We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Couvent des Franciscains
Ranked #63 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very well appointed, simple hotel close to beautiful old town Strasbourg, about 10 minutes on foot. Our good-sized room was on the 4th floor and a good size. We comfortably fit a crib for our little one and still had loads of room to unpack our 3 large suitcases. The staff were very helpful, directing us to a grocery store that was actually open late on Sunday evening, not exactly an easy thing in France.

The €10 parking a night (you must reserve, only 4-5 spots available) was a bit dear, but the €10 breakfast is not your typical petit dejeuner and well worth the money. Wifi was spotty at times, but when it worked (mostly), it was fast.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Definitely get that breakfast option, worth the €10/person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GuyFromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 235 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I booked this hotel last minute and found it to be an excellent quality hotel for the price. Clean rooms, very nice staff, working internet, good breakfast, and it's within short walking distance of the center of Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It is important to note that the opinion is based on the level of the hotel and the price you pay. In our case we will recommend the Hotel strongly because of the very good price-quality relation. Attention at the reception very good. Rooms, we were 4 in two rooms, comfortable and well equiped with modern bathrooms where everything worked very well. We did not have breakfast included but the breakfast table looked very complete and the place charming. The Hotel location is excelent, very near to the heart of the "old city" so you can walk easely to the principal attractions. The street in front of the Hotel is quite busy and of course there is a little noise but the windows have double paned glass and diminish the noise level quite well.
A very good choice at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALEJANDROD898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

In March 2014 I travelled for business and I stayed in a room at the first floor. The hotel is nice and the staff is friendly. Unfortunately I have to say that the room was not completely quiet during the night because of noise coming both from the street and from other rooms. Overall the hotel is good even if I found that the sleep quality was not excellent. Maybe I have been just unlucky in being assigned the wrong room. Breakfast was not included in the price of about 100 euros per day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien d, Gérant at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014
Google Translation

Cher Client,

Merci d'avoir pris un peu de votre temps pour nous donner un aperçus de votre séjour.

Je suis vraiemnt désolé que vous ayez eu a souffrir du bruit de la rue. Il est vrai que les chambres de la rue et surtout au premier étage ont plus à souffrir des nuisances inévitables au centre ville. Pour votre prochain séjour, n'hésitez à nous demander directement une chambre en étage plus élevé, voir même donnant sur notre cour.

PS : notre petit déjeuner buffet est à 9.50 €.

Cordialement.

Sébastien.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hotel is at a walking distance to the center. Personnel was very friendly, smiling. It is a very good hotel at reasonable prices. Rooms are spacy, clean. Bathroom is also spacy. We were satisfied and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
2  Thank Aydin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights before Christmas. The location was kinda far away from Strasbourg station but near the cathedral and Christmas markets. The room was cleaned, the service was good but weak Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
1  Thank Myk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were there for only one night but was appreciate the room was newly refurbished although the lift was temperamental and upper staircase was still covering by plastic wrap.

The location is quite close to the railway station about 15minutes walk, and 10minutes to get into the main town high street. I have to say although the bathroom wasn't the biggest I've seen but it was clean and nice roof window fitting. We were there just for one night and more concerns on the bed quality. It was a quality firm bed and not like the others B&B memory foam bed where you will be having an aching back after a night sleeping.

With those price to get a nice comfy sleeping which I rate this hotel brilliant.

Keep in up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SummerHeat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien d, Gérant at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

As you probably seen hotel at time of your stay we were finishing last bathroom refurbishment. IF you comm eback after November, I am confident that you won't recognize hotel and rooms. Lobby is on the way to be totally refurbished, and room furniture and lighting will be changed. But beds will be kept !!

Regards

Sébastien DENYS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#13 of 131 in Strasbourg
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couvent des Franciscains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couvent des Franciscains

Address: 18 rue du Faubourg de Pierre, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: $81 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Couvent des Franciscains 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the touristic heart of Strasbourg, few minutes walking distance from majors points of interest of the city. The hotel is located in an adjacent small street that keeps rooms away from the noise of the majors’ road. About 10 minutes walking distance from the main railway station and 20 minutes from all the European Institutions.Public transportation as tramway are accessible 100 meters from hotel.Buffet breakfast is served in a typical Winstub room in the basement of the hotel, adjacent to the meeting room with its sky roof.Floors are accessible with two elevators.Hotel is only 25 km from strasbourg airport, also accessible by train in 9 minutes. German, Baden Baden Airport is 40 km away.All rooms fully renovated in 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Couvent des Franciscains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvent Des Franciscains Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing