We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch spot”
Review of Maison Mere

Maison Mere
Ranked #323 of 2,895 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 19, 2017

A long menu of French classics from croques to steak frites, salads, omelets plus a daily lunch menu. A bargain. Fills up quickly at lunch with a mixed clientele, all age groups. Mostly everyone had the lunch special, chicken curry. We did and a big bowl arrived quickly. Lots of chicken in a mild red curry sauce. Perfect with a glass of house red. Efficient service. Two service handled inside and outside with little effort..or so they made it seem! No complaints from us....we'd go back. Quiet location, off the main drag, make eating al fresco a pleasure. Cozy, comfortable interior, marble topped tables. Lunch for two, two courses, glass of wine each, under 30 euros.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank busyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

We got the scallops in risotto and the veal and we were blown away. Excellent cooking and wine selection. We can't stop thinking about what we ate!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank deewilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Came here a few times for after dinner drinks with my parents and we were all really happy with our visits. Staff were friendly, drinks well made and it had a good atmosphere. If you get a table outside then you can watch passers by for hours too.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Located on a side street 100m from the city square, this offers a much more tranquil (and cheaper) location for a bit of light refreshment. To access the toilets downstairs, one has to descend a tiny, ancient spiral stone staircase. There is a 'vault' bar downstairs which is lit up with coloured lighting - complete with disco ball! This must be a great location in the evening when it is open. Sadly the smoking ban will have spoiled the full effect for those who can remember what 'real' bars were like.........

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank OBoulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016

We had the plats on the menu du jour; peppers stuffed with potato and just enough fish to taste, followed by a piece of pork belly with a delicious, just-sweet-enough sauce and puree of sweet vegetable. Quick, attentive service. The only downside is cigarette smokers all around you but hey, this is France.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WingerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Mere also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Maison Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing