We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the Loire Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Very comfortable rooms with an excellent restaurant and fabulous choice of wines from the region: let the maitre d' choose for you. Many rooms have now been refurbished and there is even a heated pool if there is time left over after visiting the many chateaux nearby. Service and welcome are excellent in both French and English. We return every year en route to England from the south.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank legallois2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had a brief but wonderful stay here. The staff is friendly, helpful, and accommodating, and the rooms are charming and comfortable. The feeling here is very much that of a staying at a friend's country home, and many of the rooms are indeed in converted houses. The main building is very beautiful with ivy and flowers growing on and around it. The location is perfect and within walking distance to the Chateau de Chenonceaux. There is also parking, which helps in such a small village. The restaurant is out of this world and I'll write a separate review for this, but I would highly recommend going for at least one meal if you stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alitaedelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We absolutely loved our room and the staff. The rooms and bathrooms are a decent size. Our bathroom had both a shower and a tub. The room also featured a Keurig-like coffee maker. The food at the restaurant was fabulous. Great overall experience. We will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hshilliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We spent three nights at the property in order to check out the chateaus and wineries in the region, along with the opportunity to dine at a Michelin starred restaurant. Service at the front desk was friendly and helpful, and was able to get into our room a couple hours earlier than normal check-in. Our room was across the street from the main building on the top floor, with two twin beds and a sitting area. Good amount of space in the room, although the sloped ceiling did cause a few problems for hubby while we were unpacking. The air conditioner worked wonderfully, we only used it at night as it was nice to have the windows open during the day.

The primary reason I did not give the property 5 stars is because of the hand shower. I really don't understand why these are so popular in Europe, as we once again flooded our bathroom while trying to wash our hair and get rinsed off properly. Many properties have begun putting in both a rain shower and a hand shower, and I hope this trend continues. The other quirk was the location of the toilet, which was right by the entry door and somewhat challenging to find in the dark at night. Had no other issues with the room, and loved getting bottles of water in the room every day.

We did not take advantage of the pool during our stay, as the weather was a little chilly for August. We did partake in some ping pong and also liked walking through the gardens and visiting with the animals maintained on the property. Never had a problem with parking, and spaces were relatively large for Europe. Nice quick walk down the street to the Chateau, so we were able to leave our car at the hotel that day.

Took both a lunch and a dinner at the restaurant, and of the two we preferred lunch. Portion sizes were a little smaller and it seemed as the ingredients were a little fresher than they were at dinner. Loved the fact that they used vegetables from the garden in many of the dishes, and particularly enjoyed the fresh tomato salad I had for the appetizer course. The wine pairings with dishes worked well, and mostly reflected wines of the region. Service was excellent, very prompt and offered good suggestions when we couldn't decide between dishes.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this well run property, and would visit again but would request a room with a real shower.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We truly enjoyed our dinner at Le Bon Laboureur, a one-star Michelin rated restaurant. Superb menu, well-matched wine list, friendly and professional wait staff, all in a beautiful setting in a lovely town. Not far from our Le Vieux Manoir B&B, and across from the entrance to the Chenonceaux chateau. We believe it is a great value and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Washington_DCMws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We recently stayed here for 1 night as part of a touring holiday around France. Chosen with the help of Alastair Sawday's Special Places To Stay book, plus the 'rave' reviews on TripAdvisor.

Our room was very rustic. The décor didn't seem to match with the selection of furnishings, especially the peculiar, light brown tablecloth adorning a somewhat strange, old table.

The bathroom left a lot to be desired and needs updating. Stainless steel wash basins inset into a glass top didn't really match the outdated corner bath. One of the bathrobes provided appeared to have a stain on it so we decided not to use them. I think this is worth mentioning, they were kept in a drawer that perhaps had been overlooked.

The service in the restaurant was very good, nice staff. The usual long wait for the main course, interrupted by numerous 'tasters' so that by the time your food arrives, your appetite has diminished. We ordered the most expensive item on the a la carte menu, which at over 40 Euros a dish was over priced and nothing special at all. Maybe this comes from eating in too many Michelin star restaurants over the years, this was a disappointment.

Would we stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The-Fuss-Pots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We have stayed here many times and the hotel never fails to impress. Since our last visit there have been a number of improvements, including refurbishment of the outside pool and installation of a jacuzzi. The customer service and attention to detail remain as flawless as ever. The food quality perfectly reflects the hotels' Michelin Star rating. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank minty98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
10.9 km away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 km away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
643 reviews
27.1 km away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
607 reviews
10.6 km away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
643 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Bon Laboureur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Bon Laboureur

Address: 6 rue du Docteur Bretonneau | 6 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range: $173 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Bon Laboureur 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre of Loire Valley Hotels, Charming Hotel Luxe with first class rooms ansd accomodations. Gastronomic restaurant. Hotel du Bon Laboureur is located near the castle of Chenonceau in Centre of Loire Valley Chateaux in Chateau country. Easy to visit the Loire Valley castles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge du Bon Laboureur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Hotel Chenonceaux
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Chenonceaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing