We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirm the positive reactions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Excellent restaurant .Service by Gregory excellent . Reception can better . Wifi free .Where surprised not being served at the swimming pool with the good weather.Went ourselves to the bar.Seen the price and a group of ten we can not accept this way of service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philip0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

What wonderful hotel and restaurant! Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and bright. Very comfortable. The restaurant is just excellent - goo range of choices and everything beautifully prepared. Even the breakfast strays were beyond average.

We stayed for 4 nights, had dinner in the dining room or on their lovely terrace all 4 nights, plus on lunch. Everything was top notch.

Best of all, the staff is helpful and very friendly - as if they were all our friends.

This was the high spot of 3 weeks travelling in France, and we heartily recommend the Auberge du Bon Laboureur!

Room Tip: Ask to see a selection of rooms before you decide - there is a great range of sizes and locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatioPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This really is a delightful place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an authentic experience of a well run rural french hotel. When booking, the only choice of room available to me was a "Chambre Charme", and I was a little worried as this is towards the lower end of their scale of rooms available. However, there was no need to worry as the room really was charming and a very decent size. Like many of their rooms it is in a nearby building. I hesitate to use the word annex as that so often implies "concrete block less attractive than the main building" but here, in many respects, the building just the other side of the road was even more attractive than the very pretty main building. The room was large and full of character features - wooden beams and period furniture. The linen crisp and clean, the bed very comfortable, and the towels big, fluffy and white - so unlike the grey dusters that many hotels think will pass for towels. The staff were professional and attentive and after my opening attempts in french they were kind enough to ask if I preferred "en francais ou anglais". This was very polite of them and reflective of the entire attitude of the staff we encountered. We had the full menu gourmand in the restaurant and some of the portions are much larger than you would normally expect in a tasting menu - this is not a criticism, far from it, just a warning if you are expecting only a tiny taster dish. Most of the courses on the menu were very well executed, although one or two were more 8/10 than the full 10/10. Plenty of fun to be had on the wine list, and if you ask for a recommendation you will find that they are honest and fair and will not take the opportunity to steer you towards the expensive end of the list unless you ask them to. Breakfast choice was extensive and had plenty of fresh local produce. There is ample parking and no need to ask for a quiet room as they all are! The hotel is a short walk from the local chateau which is well worth a visit as it is built out over the River Cher. In summary, a lovely little place that I will definitely be returning to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grinanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Auberge is wonderfully restored and updated. We were put in the annex, which might seem an inconvenience, but it truly wasn't. The room was lovely, keeping the period features. The food in the restaurant was lovely, and we decided to splash out on the wine menu, which can be pricey, but it doesn't have to be if you don't want it to be.
The ease of check-in and check-out, however, was remarkable. I fully expected it to be take a bit, but I walked up to reception, someone jumped up and showed us to our room, and at check-out, it was the fastest payment I've ever done. Everything was ready and all were prepared.
I might not advice someone to go out of their way to come here, but if you are in Chenonceaux, you should definitely stay here!

Though dinner in the hotel is pricey - but it is a Michelin-quality experience - the rooms definitely are MORE than their value and so in the end, you end up with a nicely balanced, not overcharged experience, which is precisely how it should be!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip_Coppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our Easter 2012 vacation was 5 nights at this Hotel and trying a variety of Michelin * restaurants nearby. This hotel was extremely peaceful, well equipped, well appointed rooms and well situate for exploring the Loire. Our dinner here was well presented, good choice available in each and every course; represented good value and was served with care. The breakfasts were more than adequate and the breakfast room was charming and sunny. The off street enclosed parking was much welcomed. An excellent place to spend a long weekend and the Chateau is so close - and so fascinating!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RARoberts1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Firstly, I cannot understand those reviewers who complained about the attitude of the staff at the hotel. We found them extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. Our room was very comfortable, with a beautiful veiw of the garden and our own chairs and table outside the window. Parking was secure - under cover if you arrive early enough. The only slight downside was that it was impossible to take a shower without flooding the bathroom floor - the answer was to take a bath instead, which was a real luxury in an enormous tub.
As for the food! We had the menu gastronomique and it was worth every one of the 72 Euros per head. We could have had an extra main course for 85 Euros, but I don't know where we would have put it. Apart from the four courses, we were served a variety of delicious between-course dishes. Be careful of the cherries in liquor at the end - they're very strong! The selection of wines was excellent and the proprietor was prepared to take the time to advise on choices.
The drinks in the bar are on the expensive side, but that is a minor quibble. We'll remember this meal long after the credit card bill has been paid off.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Phoned looking for a place to stay with just an hours notice. Arrived late in the afternoon on a Sunday and were personally greeted with a smile.
A lovely hotel with good friendly staff, and the nicest rooms we found on our whole trip. The bed in particular was the nicest bed I've ever slept in. The linen and pilows was of the highest quality (bedding was on par with the Sheraton Dubai... Yes it was that good!). It was litteraly like sleeping on clouds.
Restaurant was good with wonderful local produce and foods and wines of the region.
While only a night, the hotel is centrally located in this quaint little town in middle eastern France. Worth a stroll around the town and local castle only a few hundred meets away.
Would happily stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: May 2011
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
10.9 km away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 km away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
643 reviews
27.1 km away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
650 reviews
11 km away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
610 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Bon Laboureur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Bon Laboureur

Address: 6 rue du Docteur Bretonneau | 6 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range: C$182 - C$531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Bon Laboureur 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre of Loire Valley Hotels, Charming Hotel Luxe with first class rooms ansd accomodations. Gastronomic restaurant. Hotel du Bon Laboureur is located near the castle of Chenonceau in Centre of Loire Valley Chateaux in Chateau country. Easy to visit the Loire Valley castles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge du Bon Laboureur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Hotel Chenonceaux
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Chenonceaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing