We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy with many other problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brit Hotel Marbella
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 23 September 2014

This hotel is well located for visiting central Biarritz and Beaches. It is very difficult to access by car and evening staff were unhelpful at check-in. They did not assist with luggage. Room okay but small. Ear plugs offered at front desk to avoid street noise. To avoid this loud street noise we ran air conditioner which woke us up in middle of night loudly dripping liquid on to the floor. We had to shut it off and open shutters. Street noise kept us up for most of night. When we complained in morning they offered no compensation and little sympathy. I would not recommend this expensive poorly managed hotel. It was one of the worst we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Room in back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank profmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The room we were given bore no resemblance to the modern room pictures advertised. We assume that they have upgraded rooms up to level two but not yet on level three where we were. While the room was clean and tidy it was not what we thought we had booked which I consider unreasonable. The location is very central, close to beaches, restaurants and shops so definitely their main draw card and the staff were friendly, provided towels for beach and dinner reservation recommendations but unfortunately I don't think this compensates for their misleading advertising.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank CLmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Really nice hotel and fantasticly nice staff. Always a smile in their face and very helpful. Location just 100 meters from the beach but close to the center of the town. Will go back rather sooner than later!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomRos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Very very helpful cari ng staff. Spotless clean. Excellent location beside beautiful seafront and restaurant's. 5 min walk to the tourist office to get the bus to san sebastian. Peso bus.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Telekom
Thank Jason3890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I visited the hotel during summer 2013 with my boyfriend. The location is right in the main street with many bars and restautants, 5 mins walk from a nice beach area. But be careful, the hotel does not have private parking for the guest and mostly probably you will wander around the city to find a spot (took about 40 mins but we discovered the whole city and great view from up the hill). At the reception the stuff is welcoming and helpful. The room is tiny and has quite old furniture! so we had all our clothes in the luggage as there was absoulutely no place. Although, the bathroom was new and fresh and we got huge balcony to have our evening wine sessions, though the view was quite dissappoitning. Also, the cleaning in the hotel is quite low - they did not clean the floor as there was always sand from the beach.
The hotel is one of the cheappest in Biarritz and I actually believe its worth the money I paid as I did not expect a luxury hotel. So if you feel like spending 2-3 nights in the town - this is a good choice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levson_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location cannot be beaten but room we stayed in was by far the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in, even by European standard, could not even open suitcase without it been on the bed. The "terrace" felt like it was about to collapse at any given moment and tiles were so badly chipped that I cut my foot on it. To add insult to injury, was overcharged on check out by some 13euros but was that glad to get out of there that I didn't bother to complain. To be fair did request upon booking for a room on a high floor due to the comments read on trip advisor re noise, which we got (4th floor) and back of hotel, so noise was not a factor. On climbing the stairs to our floor one day did notice that the first two floors seem to have been renovated, so perhaps rooms are better on lower floors. Either way would not stay at this hotel again regardless of price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights great value. Can see why it might be noisy in August lots of bars around but not a problem in the first few days of September. Lovely well appointed room. Fantastic location beside the old port lots of restaurants, bars, shopping, beaches and views right outside the front door.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0 km away
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
#55 of 64 in Biarritz
136 reviews
0 km away
Le Gamaritz
Le Gamaritz
#30 of 64 in Biarritz
126 reviews
0 km away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#23 of 64 in Biarritz
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Kemaris
Best Western Kemaris
#26 of 64 in Biarritz
391 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.8 km away
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
#36 of 64 in Biarritz
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brit Hotel Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brit Hotel Marbella

Address: 11 Rue du Port Vieux, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: $100 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brit Hotel Marbella 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brit Hotel Marbella is a 3 star hotel in downtown Biarritz 50 metres from the Port Vieux beach and 300 metres from the casino in Biarritz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brit Hotel Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Marbella Biarritz
Citotel Marbella Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing