We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cheap location on the seaside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Mer & Golf Eugenie
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I've been there in february and lived on my own in a 4person-apartement for only €280 for a week. you have a great view on the sea, it's a little bit outside the city center, but to walk a litte along the beach is always a good deal. Supermarket and restaurants are not far away, so you have everything you need for a comfortable trip. Also very charming ladies at the reception :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HollywoodDimitry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Residence Mer & Golf Eugenie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

View was great. People at the service desk were not friendly or helpful. Double bed upstairs was too small.We were told we had to leave the apt spotless & we had to fold the dirty bedding before we left. This made no sense. We had to bring our own toilet tissue & only had 1 set of towels for the week. If I realized we had to do housework before we left & fold dirty laundry, I would have stayed at another hotel or apt. The reason why I take a vacation is to get away from the busy life of work & housework.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dwhite57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I've just returned from above apartments after a week long break. After browsing this site for many weeks I finally decided on the above mainly down to price, €260 for one weeks stay for two. In honesty after paying for same I was rather anxious if I had actually made the right decision, however after arrival on the 21 October, I knew I had made the right move.

The apartment block itself is situated overllooking the beach and a small pool, playground, and ample free,private and secured carparking is available. The apartments have a staffed reception area from early morning to approx. 19.00 and a wide arrangement of things to do and see are readily available. The apartment itself was bright and airy, and although access by two doors to the balcony is available, could be very warm in high summer as no air conditioning was available I assume. Apart from that however it was equipped with shower/bath and all the other appliances including dish washer and heaters that made life that bit more comfortable.

It is situated approx. 20 minutes walk from the town centre, however the walk itself is worth it as it takes one along the seafront and the views are breath-taking. For those not too keen on walking the number 9 bus is located directly outside the premises and is also available to transport ones party to the airport, train station or further afield. Prices from the airport to this residence costs €1.20 per person by bus in comparison to €20 for the taxi-fare that I paid on arrival. A well stocked super market is located no more than 5 minutes walk and everything from clothing, to food to beers/wines are available. The same number 9 bus is opposite this supermarket to take people into Biarritz centre again at the cost of €1.20 per person. These buses run on time and are regular with an up to date time table affixxed to the bus stops.

The hotel itself charges a €200 refundable deposit on arrival, however this was returned promptly on departure as the room was returned in the condition required. Washing of floors etc. is not required, just a room returned clean. A baggage room was also available to store our bags whilst we waited for our plane late in the evening although check-out itself is 10.00am on departure day.

Downside: No a/c for summer stays.
Positives: Too many to mention.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DanGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Very basic, good location, but for less than £40 for two nights what do you expect?? Beds were broken, bed linen was hard to come by, reception hardly ever open. There are better PV-Holiday locations in Biarritz that are better.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulL4568SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Last floor, nice view from the wide balcony.
Even though the bedrooms were not gigantic, we were able to squeeze in a 2bedrooms.
The hotel includes a swimming pool and a park for the children.
It is not a hotel, it is a vacation rental room with any type of facilities (fridge, dishwasher and so on...)
Convenience store is 5mn away from Maeva.
Always had wonderful experience with Maeva.

Of what I remember, there was nothing to complain about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princessvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Just returned from one week in this hotel/apartment complex. The views from the hotel are beautiful, overlooking the ocean and the mountains in the background. Clean, and plenty of space for a family. Have three children aged 10, 8 and 5 and would recommend this hotel to families. Staff were friendly. The supermarked is just across the road along with Pharmacy and internet access. It takes about 15mins to walk to the centre of town and great location for the airport. Taxi cost €16 to airport and bus to St Jean de Luz stops at the end of the road. Playground and pool on site but much larger playgound 3mins walk. Only downside would be that you have to walk into town to get access to a beach which has lifeguards. The waters are very strong so would not recommend children swimming except in designated areas of beach.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hubertireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

I stayed here this summer and found it good value for money.

Good points:
The apartment was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and there was no issue having our deposit refunded at the end of our stay. There is a tv, and fully equipped kitchen. dishwasher etc
Close to beach & bus stop
2min walk to great kids playground (and beach)
20 min walk to town centre
1 min walk from cheap well stocked supermarket "Leclerc"

bad points:

no washing machine/dryer in apartment.

Costs 8 euro to wash and dry a load in on site laundromat.
You are provided with a bath towel per person and a hand towel which you must wash and dry yourself.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank buggabugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biarritz
1.5 km away
Residence Mer & Golf Ilbarritz
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#17 of 64 in Biarritz
1,204 reviews
2.2 km away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Haguna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Residence Biarritz Ocean
Residence Biarritz Ocean
#27 of 64 in Biarritz
141 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Biarritz
Hotel Le Biarritz
#33 of 64 in Biarritz
276 reviews
1.8 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Mer & Golf Eugenie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Mer & Golf Eugenie

Address: 54-56 Rue de Madrid, 64200 Biarritz, France (Formerly Maeva Residence Eugénie)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#17 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: $86 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Mer & Golf Eugenie 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City of sport, surfing paradiseLocated in a vast private garden, with a unique view of the ocean overlooking the beach at MarbellaThe residence offers numerous activities for all the family: outside pool, mini-golf, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Mer & Golf Eugenie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Eugenie Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing