We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
106
149
66
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
149
66
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable hotel one night tourist office bernard loiseau morvan national park earplugs euros wine burgundy beams luggage
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 352 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2016

On our way back home from a short break in the south of France, my wife and I spent the night at the Tour d'Auxois in Saulieu, an impressive old building in the very heart of town facing Loiseau's famous hotel/restaurant La Côte d'Or.
We were "welcomed" by the lady at the reception desk in a rather patronizing way - she reminded me of Nurse Ratched in the film "One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest". She told us to hurry and get ready for dinner if we wanted to have any because they were serving a big group of 19 (my goodness) guests that night and if we were too late, we would just have to wait and it would be our own fault. Startled, we took her advice.

The room was a disappointment. We had booked a night for two in the family suite which turned out to be an old two-floor room, anything but soundproof and equipped with worn-out furniture and an airconditioning unit that did not produce anything but a hell of a noise. What we first thought was some welcome candy in our room were actually ear plugs (picture). Okay, I guess Nurse Ratched would have said: "Plug your ears or don't complain about the noise."

So we rushed down to the restaurant to find ourselves in a completely different world all of a sudden, with friendly and helpful staff, a glass of "take-your-time" wine on the terrace and a very good meal. What a relief!

And finally after a few hours of sleep, an OK breakfast and even a smile (whoa!) from Nurse Ratched, I was glad to be on the road again. After all, there's no place like home.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2016

A fab little place in a rather sleepy little town, French country chic, comfy, great little secluded pool and a perfect spot to explore the region and countryside of the national park and lakes. Breakfasts were simple and with delicious local bread. Don't get the problem with having a push top flask to deliver nice morning coffee raised by another reviewer.
Restaurant food was good value and worth a try. As well as a good choice of wine they do a nice cold beer to start off the evening too.
This is a quiet spot and probably not great for small kids but my teenagers got into the spirit and enjoyed a few family days here.
I managed to get bike oil on my shorts and despite not offering laundry service they got it sorted without issue.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pastddlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Spent three nights here in mid august and used the restaurant one night and had a pleasant dinner. Gated parking limited to about 6 cars but parking in the square to the side easy. Market day on Saturday reduces the spaces! Lovely pool area and garden.
We had a "Charme" room at extra cost which looked over the courtyard and not the garden which was not as quiet as hoped for, beware room 30 on market day.
Fridge a bonus and wifi good. Usual gripe about lack of storage in bathroom especially with shower on. Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

This is really the best place to eat in Saulieu. Price - quality is excellent. Nice service, great main courses and even more superb deserts. Also with kids you can visit this restaurant as they have a very good kids menu and the kids can play in the garden next to the terrace.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank PaulBBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel to rest a day for our drive back to The Netherlands and to buy some good burgundy wine. We arrived after 11 pm after driving all day from Spain to find out that our booking.com reservation for a family suite was not intended for 4 but 2 persons even though we booked for a family of 4. The lobby and salon is very beautiful with a fireplace and is tastefully decorated in French country classic. The owner welcomed us and quickly resolved the issue by setting up the family suite with an extra bed for our 2 teenage children. We were pleasantly surprised to find a large room with a mezzanine with beamed ceiling and quaint French furnishings. The bathrooms were large and modern and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast is typical French continental with fresh breads / croissants, breakfast cereals, some cold meats and cheese, juice and yoghurt.
The owner and restaurant manager both helped us to find some things to do with the kids in the region and recommended a restaurant in the countryside in one of the most beautiful medieval villages in France, Flavigny sur Ozerain. Keep in mind that everything of interest is 45 min driving from Saulieu, including the wine country (vignible). Saulieu is a cute town but not much to do so plan day trips to Beaune, Auxerre or drive to smaller villages.
The restaurant offers a modern twist on burgundy cuisine and has a very good wine selection of regional burgundy wine. The sommelier has a great sense of humor and found just the right wines for our meals-he runs the restaurant like a true French professional.

If you really want to splurge try the 2 star Michelin restaurant across the street from the hotel but expect to pay more than 200 -300 euros each with wine. We got a good tip from the Hostellerie de la Tour d'Auxois owner and restaurant sommelier that there is a caviste (small wine store) around the corner which offers regional wines at a very good value-we bought as much wine that fit in our trunk when we saw the price difference from buying wine in Beaune!
Overall a warm and welcoming stay by the professional staff in the hotel and restaurant during our stay in this part of burgundy.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank MatthewRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews