We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel du Roy(Chenonceaux)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Roi Coq(Chenonceaux)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
701
205
51
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
205
51
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleymichelin starchenonceau castlewine listamuse bouchetwo nightsseveral buildingslovely hotelmain buildingbeautiful roomswimming poolhotel restaurantfoie grassmall townlong drivestayed one nightlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 975 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We only stopped for dinner. To their credit, they had no problem taking us on short notice and in "travelling clothes" (jeans and jumpers). But once we arrived, we found the service bordering on unfriendly and pretentious. The food was decent and possibly warranting a Michelin star (I expected a bit better), but the atmosphere seriously lets this place down.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I stayed at this same hotel (which they call a Country Inn) 14 years ago, and plan to go back on my next trip to France. I would describe the decor as shabby chic - the room was a mixture of new renovations and slightly aged furnishings. However the room and bathroom were very clean and the shower had great water pressure. There was a TV in the room but no water kettle - we wanted to make our own tea and had to have hot water brought up. At least one member of the staff spoke good english, which is helpful. The breakfast seemed pricy at first, but after comparing it to several other hotels we stayed at in France, it was worth the 13 euros. We originally planned to have dinner at the hotel, but it was our first night in France and we did not want to wait until 7:00 PM for the first seating. We walked around to several other hotel/restaurants but none of them served before 7:00 PM (word of warning). So we just had a light snack in the very plesant bar area which consists of two sitting rooms with comfortable chairs and couches. Some of our fellow travelers were reading or playing games. It was a relaxing and fun experience to stay in a quiet village, however, be forwarned that it is a very small and quiet village. I am not sure there is any "night life" besides the 3 course meal at the Inn. We came directly to Chenonceau after arriving in Paris. We took the TGV from Montparnasse station to St. Pierre (outside of Tours) then switched to a more local train to Chenonceau. There are not too many connections, so plan your trip carefully. Otherwise, we were told you can rent a car from St. Pierre. We actually mananged to see 5 chateaus in the Loire Valley without a rental car - we walked to Chenonceaux from the Inn, then spent the next two nights in Tours. We took an all day van tour from the train station in Tours for the very affordable price of 49 euros (you pay your own admissions to the Chateaux but are offered the group rate). You can do a morning, afternoon, or all day tour. We obviously picked the itinerary that did not include Chenonceaux. We were very pleased to visit Azay le Rideau, Villandry, Chambord and Chiverny (forgive me if all the spelling is not correct). The eight of us had all signed up for the all day tour, so the driver suggested we lunch in Amboise instead of making just a short stop. Anyway, back to the hotel... I would highly recommend it and definately hope to be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with another family, totalling 10 of us. The exterior is beautiful as are the public areas inside. We had five rooms between us which were clean and comfortable and all individually decorated but only one (which has been refurbished) was a truly lovely room. The food is refined and very nice and they offered the children alternatives. The staff are effiicient but a little austere and we were made to feel uncomfortable when having an after dinner night cap in the bar area, as were our teenage boys if they were audible to any other guests. Overall our stay here was a good experience but do not expect the staff to be overly cordial.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2009

One of my favourite hotels in france! The best value for money.... our beautiful room was recently redecorated to a 5 star standard and had a private door to the swimming pool. Pricey for dinner but has a good reputation, there are plenty of cheaper options in the village. Dog friendly and a wonderful stay, long may we return! Beware being seduced by a drink in the lovely lounge as the drinks are pricey - 6.5 euro for a beer!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astburf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed at the Auberge in July 09. Our room was the Chambre Rouge (red carpeted room on their website), which was one of their Junior Suites. We stayed with our 5 year old daughter. The room was great for our family; our daughter could have her play area in the part of the room where the sleeper sofa was, and she liked having her own "bedroom". The staff was very pleasant and helpful; the air conditioning was great (once the staff helped us turn it on) and the free wi fi worked just fine. The pool was about 5 feet deep throughout, so we were glad we brought a lifejacket for our daughter. Easy walk to Chateau de Chenonceau, several restaurants, one bakery. Plenty of grocery stores etc within a few minutes drive. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SundropMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews