We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
45
156
139
66
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
156
139
66
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night a ground floor room short break star hotel hotel is located motorway airport tv formula bath
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 429 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days at this hotel, room was clean but wouldn't return to it. Food was quite expensive and poor compared to some of the other places to eat in town. We arrived at approx 9.30am and were told that we could not check in until 5pm by a less than helpful receptionist. The location of the hotel wasn't great either. 30 mins away from the town, with buses stopping at 7pm. We had a group of motorcyclists outside our room until at least 2am most nights revving motorbike engines and the 24 hour help desk did not see this as an issue. Majority of the staff were nice apart from previously mentioned receptionist who ignored me a few times when trying to pay bar/food bills. It seemed her conversations were obviously more important. Overall the hotel was clean and tidy, but bad location (not near town, beside airport runway and main road), poor food and a rude staff member has put us off ever staying here.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan H, Gérant at Campanile Biarritz, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2016

Dear customer,

We are taking good note of your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a pleasant stay at our hotel.

Check-in at our hotel starts at 3pm, except if we have rooms available before.

The city center is 3kms from the hotel, but our location near the airport and the train station (800 m) is one of our strongest point.

As for the motorcyclists, there was a festival "wheels and waves" from 8th to 12th of June, and over 6000 motorcycles were expected in the city. We, of course, asked our customers to be respectful regarding other guests.

We will share your feedback regarding the staff, to improve our service.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

3 star hotel with tea/coffee making and replenished daily, free soap/shampoo dispenser, hairdryer, wardrobe area, beds made daily, clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant and have good English. Better than my pathetic French. TV with Canal+ channels including live sport free, good campanile restaurant that serves buffet breakfast at 9.90€ which is good value for France. Free parking. Evening meal formula available and most popular are buffet starter and plat du jour for 16.90€. Menu is available in English. BUT.... Wi-fi is useless and extremely slow. If you want to keep in contact with your family then you will struggle. If you want to use tripadvisor to research where to visit or eat then you will struggle. If you want to exchange information with another device then you will struggle. If you want to Skype you will struggle. This is the 21st century we should not be struggling with the demands of customers who use devices that we have been used to for decades. Wi-fi needs upgrading urgently.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rayrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan H, Gérant at Campanile Biarritz, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding our hotel.

We take in count every commentary, that could help us to improve ourselves.
We are aware of the WIFI issues, and we are already planning to upgrade it in the next couple of months, in order to reach our customers expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon again,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2016

We stayed here 1 night whilst driving through to Southern Spain. It's very convenient to the motorway. Dog friendly. Clean basic room. Bed uncomfortable, miniscule square pillows. Shower good. Tea making facilities OK. Parking outside our door. Free. We ate in the main reception dining area. Duck confit , tasty. Service good. Value for money. Can be noisey with nearby airport. Keep shutter down for privacy on the ground floor.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank RealFoodIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan H, Gérant at Campanile Biarritz, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We do our best to ensure the comfort of our customers during their stay.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2016

searched for a location that would fit the bill for location to airport and service and comfort yet affordable. This hotel ticked all the boxes. You will not be disappointed at all. the service was great. took my partner there for her birthday and the staff went out of their way to make sure she had a good birthday. Its walking distance from airport and not far at all from the town centre. Food there is wonderful. buffet breakfast and buffet dinner was amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank a_oseifrimpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan H, Gérant at Campanile Biarritz, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2016

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2015

In Short...

Not a very nice welcome from British man during check in at all.

Wifi is terrible.

Rooms are fine, good size, however due to lay out of rooms you pretty much need the shutter down at all times for privacy.

Breakfast was OK, very basic and didn't try the restaurant/bar at any other time as didn't appear very inviting.

Pretty good location for driving to different areas however not easy walking distance to much.

I wouldn't be in a rush to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews