We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and basic, does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Foch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Foch
Ranked #54 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and basic, does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Quite enjoyed our stop over in this friendly hotel. Loved the bar for breakfast - really quaint with loads of interesting cycling and travel memorabilia. Rooms were spacious but basic - bedding clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    16
    14
    7
See reviews for
14
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

It's a small family run hotel a bit dated but very good value, rooms are simple and small but clean and quiet and that's enough unless you like to stay on the room 24 hours.
Free wifi and free parking outside are great.
Lionel is very welcoming and helpful !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayaenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

I booked this hotel for an extended weekend in Beaune during the Baroque music festival. I was attracted by the good location and the prices in a town that can be quite pricey for accommodation. I was not looking for luxury but just somewhere clean and basic to use as a base for my stay in Beaune. The room we were given was shaded and did have an outside window. On arrival this was quite good - given how warm it was. It was a reasonable size but that is as positive as I could get about the room.

The colour scheme of the room was drab - infact I am nearly sure one of the walls was just plain plaster. There was a TV in the room but no other powerpoint for recharging cameras/phones etc. The bathroom was not pleasant. The shower did not drain properly, the curtain was not clean but when I put it outside the shower cubicle the room got soaked. I don't even want to think about the toilet. I don't know when it last saw bleach or a toilet brush.

I did notice that some of the other rooms had windows opening onto an enclosed courtyard. I couldn't help but wonder what the people did in these rooms for fresh air and natural light.

I was disappointed for two reasons. The owner seemed to be very welcoming and had advice about what to see in Beaune but the hotel itself was a bit of a missed opportunity. In a wonderful location and catering for the traveller on a budget, it did not need to be a palace but some basic TLC would make such a difference to the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayondesoleil1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beaune hotels

strasburg, Pa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I was going by previous review that said it was a traditional French hotel and not bad. We were in France for 3 weeks and this was the worst hotel we stayed in. The room was awful. It was horribly small and didn't have outside window with no air conditioning. I would rather stay in an Etap.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

I stayed here with a group of 15+ friends. The plus was that the continental breakfast was fine but the rooms were very basic indeed. Some of the rooms had no en-suite facilities, some had facilities but with no door!

Our room which I shared with 3 other guys had a shower and wc, but was small, crowded yet cost €160 per night. The price was not the issue for us but rather the poor general standard of accommodation.

I am sure there must be better places to stay in

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancerre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

Great location, located on the north side of the "ring road" surrounding the historic city centre. Three floors (walk-up), clean well-kept rooms, parking at rear, bar with breakfast and light snacks available. Discount prices for off-season (e.g., Euro33 single), management willing to negotiate for breakfast and/or multiple-night stays.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#53 of 62 in Beaune
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#44 of 62 in Beaune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.7 km away
Ibis Beaune Centre
Ibis Beaune Centre
#20 of 62 in Beaune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
0.8 km away
Beaune Hotel
Beaune Hotel
#42 of 62 in Beaune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.7 km away
Hostellerie de Bretonniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foch

Property: Hotel Foch
Address: 24 boulevard Marechal Foch, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Foch 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Foch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing