We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cave de l'Ange Gardien

La Cave de l'Ange Gardien
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Under the wing of the Guardian Angel, and in a relaxed atmosphere come and taste Burgundy wines with friends or family. You will be able to sit and enjoy learning a lot about wines, "terroir" and Tradition with Pierre and Nicole. You will also find gourmet regional produces and dishes prepared in Burgundy, foies gras... This place is special. You will not only pass by, you will lounge around .
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We hadn't heard of La Cave de l'Ange Gardien because it was, we thought, overlooked in the Beaune tourist guide that you're presented with upon checking into the local hotels. We happened to meet one of my fellow countrymen in a salon du the in Beaune who exuberantly recommended La Cave, having been there the previous night for jazz and wine tasting, and we decided we'd be foolish to pass up an unsolicited recommendation like that. It turns out he was a sommelier in Canada and probably a pretty good person to have taken the advice of.
At any rate, it was a wonderful, memorable, magnificent experience. Pierre was busy with another group when we arrived but met us at the door and made some quick jokes that made us feel most welcome. We sat down at a table with Nicole who was very accommodating to us and a french couple, taking us on a wine tour of the Cote De Beaune in two languages simultaneously. She was knowledgeable, passionate, patient, funny, full of joie de vivre. There were 11 wines on the wine list that we tasted, along with a number of other wines that didn't appear on the list. We tasted some of the most beautiful pinot noir and chardonnay wines, as well as cremants and cassis and what we were astounded to discover at the end is that there is no charge for the tasting, unlike the others in Beaune. Even though we left with half a case of wine and sardines we still feel like we should have paid for the experience! We lounged around with Nicole afterwards trying to extract from her the secret to French life and she was very forth coming. After a 5 week honeymoon in Europe, that particular evening in Beaune was a standout that we're still talking about. Highly recommended

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domvincent, Responsable relations publiques at La Cave de l'Ange Gardien, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Hello, and thanks a lot for having written so nice compliments about us. It is a gift for us when you feel so happy, and especially when you are new married. It shows you that life can be marvelous all over the world. We hope to see you again in our cellar. And you can stay several days in Beaune. There is a lot to see.
We wish you a lot of happiness all along the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    38
    8
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A whirlwind wine tasting of Burgundy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I traveled to Beaune for our anniversary. We read on Trip Advisor that this attraction was rated #1. We did not leave disappointed.
Pierre was very knowledgeable about all the wines of the region and we had the wonderful opportunity to taste a great variety of those wines over a 1 1/2 hour time period. He gave us a "tour" of the wine region through the tasting. We learned about the history and the depth of these wines.
He was very accommodating with our purchase. He packaged two cases of wine, which we checked as luggage, in a very secure manner. We would highly recommend going here. When we go back to Beaune, we are going to re-visit La Cave de l'Ange Gardien. It is well-worth the time and it was extremely enjoyable!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank stfnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Introduction for novices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I pleasure of Pierre's company in mid-November 2011. We are novices when it comes to French wine, but we came out knowing so much in our 2 hours of personal "training".

Keep in mind we're from Australia and were only planning to just take a quick tour through Beaune in our trip through France as were not the wine type. But we're now hooked and wished we were there to sample more of the fine pinot noir and chardonnay on offer.

Pierre took the time carefully explained each wine, the appellation system in Burgundy and the history of area. And being not tied to a particular producer, you get to sample the best wines of the region.

We would highly recommend anyone tasking a tour through the area.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank tanga-steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed the beautiful morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband and I had a really good time with Pierre in end of November. He is the person who can speak best English I met in France, and you can feel his passon for wine while conversing with him. We finally choosed 12 bottles of wine with a combination of relatively expensive and less expensive ones, but all are good wines which we tasted blindly and we like them most. Pierre suggested me to review in Chinese as we came from China. I think he would welcome to see more Chinese guests. So here you go.

这是一次很不错的品酒体验. 关键是酒庄主人英语很好, 知识丰富, 风趣, 是我旅行中所见的少数对亚洲国家有认识的法国人. 我们品了十多种勃艮第地区的白酒和红酒, 我们偏爱这里的白葡萄酒. 当地的特色酒Kir 和 Kir Royal 一定要试试, 即使不配任何食物单喝也很享受. 女主人很好客的请我们品尝她自制刚出炉的小点心. 整个气氛很棒. 但如果自己驾车来, 还是在附近吃完中饭再走, 因为品完十多种酒会有点醉, 主人皮埃尔会给你推荐附近的好餐馆尝尝勃艮第地区当地风味. 因此不要太匆忙, 多留点时间在博纳. 十一月这里的风景很棒.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhengHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting morning with knowledgable Friendly people and excellent wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We did the wine tour with aux quatre saison followed by a visit to this cave

We tasted the wines blind and learnt a lot about the cote de beune area

Helpful?
1 Thank Chriskeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cave de l'Ange Gardien also viewed

 

Been to La Cave de l'Ange Gardien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing