We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
306
85
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
85
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold schoollovely hotelpedestrianised streetloire valleythe ownercycling holidayrooms are cleanconverted schoolfree parkingdelightful place to staysmall courtyardexcellent wificycle toursourced locallyde charmebreakfast buffet was deliciousnearby lot
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 401 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

The proprietors were solicitous, the location exquisite, the rooms extremely comfortable, and the breakfast delicious. I would stay again and again without a second thought. It's so close to the chateau you are almost on the grounds

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank cardiffjops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Bonjour,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel. We would be delighted to have you again.
Kind regards
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

An absolute gem with individual rooms and personal touches. Beautifully presented, immaculately clean and staff super friendly. Highly recommend. Our room had a little balcony and felt more like a friend's posh spare room than a hotel which I like. Comfy bed and nicely fitted out. I would be back here without a doubt. Right in the middle of town, c50m from the Chateau entrance, can't really ask for more!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Bonjour Alexandra,
Thank you for your lovely comment. The whole hotel is delighted to know that you had a nice stay. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

Hotel de Biencourt is perfectly located in the centre of Azay le Rideau, just a few metres from the beautiful Chateau.

The building once housed a school and is decorated with painted images that reflect its history. The furniture and furnishings are modern, elegant and create a relaxed atmosphere.

Breakfast is served in a spacious dining room and the produce is all locally sourced and attention is paid to its presentation.

The owners are most obliging and happily gave advice on local restaurants for evening meals and booked tables for us.

Azay le Rideau itself is small and a delighful town to stroll around.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshWench1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Bonjour WelshWench
Thank you for these lovely comments. The whole hotel team is very grateful. We look forward seing you again.
Kind regards
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

This was our first stop on our walking holiday, we were met at the door on arrival by Monsieur Fargues who was an absolute gentleman, nothing was to difficult our rom was in the courtyard very quite nice size (family room) very clean. He took the time to explain where the restaurants were and which ones were open. Breakfast was very good and we also received a picnic at breakfast before starting our picnic was excellent absolutely 5 stars which was heart considering there was a heat wave on and the temperature was 35c. All in all I can truly recommend this small but excellent hotel in a very nice town.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Bonjour Jeffrey
Thank you for having taken the time to comment your stay. Your suggestions and remarks are welcomed. The whole hotel team looks forward seeing you again.
Kind regards
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Everything was beautiful, clean, and quaint. Check in was quick and the man who runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful. He gave us a map and drew a suggested walking route on it as well as some recommended restaurants nearby. The chateau is just steps down the street. We parked in a nearby lot (a block away) which was free.

The rooms were very nice with a renovated bathroom and we had a window facing the courtyard. Wifi was free and worked well. I only wish there had been air conditioning because it happened to be scorching hot and humid the day we were there. That being said, the hotel room was cool enough with the window open during the night.

We opted in for the breakfast in the morning. They source their food locally and it was delicious (I think it may have been organic too?).

Note: I didn't notice an elevator. We were only up one flight of stairs so we carried our luggage up. I think there may have been additional floors. Just something to keep in mind if you have trouble with stairs. I don't think there were rooms on the bottom floor, so you're looking at going up at least one flight.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2017

Bonjour Brie H
Thank you for taking the time to post this very nice review. Your remarks about our hotel is very pleasant. We will be glad to see you again.
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews