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien d, Gérant at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thanks you for taking part of your time to write a review on our hotel.

I pleased that your room has meet your expectation, but i feel you a little bit disapointed by breakfast quality. Please let us konw what you would like to see on the buffet as we are always looking for ideas to become better.

Little story about that massage chair...This chair was supposed to be in the suite bedroom (#30), but while we were refurbishing the room we installed the massage chair in lobby. But the chair was used by so many person that we finally decided to let it in the lobby. By the way the chair will soon reintegrate room 30.


Best regard.

Sébastien DENYS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews