We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Last weekend we stayed at Grand Monarque. It is a traditional, stylish, cute hotel right at the edge of Chartres'old town; 5 minutes walk from the famous Cathedral. Hotel rooms are not too big, yet very comfortable (very good beds). We had two rooms: prestige and standard. The prestige room was larger, had a sofa and a bathtub with jacuzzi. The standard room was smaller (yet not too small!) and in my opinion comfortable enough. We don't regret not booking two prestige rooms.

There might be some accessibility issues: some steep and narrow stairs here and there, tiny elevator). It could be a big problem if you are on wheelchair, it is certainly inconvenient if you travel with heavy suitcases.

Staff was ok, just ok. Neither rude nor arrogant, but at the same time not too quick (check in was pretty slow) and not proactive.

The hotel restaurant Gearges is simply fabulous: classy decor, good service, high-class gastronomique food (gorgeaos soufflé au Grand Marnier) for very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    380
    66
    31
    7
See reviews for
154
574
29
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Fantastic mix between classic old style and new styles. Nice breakfast with good coffee. Nice restaurant with good wine. Free WIFI. Free and easy parking. I will ask for a harder bed next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bos_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is a hotel that feels older than it actually is but in a good way, very large rooms, very comfortable rooms and excellent restaurant. Close to the cathedral and in the city centre. Recommended, exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NBlacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bardfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We booked this hotel for two nights so we could visit Chartres Cathedral. Our room was on the third floor and was comfortable and spacious, as was the bathroom. We ate in the less expensive restaurant on the first night and food was delicious. However, the main restaurant is a Michelin 1 star and very expensive. The bars are cosy and comfortable and they had live music one night. Its only ten minutes to walk to the cathedral and there are plenty of restaurants and bars close by. A word of warning. The cathedral is undergoing major renovaton works and half is not visible. The recorded guide is poor and the place is very dark and freezing cold. We might try again in a year or so, but suspect the renovation work will be going on for many years.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lifts. Our room, 309 was a very long walk from the lift and facing the well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Don't let the Best Western label fool you - this is an old-worldly, classy hotel that is charming but modern, cozy but spacious, and impeccably clean. Bellhop service, gourmet restaurant and dressed-down brasserie open til midnight 7 days a week, sleek, candle-lit piano bar which draws a manageable crowd at night (on Fridays, when I was there, anyway). Friendly reception desk staff, and an incredible, brand spanking new spa with free access for hotel guests (bathrobes and flip flops provided but can't take them back up to your room).
Coffe and tea service in room, big bathroom, tub, soft towels, 7/10 water pressure. Only drawback to room was annoying saloon-style doors on bathroom. Not only do you feel like they'll hit you on the back every time you go in, they offer no sound privacy.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paris1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here one night to see the cathedral, and the location for that is excellent, which is why I picked it. But I am generally a budget traveler and found this place too fussy and expensive for me. The room was lovely - fantastic pillowtop bed, luxurious linens, and spa-like bathroom. But I don't like paying for valet parking and would much rather carry my own bag than have to tip a bellman, and don't care about access to a fancy restaurant. So it all depends on what you expect in a hotel. This wasn't my cup of tea.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 26 in Chartres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.4 km away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.6 km away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#12 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.6 km away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#6 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque

Property: BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque
Address: 22 Place des Epars, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Monarque Hotel situated in an ancient private historical building just where the pedestrian-only streets commence, is the ideal base for visiting the famous cathedral and the historical town centre of Chartres. Once in the entrance hall we discover a comfortable and elegant ambiance : you are in a gastronomical establishment of great renown. 55 rooms and apartments are at your disposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Grand Monarque Hotel Chartres
Best Western Hotel Chartres
Best Western Chartres
Chartres Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing