We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Boeuf Couronne
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Selected from the Michelin Guide we hoped the restaurant would be above average. The interior was light with views across to the distant cathedral but the contemporary decor and table settings appeared rather fomal. Staff, whilst professional, seemed disinterested and the food, although reasonably well presented was unexceptional. Similarly, the wines (a Cote de Rhone and a Chablis) did not excite.
We have had similar, slightly underwhelming experiences in other Logis hotel restaurants and suspect there are more more rewarding places to eat in this very attractive city

Room Tip: This is a review of the restaurant.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

While there was no one at reception when we arrived a simple call of "hello" resulted in an immediate response of friendly and efficient check in.
Our room was clean and comfortable and but for a tree in full bloom would have provided a spectacular view of the Cathedral.
All in all a wonderful stay with an excellent restaurant reviewed separately

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pisces025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Chartres is a magical city by day and night so having a hotel right in the centre from which we could reach the cathedral and all the illuminated sights was perfect. The room was small but quiet and very comfortable. The restaurant served imaginative dishes with great presentation. For us this was an ideal hotel. We would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

On arrival there was no-one in reception. After waiting for 5 minutes a receptionist arrived from the street.. He was efficient but did not apologise for not being at his post.

The lift was tiny. Two slim people with one small case and it was full. No-one would wish to share it with a stranger.

The room was small but acceptable for one night, but it was cold and turning the little,old radiator to maximum had no effect. The closet had room for only one garment and that was taken by a jacket left by a previous occupant. The table wobbled at the slightest touch.

The bathroom was also cold and the shower so small that the shower curtain clung to the body.

The booklet in the room stated that breakfast would be served from 0730. Arriving at 0735 we were told that it was not served until 0800.

The only good thing is the location, near the beautiful cathedral. Apart from that, this hotel is grossly overpriced. Even at half the price I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank divasboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Long journey arrived in early evening Sat Nav found hotel, but you need to do sharp left just past the body of the building, (parking space for hotel 15 min next to hotel on left) while you get code for gararage..if you can leave luggage then...once you have code to parking follow the route , when faced with the door opening do not go down, do not go up, in the Middle the lights will turn on room for about 7 cars, note the space you park on. Easy walk back. tiny lift,so if you are overweight walk up the stairs. Very Clean and cozy small room, lovely views. Diner very good menu terroir , (L'oeuf poche du Perch (like a soup), you might find the wine better by the glass if you are alone very good place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We booked this hotel at the last minute from another one of the Logis Hotel properties (Le Christina in Bourges) on our way from the south of France back up to Paris. The Hotel has a complimentary parking garage across the street (extremely tight quarters, and we scratched our rental car), and the street level reception and dining room are very upscale. The room, however, was very outdated, and the area outside our window was noisy. The bathroom was very small and outdated as well. The breakfast was typical continental and served in the bar, not the much nicer dining room. The restaurant was very pricey, and we chose instead to eat downtown. What YOU MUST see is the light show on the cathedral. It is the most amazing use of laser lights I will ever see, and I cannot figure out how they accomplished this,and I am an engineer. Make sure you get a good map of the city (the Hotel's map is horrible) as we got lost for at least a half hour trying to get back from the cathedral. You need to go to the Creperie les Trois Lys located in the old town. Reasonable prices, great food, and family atmosphere in a quaint historic building.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisDeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

There has been a hostelry on this site for hundreds of years. The fact that it has a City Centre location with a spectacular view of the cathedral has perhaps contributed to the longevity of this establishment.
I head straight for the 'Boeuf' every time I am near to this wonderful city, it is easy to find, and there is car parking on site.
It is worth paying the little extra for a superior room, and breakfast is always to look forward to standing under the power shower in the modern well appointed room after a restful night's sleep.
You have everything you could desire here...A great restaurant, a vibrant neighbourhood, professional and courteous multilingual staff, crisp bed linen, and a great cup of coffee with breakfast.
No need to look elsewhere............

Room Tip: The views over the cathedral are spectacular when it is colourfully lit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iwritetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
0.2 km away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#4 of 27 in Chartres
287 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#10 of 27 in Chartres
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
0.2 km away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.9 km away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Boeuf Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Boeuf Couronne

Address: 13 Place Chatelet, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range: $85 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Boeuf Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Boeuf Couronné" is a traditonal downtown hotel located since 1954 in the heart of the city of Chartres. The hotel is affiliated to the Logis de France's chain and features 17 rooms all decorated differently. "L'Amphitryon", the restaurant is proposing a traditional french Cuisine served also on the summer terrace with a view on the flamboyant Cathedral of Chartres. Family dinners, business meetings and groups are welcomed with pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Boeuf Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Boeuf Couronne Hotel Chartres
Du Boeuf Couronne Chartres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing