We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$95
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Alcyon(Biarritz)
US$150
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$289
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$124
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$225
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz(Biarritz)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison du Lierre(Biarritz)
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$159
US$152
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
140
86
20
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
86
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort drivetraditional restaurantbreakfast room ispool areatown centreenjoyed our staycroissantsmotorwayjugswedding
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 258 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay! The chateau is just off the motorway and a short drive into the town centre. The room we had was very spacious and well fitted out. There are electric shutters which are very useful in keeping the room dark in the early morning. The breakfast room is very traditional. The chateau is in its own grounds which are nice to walk round. There is a traditional restaurant within walking distance Utd I didn’t have time to visit it. Happy to recommend this chateau but do book well in advance during the summer, they are now holding weddings at weekends so may have limited vacancies at those times.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

The chateau is beautiful and so the gardens, but rooms (at least ours, located at the Pavillon) were decorated in a very poor taste, ugly cushions and paintings, unconfortable pillows...
Regarding services, we didnt' have breakfast as it wasn't included, neither dinner because the girl at receptions directly said she won't recommend it.. so we could not enjoy a complete stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank pedri0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean D, Propriétaire at Le Chateau du Clair de Lune, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018


Dear Customer,


Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment.

We regret that you do not like the style of your room. Indeed, the rooms of the Hunting Lodge are modern, with white and gray tones, contemporary furniture, ... As I see in your comment that you liked the Castle, you should have reserved a room inside the Castle where they have a more classic decoration with antique furniture, wooden floors, ... At the time of making the reservation, it was explained very clearly in which of the two buildings you were going to be accommodated. The photos allowed you to see exactly what kind of decoration you will find in your room.

As for the restaurant, as we explained, although it is located in the park, it does not belong to the hotel and its management is completely independent. Therefore, I doubt we told you it's "bad" since we usually send a lot of our customers there. Maybe this did not fit the kind of restaurants you were looking for and we prefer to recommend others. We understand that you have been disappointed with your stay and we are sincerely sorry but we hope that we can welcome you again in a room of the castle.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Lovely chateau and grounds, beautiful grand halls and rooms in the building. We were biased in an outside building in a family room, which was modern and clean.
Downside - restaurant on site was closed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank kA7777IW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean D, Propriétaire at Le Chateau du Clair de Lune, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear KA7777IW,

We thank you for your comment and the interest you show at Château Clair de Lune.

We are delighted that the charm of the Château seduced you.

Indeed, there is a restaurant on the property, which we do not manage. It was stated on your booking confirmation that this restaurant is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. However, we are always happy to recommend restaurants to our guests.

We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We booked this Chateau at the last minute for 2 nights. It lies about 10 minutes from the town centre of Biarritz in its own lovely grounds but which unfortunately, are situated very close to the main road running from Spain to France so it is quite noisy, particularly if you open a window at night. The chateau itself was typical of most French chateaux in its external look and interior decor. Our room was very spacious with windows that opened to give us a view of the grounds, pond and fountain. The bed was comfortable with crisp, clean linen. There was a good sized fridge with a reasonable mini bar selection, which was not cheap, and a large free-standing wardrobe. The ensuite was large although a little tired looking. Breakfast wasn't included in the rates, (which wasn't made clear to us when we checked in).
We had the buffet breakfast which was the typical selection of pastries, breads, jams, cheese etc and was nice enough but unfortunately, the coffee was not very good and the breakfast room was not particularly comfortable as some of the chairs were made of hard plastic. There is an outside area for breakfast but this was not in use, possibly because the weather wasn't particularly sunny.
The staff were fairly efficient although minimal and we had to carry all of our luggage up a winding staircase which wasn't particularly easy.
Nevertheless, overall it was pleasant enough and a comfortable stay.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank L6650KOluisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Finally made it, after several abortive attempts and wow was it worth the wait.
Nice staff , wonderful buildings and gardens with stacks of old world charm.
Breakfast particularly good and bed extremely comfortable. Only downside was ou room must have been some distance from the hot water generator - it seemed to take several minutes to arrive at the taps, however given the age of the building that wouldn't be that unusual.

Room Tip: Wonderful views from the garden
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reiverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews