We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place to stay in Bordeaux”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The hotel is way out of my price range in season, but it is February and the rates are very reasonable. From the minute you enter you are treated as a valued guest, no request is too trivial. You are treated like a star!
Rooms are small by US standards but well appointed, including a large flat screen TV. Exceptionally clean and neat, I went to breakfast and when I returned in 30 minutes my room was clean.
Easy check in and out.
I've stayed many times in Bordeaux and this is the place.

Room Tip: Don't worry, all rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earthbound-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We truly enjoyed welcoming you to the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa and it was a real pleasure to read these wonderful comments!

Thank you very much for your congratulations on the team. They were thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time.

We all look forward to seeing you back in a not too distant future!

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

We are just back from a lovely stay at this hotel. We arrived early and wanted to leave our bags until check in time but the room was already prepared. We were given an upgrade and a personal tour of the hotel at check in. The staff were very attentive, friendly and couldn't do more for us. The room itself was small (even with an upgrade) but we had expected this based on pictures online, however, they still managed to fit in two 50" flat screen TV's. The toilet doesn't have a sink in it so you need to walk to the bathroom to wash your hands but we live in France so are used to things like that. Breakfast had a wide choice to suit most people. Some of the bread I had was the best I'd ever tasted! The room was spotless and they even arranged our own toiletries beautifully and came to see us to ensure everything was okay. The location and service could not have been better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney75123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We truly enjoyed welcoming you to the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa and it was a real pleasure to read these wonderful comments!

Thank you very much for your congratulations on the team. They were thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time.

We all look forward to seeing you back in a not too distant future!

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I was amazed by this hotel which far exceeded my expectations. A prime location in the middle of Bordeaux looking out over the main square. Extremely comfortable rooms (even if the decoration may be a little over the top for some tastes) with excellent noise insulation. Fantastic service from staff who have an unnatural ability to remember guest's names. A delicious room service breakfast, which even included two types of butter. Regrettably I didn't have time to try the spa, but the pictures look fantastic. I will return.

P.s. I don't usually write reviews which are this glowing!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012
Google Translation

Cher client,

Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable moment lors de votre séjour à Bordeaux parmi nous !

Nous essayons à chaque séjour de mettre tout en œuvre afin assurer le meilleur confort de nos clients. Nos équipes seront ravies de savoir que vous avez aimé votre séjour parmi nous.

Nous espérons vous revoir très prochainement au Grand Hôtel de Bordeaux et ainsi essayer le Spa!

Très sincèrement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I liked everything about the Grand Hotel. If there was a rating higher than five I would give it to this hotel. The property itself is beautiful and is in an ideal location, at the heart of the city. The staff are phenomenal! From the time I stepped out of the taxi I was greeted by a friendly staff member; check-in was a breeze, the front desk staff were professional yet accommodating and I was blown away when the Director of Guest Relations accompanied me to my room and explained the facilities, and features of the room. I was equally impressed because my bag was already in my room when we got there. The room was beautiful and I absolutely enjoyed my stay -- this is truly a "Grand" hotel! As a footnote: I forgot to pick up an item during the trip and emailed the concierge to ask if they could purchase and mail the item to me. They immediately responded and was ready to do so; however, I was able to locate the item in London and did not need them to mail it afterall. The staff at this marvelous hotel are truly top-notch. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Bordeaux.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChefG-A2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa, and I was most pleased to learn that your stay met your expectations.

Your kind words and compliments were immediately shared with our staff who were very grateful to receive them.

I would like to thank you for having shared your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Bordeaux in our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Exceptional hotel that's fabulous!!! My hubby and I where there from 15-19jan12... I managed to get a great winter discount... Overall only about 250euros which I think is a great steal. All the staff spoke English, everything detail was perfect, the decor of the hotel was magnificent, guess it would probably costs double staying here during Summer! My only complaint was that the room was really small and with 4 luggages, it was quite a nightmare packing n unpacking...we also had dinner At the their traditional French restaurant, fabulous food and didn't charged us extra for corkage when we brought our own wines we bought from our wine tours!!!! Exceptional, strongly recommended .....

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TracieYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa, and I was most pleased to learn that your stay met your expectations.

Your kind words and compliments were immediately shared with our staff who were very grateful to receive them.

I would like to thank you for having shared your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Our group of like minded travellers have experienced countless hotels and cities across Europe. I always use Trip Advisor as one of many information sources before booking an hotel, for no other reason than I feel responsible for the groups enjoyment and want to make sure I get the best for our group.I made phone calls to the hotel prior to the visit and was met with polite and extremely helpful staff who answered all my enquiries.

I was asked if there was a specific reason for visiting the hotel at which time I confirmed it was to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary.

When reading about The Grand Hotel Bordeaux prior to selecting it as our hotel for our visit, I was impressed by the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed at all during our visit, and the hotel lived up to every expectation.

Having flown from Gatwick to Bordeaux, we opted to travel into the city by taxi rather than take the airport bus. Cost wise, because of the number in the group, there was little difference between the two methods of travel.

As we pulled up outside the hotel in the taxi, we were met by two doormen dressed in immaculate uniforms who whisked our luggage away into the hotel. As we walked into the hotel, you immediately got the impression of "grandeur".

The staff at reception were very attentive and we were greeted by our individual names which was very impressive. We were all made to feel very 'special'.

As we had arrived early, it was agreed that our luggage would be securely stored until such times as were able to get to our rooms.The actual registration procedure was seamless and it was at this point that we were told we had all been upgraded because of our 'celebrations'.Yet another example of being made to feel very special.

After reception, we left the hotel to begin our exploration of what we all agreed, was the nicest city we have visited to date.

Mid afternoon we returned to the hotel and were given a guided tour of the facilities of the hotel by the manager. We then went to our rooms where we found our luggage waiting for us.

The rooms were simply superb. Large, exquisitely decorated and absolutely spotlessly clean. Waiting for us was champagne on ice, a box of chocolates and a welcome card congratulating us on our wedding anniversary. A perefect start to what transpired to be a memorable and wonderful break.

The facilities within the room covered everything. Well stocked mini bar, coffee /tea making facilities, personal safe, personal dressing gowns and slippers. Even an umbrella in case of rain!

The bathroom was large and spotless with every type of toiletries you could imagine. The towells were large and very soft to the touch. 'Oppulence' springs to mind.

Early evenng, maids attend the room and prepare the bed for sleeping, all towels replaced and toilet cleaned.

Breakfast was something else. The choice was unlimited. There was every type of cereal imaginable, with a huge selection of fresh fruits. There were cheeses, breads and meats of all description and it was obvious that many of the products are sourced locally. Then there was the hot breakfast which had various meats, sausages, eggs (individually cooked as you waited) and a wide range of vegetables.

The table service was again seamless and staff were on hand almost on a one to one basis.

During our stay we found every member of staff very attentive, helpful and willing to attend to our every need.

The facilities within the hotel were magnificent. The pool area with resting areas in the style of a Roman bath area was unbelievable . The roof top jaccusi was brilliant and one could imagine spending a summer afternoon there, simply soaking up the sun, scenery and luxuriant surroundings. Steam room, saunna and gym were available as were beauty treatment rooms. A total 'experience' not to be missed.

When it was time to leave this beautuful city, the conciege managed the flight details in a seamless manner and the provision of a taxi back to the airport.

As we left the hotel, staff came to bid us farewell, and we were already talking about returning in June to experience the Bordeaux Wine Festival and another hotel 'experience' with the magnificent Grand Hotel Bordeaux.

Room Tip: We asked for rooms facing the courtyard because it was felt it would be quiet. the soundproofing of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cotehele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, the entire team of the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa would like to wish you and your beloved ones a very Happy New Year!

Thank you very much for these wonderful compliments on our hotel and its services! It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your enthusiasm for the hotel is highly appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit in Bordeaux.

Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

stayed 1 night in this completely renovated property facing the old Operahouse, stylish Napoleon III decoration, wonderful public period space, bar, lounge etc. great excercise room on the topfloor with view on the roofs of Bordeaux. Extensive breakfast buffet with lots of regional pastries; My single room was small but well equipped with great bedding and nice bathroom. Anthony at reception was outstanding
Rolf, MB

Room Tip: 326 single room overlooking a beautiful mainstreet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa!

What a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our services and the hotel! Your enthusiasm for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation. I will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to them and specially to Anthony our Front Office Manager.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.7 km away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 175 in Bordeaux
398 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 175 in Bordeaux
911 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#9 of 175 in Bordeaux
501 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
1.6 km away
La Grande Maison de Bernard Magrez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel

Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $252 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing