We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Large - Residence
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We were a party of five males in two apartments at the beginning of July 2015. Rooms were very bright and modern with good facilities. The kitchen was more than adequate and the shower area was very good. We had a double bed and two bunk beds and sleeping was fine although at the height of Summer the lack of air con would be a serious problem. We used the pool area a lot and although it needed a little upgrade it was clean and well maintained with ample sun beds . The location was fantastic, very near to the local bars and a variety of restaurants. The beach is also a 5 min walk down hill and was very popular and spotlessly clean. The Carrefour supermarket is a short walk away right next to the local market where the variety of fresh food was amazing. Biarritz is a very nice resort and this hotel is a great base to experience all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cyncoedboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights and really enjoyed our time. Perfect location for beaches and central Biarritz centre, easy walking town. Having a secure on-site carpark for 6euro a day is convenient. 7th floor, room 712 had a brilliant view of the ocean, has mini kitchen. No air-conditioning so if staying in the heat of summer for more than a couple of days take a fan. You can leave the sliding door open. Recommend, we will come back!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We really liked this place. The downstairs reception area is quite modern, and the pool was large and clean although tired looking. We had a room on the eighth floor, looking north to the lighthouse. We could easily see the whitewater. Our room had a kitchenette, although no toaster. The room is a bit 70s style, but bright, clean and happy-feeling. There has been a real effort to make the units feel beachy. The balcony whilst not deep was adequate for the two of us sitting there - the room was for four people - you would not have got four people around the outside small table, although 4 people could all sit longways along the balcony. There are coin operated washing machines and dryers in the basement. Parking was the cheapest we've paid in 9 weeks of travelling, and you can choose between undercover (slightly dearer) or in the open. Everything is within easy walking distance, including a small carrefours about 10 minutes max away. Reception spoke good English and were helpful. There were some English channels on TV. Good value for the price.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clubglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We stayed for six nights at Le grand large and we could have stayed for a lot longer. The hotel gives great views of the ocean and local area. The staff at reception were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a studio flat which gave us two single beds (which can be put together to make one bed), as well as bunk beds, sofa, kitchenette, dining table with four chairs, bathroom and separate toilet as well as a balcony.
The kitchenette is well stocked including some good knives, a decent chopping board, salad spinner, plus an oyster shucking knife and oyster forks! They also provided washing up liquid, sponge and teatowel. There is a microwave and two ring cooker. There was a coffee machine but we did not use it (it uses coffee filters). I was really pleased with how well the kitchenette was set up and found it all very easy to use.
We swam each day in the pool (it was late September when we stayed), and enjoyed the diving board and the fact that the pool was quite deep considering its size. The sun hits the pool in the afternoon but our preference was to swim in the morning as we found it nice and quiet at this time.
There are laundry facilities in the basement of the building (you purchase tokens at reception). We did not use these facilities but our room did come with a great clothes horse for drying items out on the balcony.
There is free wifi at Le grand large. We found that the best signal was in reception (there are some nice chairs to sit in at reception if you want to access the wifi there), but we also got a signal on our tablet whilst we were sat out on our balcony (we were on the fifth floor).
The accommodation is really well situated for the local market which is open every day (I think from approx 7am to 1.30pm). Its less than five minutes walk away and has the most amazing produce including local cheeses, meats, flowers, seafood, oyster bar, freshly made pasta, local wines, breads, olives etc. We would enjoy a morning coffee at L'amuse Gueule (see separate review for more information). We found the stall holders all very friendly and helpful despite our stumbling French vocabulary. We bought our food supplies from the market every day. There is also a local Carrefour which is right by the market and useful for other supplies including water. Although Carrefour is convenient and easy to use, I cannot recommend giving the market a go highly enough. It certainly added to our enjoyment and experience.
Within short walking distance of Le grand large are quite a few bars serving local dishes and tapas, as well as nice shops and the swimming cove. Walk slightly further into town and you get even more choice.
This was one of our most relaxing and enjoyable holidays and we would definitely look to return. September was recommended to us as a good time to visit as most places are still open but its not as packed as in the summer and you still get to enjoy some lovely weather.

Room Tip: The hotel offers balconies for every room. We requested (when we made our initial booking), a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M0M0S_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

Easy to find and car parking available for about €5 a day.

Being on the 5th floor we had amazing views of the surfing beach and sun set - it was beautiful!! Nice big, enclosed balcony to sit on with table and chairs.

5 min walk to shops, bars, restaurants, beach - everything!

The hotel is clean and modern.

We travelled as 2 couples and so booked a Studio room. The room was more than adequate for what we wanted.

The room had 1 large double bed that could be curtained off and had it's own wardrobe. Round the corner was bunk beds and another wardrobe. The sleeping areas felt completely separate which was great. At 5'5 I was ok in the bunk bed however my 6'1 husband struggled and so ended up taking the mattress off the bed and sleeping on the floor. We were only there for 2 nights and it was such a lovely setting this didn't spoil our trip.

The room had a nice sized bathroom with good shower, separate wc, kitchenette with fridge, sink and cupboards containing kitchen equipment - we didn't use this but if you were going self catering there was everything needed there.

We were given a code each for wifi in the room but it didn't work, however there are computers in the reception if you need to use them.

There's an outside pool with a small diving board. We only used it once as it's very deep and was shaded in the AM. In the afternoon it gets the sun but as the hotel sits on a hill it can get windy which was a bit chilly.

The only cons about this hotel were very minor :-
We tried to order 2 coffees from the hotel bar to drink by the pool but no drinks were allowed and so we took them up to our room. About 10 mins later a member of hotel staff then let themselves into our room to ask for the cups back! We found this very strange!
At 9:45am on our second day a lady knocked on the room door and wanted to clean the room, being in holiday mode we were all still asleep so she woke us up which was a bit annoying. In all fairness we didn't put the do not disturb sign on the door so would recommend this if you want a lie in!

All in all I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Totally in love with Biarritzs! :)

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a great little hotel right in the middle of things. The room was on the 8th floor with a balcony overlooking both the swimming and surf beaches. The room reminded us of a beachside shack. Be prepared for single beds but they can be pushed together. Although they say wifi in the room it didn't work. The reception people didn't give us much info. However we were right in the middle of all the action. The room also had full catering capability so we were able to make our own meals.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at start of August. We had a room on 7th floor so had a great view from the balcony - lovely to sit out with a drink before wandering into town for dinner. Room was very nice big, bright and clean, bathroom was a good size, what appeared to be a well equipped kitchenette (we didn't do any cooking). Receptionists were all very helpful. Didn't use the pool as the beaches are only a 5 - 10 minute away. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazzaM-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,253 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
650 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Biarritz Ocean
Residence Biarritz Ocean
#27 of 64 in Biarritz
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
1.1 km away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Haguna
0.6 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Large - Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Large - Residence

Address: 1, rue Dalbarade, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: $157 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Large - Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grand Large - Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Large résidence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing