We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain and Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
Ranked #50 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three days on the way to Sarlet. It was advertised to us as a four star hotel. It was far from that designation. Maybe I might give it two stars. It is located in a commercial and business center. Walking distances is necessary to get to many of the places of interest to vacationers. It is a hotel that caters to business travelers. The room we were given had no "decor". It was sparely furnished with a finished plywood-like desk and headboard. The bath was clean and tiled. It had no outlet for any appliance except for an accommodation for a shaver in the hair dryer box. The hair dryer couldn't be adjusted and blew so forcefully and hot that it was unusable. There was no full length mirror. I would say, from the items the bath lacked, the room was designed for a male business traveler who would spend very little time in this drab room. There is a restaurant and bar. The restaurant is open for service all day and evening. They serve a nice petit dejeuner buffet style. There is an assortment of very good breads and pastries, cereals, yogurt, sliced meats, cheeses, fruits and juices. They also have bacon, sausages and something that resembles scrambled eggs. The coffee is very good. There is no chef on duty to prepare eggs to order. Dining in the restaurant for lunch or dinner is ok if you are too tired to go out to find a place to enjoy a meal. Their menu is severely limited. We ate in the dining room the evening of our arrival and were very disappointed in the quality of the food. It all appeared to have been prepared ahead and microwaved before service. The food was luke warm and looked as tired as we were. We would not recommend the restaurant.
If you are a traveler who enjoys a bit of convenience and luxury look for other hotels in Bordeaux.

Room Tip: We only know about two rooms. Our friends stayed in a room that was smaller than ours and the closet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nefa45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed in Mercure just one night. The staff is very friendly and helfull. Bed very comfortable. Nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jusioslawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Very well located just on the fringe of all that is Bordeaux. Short walk from the main mall and square. Very close to a shopping centre so you can access supermarket, bakery and a few shops. Really friendly helpful staff. Very efficient hotel that fulfills all your needs. Rooms are very spacious and clean with all the required facilities. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Transient-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

With a small gift pack waiting in the room after a warm welcome at the reception desk, the weekend was off to a great start. The hotel is newly renovated, opposite a commercial center and a short walk from the sites. The breakfast is adequate, but the dinner menu is limited. Downside was that the streets around the hotel were a bit deserted at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Loved this hotel and would definitely be back!! We had one of the superior privilege rooms (by accident) and it was BEAUTIFUL. Free wifi, coffee machine, beautiful comfortable beds, gorgeous bathroom, you name it. Free Internet and printing in reception area. Staff were very friendly and helpful, will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Puppiespaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I'm not often moved to write a review, but my experience at this hotel was so awful I felt the need to start. During my trip, I stayed at 3 hotels in 3 cities, all of which were supposed to be 4 star hotels. This particular hotel was the most expensive and by far the worst.

The front desk staff was routinely rude and unhelpful. Both checking in and out were unpleasant experiences. When I asked for a restaurant recommendation I was told there are plenty of restaurants around and to just pick one. I found some, but they were all closed. I got put on a smoking floor and when I asked to be removed from that floor I was told they were full and to try again tomorrow. When I went to check out the front desk person sat there on her computer and said she couldn't help me, making me wait for the other worker to finish with her customers. During my visit I avoided the front desk, as my experiences were that bad!

The room was dingy and outdated and I didn't even have a bar of soap in the bathroom to wash my hands with the first day. The one upside I found is that there is a grocery store across the street so you can get a reasonably priced meal and bottle of wine.

I wouldn't stay here again. The location was fine, but everything else was miserable, especially considering the cost.

Room Tip: The top floor is a smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Location is in commercial area close to old city centre.
Parking(paid) is convenient and secure.
The hotel is large and caters for tours and conferences
The first room we were given was unacceptable- chemical odour, small with tiny window.
The second was a bit dated, W.C bowl cracked and bend stained. Net curtains missing.
Nice welcome pack. Really good breakfast selection and service. Restaurant staff very helpful and pleasant. Busy reception area and experience with staff varied from efficient to indifferent

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noel021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
#45 of 175 in Bordeaux
1,042 reviews
1.7 km away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
0.3 km away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#14 of 175 in Bordeaux
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.0 km away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
2.6 km away
Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel

Address: 5 rue Robert Lateulade, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $133 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, the Mercure Bordeaux Centre hotel is just 10 minutes away from the Meriadeck business district and the historic center. Chosen as "European Best Destination 2015" and "Best City 2016," discover the fascinating Cité du Vin museum and exhibition center and other famous attractions. The hotel has 10 modular meeting rooms and the "K'fé Lounge" restaurant, which offers a modern, seasonal menu. Paid public car park and access for guests with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Centre Meriadeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing