We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
166
357
122
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
357
122
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden view paper cups secure underground parking free wifi worked well business hotel central location old city superior room business trip replenished daily good size rennes centre nice hotel public areas two nights bars and restaurants couple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 684 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2016

Ideal location for a one night stop-over close to all facilities and attractions. A 5 minute walk from the train station and next to place de republigue for metro/buses.Decent room on the fourth floor but still no view.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dahlia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie F, General Manager at Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

Dear Dahlia68,

Thanks a lot for your comment. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon.
Sincerly,

Marjorie Ferrua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2016

The hotel is very centrally situated within easy walking distance of most of the attractions and transport facilities. The hotel although recently updated has got no bar or restaurant facilities which makes the choice of dining in or out easy. We stayed in a premier room overlooking the garden, the room itself was clean and comfortable with a small modern bathroom, the air con didn't really work and i think it would be overbearing in hot periods. WIFI was good but the mini bar expensive with no alcoholic drinks. Breakfast buffet was very good with a good selection of hot and cold food available.We parked in the underground secure garage (11 euros per night) with the intention of walking everywhere in the city centre, unfortunately there were lots of riot police present over the weekend due to violent anarchist protests and reception staff were unable to offer much advice due to poor interpretation. We found out from the internet that the Mayor of Rennes recommended no one venture out until after demonstrations had ended so we stayed in the hotel on the Saturday Afternoon. The food and drink available was very limited (room service Sun -Thurs only) no bar, no wine, no restaurant and limited beer. poor show really.

Room tip: Garden view rooms are quieter
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sharky119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2016

Located in the beautiful city of Rennes, this is one of two Mercure Hotels. Its well located, near the city centre, and is standard for a hotel. However, having stayed at different Mercure Hotels, and also other hotels within the Accor Portfolio/chain, this was one of the much more underwhelming.

key summary:
1) if you have a car, park on nearby street if you can (especially if visiting at weekends, where Sundays are free), as it will be cheaper by about 50% than the €11 per day in the underground car park.
2) the check in experience was very average, and the guy checking us in didn't have any of the natural charisma or training skills required. (all you need is someone who loves their job in a hotel check in, and the whole experience transforms wonderfully..). Anything we asked for, which included where he recommended we eat, or walk, or visit, was met with a damp, dull non committal response. I know they must get these questions dozens of times on a weekend, but then all the more reason for them to be prepared for them..? Maybe he was just having a bad day. (but then, thats not the customers fault).
3) the room we checked into was clean and nicely appointed. The only minor issue was that the aircon didn't work so well, and so it felt quite warm overnight, in what was mildly warm late spring temperatures. (worth noting that the windows don't open more than about 25 centrimetres, so you couldn't even get an outside draft of air. (I guess its hard for mgt to know about how each rooms AC works day to day, so maybe its one of those things that varies massively room to room of course).

Lastly, and its a minor point, but there was some hair in the bathroom, on the bath itself, which might just have been a really unfortunate oversight from housekeeping.

that said, overall the hotel is fine, but it does lack personality, (opposite check in, is a wide cafe area where no one sat in our entire stay) which you will find more in some other other hotel chains.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MPM_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie F, General Manager at Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Dear MPM_111,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your stay in our hotel.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Your feedback is very important to us and I want to assure you that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to give you a better experience next time.
Sincerely,

Marjorie Ferrua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2016

Hotel has a great location in the center of Rennes. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are a lot of nice restaurants near the hotel. Breakfast was quite nice. Hotel has an underground garage which is very convenient since we could walk around the city without concerns for the car parking. I was there for a business trip and stayed in standard room, but if I went in private arrangements with a family I would've chosen a suit with a garden view.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuSan3827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile

This used to be a classy hotel - but they've recently redone it and it looks nothing like the pictures here. It's trying to be trendy but it's now definitely got a more downmarket feel and the worst thing - they now have the hardest beds known to mankind. The only way I got any sleep was by piling onto the mattress every soft thing I could find in the room including the duvet from the other bed!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank phil12tch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-FAGOT, General Manager at Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Dear Guest,
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and regret that the bed altered your stay. We beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.
Yours sincerely,
Anne-Marie Fagot
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews