We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a stop over”
Review of Kyriad Chartres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kyriad Chartres
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location for a stop over”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the hotel as a stop over after travelling from the Eurotunnel and heading to southern France.

The hotel is on the edge of Chartres which make it handy for an early start, to get onto the motorway, particularly if you want to avoid the rush hour traffic in the middle of Chartres. The hotel is clean and modern with good facilities. There is not much to do in the surrounding area as it is in the middle of a business park. However it does have a secure car park. The room was a decent size. However the only negative point was that the pillows were very thin.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    147
    63
    15
    8
See reviews for
56
103
11
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds, yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The setting in a commercial estate on the edge of Chartres looks a bit like the moon, but the welcome is absolutely great and the hotel is simple, efficient and comfortable. I was taking my elderly mother to visit relatives and the staff couldn't have been kinder or more fun. I asked in advance for rooms next to one another and this was done. The food was marvellous for a hotel like this (mind you, this is France). I emailed my wife a picture of our evening feast and she was most jealous. It's not the place to go for cosy character; I'd try one of the town centre places for that. But otherwise I recommend it whole-heartedly.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
Thank MWainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We used this hotel as a first stopover from Calais on route down to Spain. Terrific its brand new on the outskirts of the City on a Business / Technology park. Spotlessly clean, good secure free parking. Staff spoke english and even rang my next hotel - not a kyriad but an independent hotel - to get directions for me.

Did not use the restraunt. We drove back into chartres, you cannot get a parking place in thge medieval city but you can drive around looking for a space, its very beutiful. We eventually parked in an underground car park whic was very modern & cheap. Large square above with fountains & large rabbit statues in red & yellow, very arty. From here its a 5 minute stroll into the old town & cathedral. we eat looking at the Cathedral walls were a breathtaking light/illumination show as taking place. Well wotrth the short drive into chartres.

Loved it

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAS4805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked this hotel for a one night stopover on the way to south west France to help break the journey for us and our young baby. The hotel was fairly easy to find and close to the nearby motorway, although we couldn't hear any traffic noise but it is a fair distance from the town centre. The room was very large with plenty of space for a cot, basic but very clean, with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We ate dinner in the restaurant as we didn't have the energy for the trip into town and the food was good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgf30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Found this one on line, while looking for a reasonably priced night's stay near Chartres, FR. All the other places were either booked, or were outrageously priced, or were rated as fair - to - poor by other reviewers. For value for the money, this hotel is decent enough for a night or two, just off the autoroute into Chartres. An easy 10 -15 drive from the Cathedral (you can see it in the distance), this new hotel (part of a large chain in FR) is located in the middle of a new business park, in the middle of nowhere. But easy to get into and out, nicely appointed (though basic) rooms, and a good continental breakfast (extra, but not at all expensive). Two singles in one room (all non-smoking) and breakfast ran us €58. Other than a nicely appointed (though somewhat university cafeteria-style) dining facility, some conference rooms, and basic multilingual satellite channels, there aren't any other amenities. But, it is clean, quiet, family-friendly and very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly, helpful and hospitable, in both French and English. This is a good place to stay, if you are just wanting to pop into the area for the weekend and need someplace to lay your head for the night. And with these prices, good value for those travelling with a family, or if you are passing through the area. Chartres itself, and environs, is worth a day trip, and there are several other options downtown - but parking can be an issue, as can downtown prices, availability, and the attitude of some of the local hoteliers. Worth the few minutes extra drive off the autoroute or from the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

nice hotel , close to the highway and not to far from the city center.
The room are quite good , the food is also good.
However they will need to improve their staff , not too nice but at least polite.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We used the Kyriad for a night stop en route from the Lot back to Calais.

OK, the hotel is out of town and has no character, but it exceeded my expectations in all other respects. Modern clean and with friendly and helpful staff and loads of parking, it was just what the weary traveller needed after a 350 mile journey.

Our spacious 3 -bedded room was spotless, comfy, well-equipped and even had flatscreen TV, aircon and tea/coffee. My only possible comment on the downside is that it was clearly built to a price and some of the bathroom fittings were already starting to show wear and tear, especially the super-snazzy shower (although the hotel is clearly very new).

The restaurant was surprising; the food far more than decent, and allowed us a few drinks without the need to find a restaurant 'off-site' and avoided the 'who's driving' debate. 2 course Dinner for 3 with a few beers, coups de Champagne and coffee cost 85 euros all in (Aug 08)

The Expedia room rate was GBP 40.50, and seemed to include an excellent buffet breakfast since this was not charged for at checkout, despite the staff having taken our room number at the breakfast area. You can't say fairer than that.

All in all, highly recommended and 'self-contained' for a quick night stop with meals. If this is the normal standard of Kyriads, they're onto a winner.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, price, helpful staff, easy parking, value.
  • Disliked — Characterless
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestJohnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
3.7 km away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
4.1 km away
Best Western Grand Monarque
1.2 km away
Campanile Chartres
Campanile Chartres
#15 of 26 in Chartres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#6 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
6.7 km away
Ibis Chartres Ouest Luce
3.6 km away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#12 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Chartres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Chartres

Property: Kyriad Chartres
Address: 24 avenue Gustave Eiffel, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Chartres 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad Chartres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Chartres
Chartres Kyriad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing