We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Maison du Lierre(Biarritz)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$239
US$214
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz(Biarritz)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anjou Hotel(Biarritz)
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel du Palais(Biarritz)
Book now, pay at stay
US$799
US$772
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$476
US$453
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
103
193
45
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
193
45
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsgreat locationeighth floorring hobbig balconypool areastudio apartmentheight of summerfamily roomles halles marketcity viewmin walkfrom spaincar parkingtown centrefridgebeaches
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 361 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights and really enjoyed our time. Perfect location for beaches and central Biarritz centre, easy walking town. Having a secure on-site carpark for 6euro a day is convenient. 7th floor, room 712 had a brilliant view of the ocean, has mini kitchen. No air-conditioning so if staying in the heat of summer for more than a couple of days take a fan. You can leave the sliding door open. Recommend, we will come back!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2014

We really liked this place. The downstairs reception area is quite modern, and the pool was large and clean although tired looking. We had a room on the eighth floor, looking north to the lighthouse. We could easily see the whitewater. Our room had a kitchenette, although no toaster. The room is a bit 70s style, but bright, clean and happy-feeling. There has been a real effort to make the units feel beachy. The balcony whilst not deep was adequate for the two of us sitting there - the room was for four people - you would not have got four people around the outside small table, although 4 people could all sit longways along the balcony. There are coin operated washing machines and dryers in the basement. Parking was the cheapest we've paid in 9 weeks of travelling, and you can choose between undercover (slightly dearer) or in the open. Everything is within easy walking distance, including a small carrefours about 10 minutes max away. Reception spoke good English and were helpful. There were some English channels on TV. Good value for the price.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clubglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed for six nights at Le grand large and we could have stayed for a lot longer. The hotel gives great views of the ocean and local area. The staff at reception were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a studio flat which gave us two single beds (which can be put together to make one bed), as well as bunk beds, sofa, kitchenette, dining table with four chairs, bathroom and separate toilet as well as a balcony.
The kitchenette is well stocked including some good knives, a decent chopping board, salad spinner, plus an oyster shucking knife and oyster forks! They also provided washing up liquid, sponge and teatowel. There is a microwave and two ring cooker. There was a coffee machine but we did not use it (it uses coffee filters). I was really pleased with how well the kitchenette was set up and found it all very easy to use.
We swam each day in the pool (it was late September when we stayed), and enjoyed the diving board and the fact that the pool was quite deep considering its size. The sun hits the pool in the afternoon but our preference was to swim in the morning as we found it nice and quiet at this time.
There are laundry facilities in the basement of the building (you purchase tokens at reception). We did not use these facilities but our room did come with a great clothes horse for drying items out on the balcony.
There is free wifi at Le grand large. We found that the best signal was in reception (there are some nice chairs to sit in at reception if you want to access the wifi there), but we also got a signal on our tablet whilst we were sat out on our balcony (we were on the fifth floor).
The accommodation is really well situated for the local market which is open every day (I think from approx 7am to 1.30pm). Its less than five minutes walk away and has the most amazing produce including local cheeses, meats, flowers, seafood, oyster bar, freshly made pasta, local wines, breads, olives etc. We would enjoy a morning coffee at L'amuse Gueule (see separate review for more information). We found the stall holders all very friendly and helpful despite our stumbling French vocabulary. We bought our food supplies from the market every day. There is also a local Carrefour which is right by the market and useful for other supplies including water. Although Carrefour is convenient and easy to use, I cannot recommend giving the market a go highly enough. It certainly added to our enjoyment and experience.
Within short walking distance of Le grand large are quite a few bars serving local dishes and tapas, as well as nice shops and the swimming cove. Walk slightly further into town and you get even more choice.
This was one of our most relaxing and enjoyable holidays and we would definitely look to return. September was recommended to us as a good time to visit as most places are still open but its not as packed as in the summer and you still get to enjoy some lovely weather.

Room Tip: The hotel offers balconies for every room. We requested (when we made our initial booking), a room which overlooked the main surfers beach (I believe this was the odd numbered rooms). This gave us a great view and we were ideally situated for enjoying the fantastic sunsets from our balcony. The views are just as good on the other side of the hotel. However, you are facing the direction of the local lighthouse, which although some distance away, and although each room as very good curtains, still can result in your room being illuminated throughout the night by the light house. We were on floor 5 of 8. When we return, I would ask to go higher, just to make the most of the spectacular views.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M0M0S_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Easy to find and car parking available for about €5 a day.

Being on the 5th floor we had amazing views of the surfing beach and sun set - it was beautiful!! Nice big, enclosed balcony to sit on with table and chairs.

5 min walk to shops, bars, restaurants, beach - everything!

The hotel is clean and modern.

We travelled as 2 couples and so booked a Studio room. The room was more than adequate for what we wanted.

The room had 1 large double bed that could be curtained off and had it's own wardrobe. Round the corner was bunk beds and another wardrobe. The sleeping areas felt completely separate which was great. At 5'5 I was ok in the bunk bed however my 6'1 husband struggled and so ended up taking the mattress off the bed and sleeping on the floor. We were only there for 2 nights and it was such a lovely setting this didn't spoil our trip.

The room had a nice sized bathroom with good shower, separate wc, kitchenette with fridge, sink and cupboards containing kitchen equipment - we didn't use this but if you were going self catering there was everything needed there.

We were given a code each for wifi in the room but it didn't work, however there are computers in the reception if you need to use them.

There's an outside pool with a small diving board. We only used it once as it's very deep and was shaded in the AM. In the afternoon it gets the sun but as the hotel sits on a hill it can get windy which was a bit chilly.

The only cons about this hotel were very minor :-
We tried to order 2 coffees from the hotel bar to drink by the pool but no drinks were allowed and so we took them up to our room. About 10 mins later a member of hotel staff then let themselves into our room to ask for the cups back! We found this very strange!
At 9:45am on our second day a lady knocked on the room door and wanted to clean the room, being in holiday mode we were all still asleep so she woke us up which was a bit annoying. In all fairness we didn't put the do not disturb sign on the door so would recommend this if you want a lie in!

All in all I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Totally in love with Biarritzs! :)

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2014

What a great little hotel right in the middle of things. The room was on the 8th floor with a balcony overlooking both the swimming and surf beaches. The room reminded us of a beachside shack. Be prepared for single beds but they can be pushed together. Although they say wifi in the room it didn't work. The reception people didn't give us much info. However we were right in the middle of all the action. The room also had full catering capability so we were able to make our own meals.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews