We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food but rather unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed here for one night and the bedrooms were very dated, but comfortable beds. The highlight of the stay was the dinner which was absolutely delicious - classic French food which was beautifully prepared and presented, although the staff serving it were deeply unfriendly and treated us with the utmost suspicion! It was as though English people couldn't possibly appreciate good French food! But we did and realy enjoyed it, although it would have been even nicer ifthey had smiled at us occasionally. What did surprise us was the breakfast whcih was pretty basic - chunks of wholemeal french bread, toast, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, very ordinary croissants and cereals. Coffee served in jugs with no cover so went cold very quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StratfordonAvonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

We only stopped for dinner. To their credit, they had no problem taking us on short notice and in "travelling clothes" (jeans and jumpers). But once we arrived, we found the service bordering on unfriendly and pretentious. The food was decent and possibly warranting a Michelin star (I expected a bit better), but the atmosphere seriously lets this place down.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I stayed at this same hotel (which they call a Country Inn) 14 years ago, and plan to go back on my next trip to France. I would describe the decor as shabby chic - the room was a mixture of new renovations and slightly aged furnishings. However the room and bathroom were very clean and the shower had great water pressure. There was a TV in the room but no water kettle - we wanted to make our own tea and had to have hot water brought up. At least one member of the staff spoke good english, which is helpful. The breakfast seemed pricy at first, but after comparing it to several other hotels we stayed at in France, it was worth the 13 euros. We originally planned to have dinner at the hotel, but it was our first night in France and we did not want to wait until 7:00 PM for the first seating. We walked around to several other hotel/restaurants but none of them served before 7:00 PM (word of warning). So we just had a light snack in the very plesant bar area which consists of two sitting rooms with comfortable chairs and couches. Some of our fellow travelers were reading or playing games. It was a relaxing and fun experience to stay in a quiet village, however, be forwarned that it is a very small and quiet village. I am not sure there is any "night life" besides the 3 course meal at the Inn. We came directly to Chenonceau after arriving in Paris. We took the TGV from Montparnasse station to St. Pierre (outside of Tours) then switched to a more local train to Chenonceau. There are not too many connections, so plan your trip carefully. Otherwise, we were told you can rent a car from St. Pierre. We actually mananged to see 5 chateaus in the Loire Valley without a rental car - we walked to Chenonceaux from the Inn, then spent the next two nights in Tours. We took an all day van tour from the train station in Tours for the very affordable price of 49 euros (you pay your own admissions to the Chateaux but are offered the group rate). You can do a morning, afternoon, or all day tour. We obviously picked the itinerary that did not include Chenonceaux. We were very pleased to visit Azay le Rideau, Villandry, Chambord and Chiverny (forgive me if all the spelling is not correct). The eight of us had all signed up for the all day tour, so the driver suggested we lunch in Amboise instead of making just a short stop. Anyway, back to the hotel... I would highly recommend it and definately hope to be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with another family, totalling 10 of us. The exterior is beautiful as are the public areas inside. We had five rooms between us which were clean and comfortable and all individually decorated but only one (which has been refurbished) was a truly lovely room. The food is refined and very nice and they offered the children alternatives. The staff are effiicient but a little austere and we were made to feel uncomfortable when having an after dinner night cap in the bar area, as were our teenage boys if they were audible to any other guests. Overall our stay here was a good experience but do not expect the staff to be overly cordial.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

One of my favourite hotels in france! The best value for money.... our beautiful room was recently redecorated to a 5 star standard and had a private door to the swimming pool. Pricey for dinner but has a good reputation, there are plenty of cheaper options in the village. Dog friendly and a wonderful stay, long may we return! Beware being seduced by a drink in the lovely lounge as the drinks are pricey - 6.5 euro for a beer!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astburf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at the Auberge in July 09. Our room was the Chambre Rouge (red carpeted room on their website), which was one of their Junior Suites. We stayed with our 5 year old daughter. The room was great for our family; our daughter could have her play area in the part of the room where the sleeper sofa was, and she liked having her own "bedroom". The staff was very pleasant and helpful; the air conditioning was great (once the staff helped us turn it on) and the free wi fi worked just fine. The pool was about 5 feet deep throughout, so we were glad we brought a lifejacket for our daughter. Easy walk to Chateau de Chenonceau, several restaurants, one bakery. Plenty of grocery stores etc within a few minutes drive. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SundropMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed one night simply to as location to visit the chateu in Chenonceau. The Hotel is very clean, excelent situated and everthing you need for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chucro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
10.9 km away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 km away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
643 reviews
27.1 km away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
644 reviews
11 km away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
607 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Bon Laboureur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Bon Laboureur

Address: 6 rue du Docteur Bretonneau | 6 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range: $175 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Bon Laboureur 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre of Loire Valley Hotels, Charming Hotel Luxe with first class rooms ansd accomodations. Gastronomic restaurant. Hotel du Bon Laboureur is located near the castle of Chenonceau in Centre of Loire Valley Chateaux in Chateau country. Easy to visit the Loire Valley castles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge du Bon Laboureur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Hotel Chenonceaux
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Chenonceaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing