We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
137
298
120
41
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
298
120
41
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaesar saladsofa bedusual novotelsuperior roomminute drivequiet areadecent sizelovely hotelground floorcomfortable stayreception staffexcellent breakfasten routehotel is locatedovernight stopcity centreone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 612 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

Positives: I stayed at the Novotel Chartres on the night of April 8. Upon arrival, I was greeted well and provided with a decent size room on the second floor with standard amenities. The room I had was clean, spacious and of 1990’s fare. The pool is an outdoor pool, but there is basic gym facilities as well. The hotel benefits from easy highway access and free parking on site in a secure area.

Negatives: I was encouraged to dine in the restaurant in the lobby, which I opted to attend just for drinks - a choice I later regretted. The service in the restaurant was slow and the staff difficult. I waited more than 15 minutes to get a refill on a pint because staff were socialising with friends rather than doing their jobs - very disappointing. This may be an isolated incident, but while waiting for them to serve me and socialising with their friends, I listened with intent as the staff slagged off Anglo guests in French, which leaves me doubtful that’s the case. Poor show given the potential this hotel has to offer. Room rate for this hotel was 89 euros for the night, which I would suggest is not within the market range for this hotel - I would peg this hotel somewhere at the 50-60 euro a night range given its dated features and current amenity offerings.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank RM_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEUF, Propriétaire at Novotel Chartres, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018
Google Translation

Nous prenons note de votre commentaire, très détaillé. Nos tarifs sont variables selon la montée en charge de notre établissement et je constate que vous avez bénéficié d'un tarif très attractif, pour un hôtel 4*.
Classement que nous avons obtenu, selon les normes Européennes, et qui correspond en tous points aux normes NOVOTEL.
Nous espérons vous revoir lors d'un prochain passage sur Chartres.
Cordialement
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Very near the motorway access, and wirth ample secure parking (there's a massive gate - we didn't bother taking the bikes off the car rack and they were still there in the morning).

Rooms have been renovated and are nicely appointed, in the usual Novotel style. Good breakfast and last orders in the restaurant is 23:00 which is nice too. Outdoor pool is a nice touch in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_the_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEUF, Propriétaire at Novotel Chartres, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017
Google Translation

Nous somme heureux de lire que votre séjour au NOVOTEL CHARTRES vous a totalement satisfait.
Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt.
Cordialement
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on business, it’s set on the side of a busy road so it’s more like a service station hotel. Inside is so so, rooms are clean enough. Beds are hard and pillows are a bit awkward. The air conditioning in the room only works to a group setting so at the moment it’s on a heat setting even though it’s still warm so I have to sleep with the window open with noisy traffic. Food is average so I’d stay here again for convenience as it’s not bad but it’s not great either.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank str280577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEUF, Propriétaire at Novotel Chartres, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de poster un commentaire sur notre établissement.
Notre établissement est situé en périphérie de Chartres à 5 km du centre de la ville très facilement accessible.
Nous espérons qu'un prochain séjour au NOVOTEL CHARTRES vous satisfera pleinement.
Cordialement
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

Room was nice. I was told AC was shut off because it was cold at the beginning of Sept.?????? I had no air circulation in a stuffy room except to open window on ground floor with no screen. Restaurant seating and serving inconsistent with customers sitting down after us getting their food before our order was even taken. Many customers left with food on the table of when finished shaking their head mumbling in disgust. Waiter seemed to intentionally ignore us. We had three other servers come by our table in the hour and a half it took to get food and finish. It wasn't an enjoyable meal.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Traveler3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEUF, Propriétaire at Novotel Chartres, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d'avoir partagé vos remarques sur votre venue au NOVOTEL CHARTRES. Même si nous aurions préféré que votre expérience ait été plus agréable, vos retours et impressions sont très importants pour nous, car ils nous aident à améliorer quotidiennement nos services. La satisfaction de nos clients est notre priorité, mais apparemment nous n'avons pas réussi cette fois-ci. Si vous nous donnez l'opportunité de regagner votre confiance, nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous offrir le meilleur dont nos clients se réjouissent chaque jour.
Bien cordialement
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

This was a one night stay enroute to Italy. It was fine just as should be expected from a Novotel. The room was fine, staff friendly and served the purpose well. It is quite a bit out of town and slightly tricky to find but otherwise good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyAquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEUF, Propriétaire at Novotel Chartres, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Merci pour votre gentil commentaire, toute l'équipe espère vous revoir prochainement.
Cordialement
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews