We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good”
Review of Le Bistrot du Quai

Le Bistrot du Quai
Reserve with
Le Bistrot du Quai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 920 Restaurants in Rennes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A nice little traditional restaurant near the city centre. With a warm and charming ambience, le Bistrot du quai offers you home-made cooking with fresh seasonal products. From Monday to Friday, you can taste traditional French “gastronomy”, classical dishes modernized or cuisine from around the world (slow cooked meat, fresh fish, cheese-topped dishes, crumbles, tarts and gourmet coffee) served with independent producers’ wines (from many regions of France). In the evening (Saturday included), you may reserve the restaurant only for you! The restaurant can be privatized from fifteen people.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Very good food, the host is a total delight. She establishes a very personal relationship with the clients as if we were at home. Very well located by the river in Rennes.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank LigiaDiasCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armelle C, Gérant at Le Bistrot du Quai, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

We are very happy that you spent a good moment and thank you very much for this very good opinion of our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 226 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our visit to Le Bistro du Quai! We have terrible French (even when we try) and the women running the show were so kind to us. They went through the menu with us and shared recommendations. The food was delicious. Everything fresh and beautifully presented. Our dessert course was indescribable. Chocolate lava cake with buttery caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream. So good. We arrived shortly after it opened for the evening, which was helpful because it gave them time to go through things with us before it got busier. Highly recommend a visit when you are in Rennes!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank sconniemegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

We were on our way back to Barcelona and had a few hours to kill before our flight out of Rennes Airport so decided to stop in Rennes for dinner. Stumbled across the Bistro which looked so unassuming from the outside but was buzzing inside. Many of the patrons seemed to be locals which is always a good sign. We had a main only because we were in a bit of a hurry and all the three meals were excellent - friendly service and great value for money simply added to the overall experience.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2016

We found this restaurant through Tripadvisor while in Rennes, and made a reservation by phone an hour before lunch. From that moment, I had a good feeling about the place. The friendliness over the phone in spite of less than perfect French on my side, was inspiring.
Once arrived at the nice looking corner building, we were seated with the same friendliness as had been experienced by phone.
The choices were somewhat limited, but absolutely adequate, and the quality of the food and the presentation of the dishes was all top notch.
On a Monday, the place filled up to approx. a 90% level, which is quite impressive. Most people seemed to be local, and we appeared to be the only tourists there. But, we were treated as locals, and had a most pleasant meal - at a very reasonable price. Good value for money!
Having our summer house an hour away, we will definitely come back.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boomerang60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armelle C, Gérant at Le Bistrot du Quai, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2016

Thanks a lot for this very kind advice. It had been a real pleasure to welcome you and we immediately saw that you are found of homemade cooking and nice wines.
The whole team hopes we'll see you again when you come back to Rennes. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2015

Great meal, very friendly lady, made us feel comfortable at this cosy restaurant. Highly recommended. Great quality food, at a fair price - 25 euros per person. Booking is recommended, at least for dinner.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armelle C, Gérant at Le Bistrot du Quai, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Thanks a lot for your kind opinion of our restaurant. We always try to cook good local products and it allows us to make middle prices. We've been very happy to welcome you and hope we will see you again if you come back to Rennes;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot du Quai also viewed

Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Le Bistrot du Quai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing