We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You my walk in but you will waddle out!”
Review of Schnockeloch

Schnockeloch
Reserve with
Schnockeloch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 1,621 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kitchen restoration type Alsatian and French
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

We were going to eat here last night but thought the prices on the menu posted outside were too high. Tonight after reading more TA reviews we decided what the heck and gave it a try. We started with the mushroom tart thinking it was going to be this little fancy pastry that we would half for an appetizer. What we got was a huge flat bread pizza covered with ham, mushrooms, onions, and cheese galore. This would have been enough for both of us but we had already ordered our meals. I ordered the sauerkraut which came with potatoes, ham, and 3 different kinds of sausages. It was brought out in a huge casserole dish. My wife ordered thin sliced chicken with mushrooms and sauteed potato which was such a huge portion she couldn't finish it. We both were very pleased with our meals and we washed it all down with meteor beers. The service was very friendly and they had candles lit on the tables. The only thing missing was music. You will definitely get your money's worth just make sure you go hungry. Highly recommend.

1  Thank TACOB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnockeloch, Propriétaire at Schnockeloch, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour TACOB0B,

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de commenter notre table et la qualité du service.

Nous nous efforçons de présenter une cuisine traditionnelle alsacienne à l'image de notre belle région et un service à la hauteur des exigences de nos clients. Nous sommes heureux de constater vous avez apprécié votre soirée.

C'est avec un très grand plaisir que nous vous accueillerons pour votre prochain passage dans notre belle ville.

La Gérante
Mme Caroline CELIK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

We had booked in this restaurant on our trip to the Alsace region. We wanted to try out typical food. This place is the place to be. I tried the Tarte Flambée and if it was not for the road back home, I would have taken two of them ! The Tarte is thin, tasty, well baked and you cannot be disappointed. Others at our table really enjoyed the typical choucroute. These would be the 2 meals I recommend you try. Also, the restaurant is located on the river banks and you can access the city centre very easily. Waiters are very kind and were always available. A great place !!

Thank mdbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnockeloch, Propriétaire at Schnockeloch, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de commenter notre établissement.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir pour une prochaine dégustation,
La gérante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Visited here several times during our stay. Not too expensive, really good service and quite nice food. Would certainly recommend it. Very busy when we were there.

Thank FLB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnockeloch, Propriétaire at Schnockeloch, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de commenter notre établissement.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir pour une prochaine dégustation,
La gérante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

From the Pictures and reviews I expected a more leasure experience. Don't know how other restaurants are in the are but it was a really nice place! The waiters are dressed sharp.
We al ordered Flammkuchen, which was great!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Konstantin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnockeloch, Propriétaire at Schnockeloch, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de commenter notre établissement.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir pour une prochaine dégustation,
La gérante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We eat the "menu du jour" which it was nice but quite average. We actually expected more after reading the reviews. Maybe the menu it's a better option.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnockeloch, Propriétaire at Schnockeloch, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de commenter notre établissement.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir pour une prochaine dégustation,
La gérante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schnockeloch also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Plobsheim, Strasbourg
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Schnockeloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing