We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
75
188
73
27
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
188
73
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station chartres cathedral secure parking local hotel executive room perfect view car park small bar three star nightly light show old town clean rooms excellent location desk clerk central city garden view pleasant hotel
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 369 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2018

An old-fashioned French hotel, which I suppose hasn’t been refurbished for many years, judging by the gloomy décor, those awful toilet roll dispensers in the loos, and indifferent lighting in the bedroom, where there was only one available power socket. So not entirely clear where it gets the fourth star from.
On the upside, it’s only a minute or two from the railway station, less than 10 minutes’ stroll from the Cathedral and pedestrian area, and the bed was very comfortable. Drivers can ignore the No Entry sign at the top of the street, and the parking is easy to access with unusually wide spaces. However, there aren’t many of them: only three slots left vacant when I arrived at 5pm. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller10071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chat28, Directeur général at Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Dear Traveller 10071,
We appreciate that you enjoyed the quietness of our Hotel. As you write we are ideally situated easy walking distance of the city center and the Cathedral. There is a large range of restaurant in city center .
I can assure you that we take your feedback very seriously in order to conduct the necessary adjustments and to advance the quality of our services.
Thank you again for your very kind words and please visit us again soon.
Best regards
Shahryar Victor MOGHADDAM
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018

We only came for an overnight stay which necessitated us getting up the next morning at an extremely early hour. It was before regular breakfast hours. They had set up the breakfast even though it was only the two of us. The staff at the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chat28, Directeur général at Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear Lynne F,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip advisor!

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment.

I am sure that you very detailed description will be useful for many other customers.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Timhotel Chartres Cathedral.

Best regards,

Shahryar Victor Moghaddam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here just one night on our way to Bretagne. The room was very small and the air conditioning didn’t work. I went down to the reception to complain. The staff said they had fixed it. I should try to turn it on again. If it didn’t run the only solution would be to switch the room. It also didn’t work when I tried to turn it on again. We were too tired to switch rooms.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank 557ulrichk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chat28, Directeur général at Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Dear Urich K,
I take note of your opinion, and thank you for taking the time to write it on the site of Trip Advisor.
I can assure you that we take your remarks very seriously in order to make the necessary adjustments and to improve the quality of our services. That is why I ask you to kindly contact me or leave me your details in order to know a little more about the conditions of your stay in our hotel.
We hope that all the inconveniences of your stay were only a contest of circumstances and we wish very much to have the pleasure to welcome you again to the Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale in order to prove to you that the satisfaction of our customers is really our priority Regards,
Shahryar Victor Moghaddam
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2018 via mobile

We arrived a weary duo, having spent the day at Versailles, and attempting our first car trip (from and through Paris) in France. Reception was friendly, polite, courteous and quick. Within moments we were in our room. And it was so quiet! The hotel had met our requests for separate beds well.

This hotel is closer to the North American standard of hotels than to the French, and so was equipped with kettle, coffee/tea, safe, desk, robes, luggage stands and room to place luggage. The windows open wide and offer views of Chartres Cathedral. Curtains provide blackout. There is ample light for reading. And yes, the requisite television and phone.

Beds and pillows are comfortable (I wish I could get my daughter up), with warm duvets and extra blankets.

Be warned that there are stairs throughout each floor, and is not wheelchair, crutches or stroller friendly. There is an elevator to each floor, though.

While we were here the parking was under renovation but public parking is very close, less than a block away.

Breakfast was pleasant, albeit buffet style. There were breads, baguettes, croissants, cakes, meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereals, jams, eggs, bacon, beans, juice, water, milk, coffees, teas, chocolate - just about anything to make a good repast. The room was intimate in spite of being open to the lobby.

This was definitely a three star hotel; the staff and appointments work hard to create a good environment. You will carry your own bags.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank liza d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chat28, Directeur général at Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear Liza D,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip advisor!

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment.

I am sure that you very detailed description will be useful for many other customers.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Timhotel Chartres Cathedral.

Best regards,

Shahryar Victor Moghaddam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Good for quick sleep over, don’t expect too much and don’t expect too little. Friendly staff and hotel room was good with a nice view and good WiFi. Hotel was close to the cathedrals by walking or drive, Asian food and others just around the corner.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WildChild18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chat28, Directeur général at Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear WildChild18,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on your visit at Timhotel Chartres Cathédrale
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon
Kindest Regards,
Shahryar Victor Moghaddam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews