We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Real Gem"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Relais Chenonceaux
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"A Real Gem"”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

First discovered this place about 10 years ago whilst staying in a gite nearby-ate there on a couple of ocassions and were impressed and noticed how interesting the hotel looked.
Decided to stay in the hotel for one night on our journey further south and were not disappointed.We received a warm welcome and our room albeit on the small size made up for it with its character -beams and high pannelled wooden ceiling.It was cosy and warm with a large comfortable bed and crisp,clean bedding.We booked a table for the evening meal and were thoughtfully given a table next to the roaring, open fire as it was a very cold evening. We ordered off a set menu (good value) and the staff were happy to substitute one of the courses with a different meal at no extra cost.The meal itself was very enjoyable and the service was good and friendly.
There is limited parking space for the hotel but a public car park nearby.We are looking forward to returning to the hotel for two nights in the near future.This is a real gem give it a try!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortserved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    73
    41
    19
    15
See reviews for
39
92
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Booked this back in December at a good D,B&B rate (122 Euros for 2). Easy to get to, easy to find. Very limited parking out front but it does have a secure parking area about 3 mins walk away. Staff very friendly, rooms clean, functionable and comfortable (albeit walls are thin-you have been warned!-and bathroom a touche small). Restaurant superb both in value and quality (only 16 covers and both nights fully booked and people were being turned away). If you want to visit Chenonceaux Chateau (a must) it is 10 mins walk away whilst Amboise (another must) is about 15 mins drive. We both enjoyed ourselves and would we go again? Yes

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eijsden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights and the first room was really tiny. The shower was made for a child - a person with more the 1,60m cannot stand there (room 303). We had dinner at their restaurant - the food wasn't the special for the "menu gourmand" and the service was terrible. We had to beg for their attention to order the food. The hotel and the restaurant are overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandaCS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chenonceaux hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Better than a relais, a small hotel with a nice, no-nonsense restaurants and a reasonable walk from the fabulous Chateau (but parking free at both if you can find a space outside hotel). Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.
Friends have told me that La Rosarie across the road is an excellent restauranmt but it is closed on Mondays when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papermaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We did not stay at this hotel but ate lunch at their outdoor restaurant. The staff were efficient and helpful from the beginning and when I asked if it would be possible to heat our baby's food, the waiter assured me that he was used to doing so and it was returned to me at the right temperature in a nice white bowl. There's a lovely and very talkative grey parrot (a grey gibbon, I think) towards the back of the outdoor restaurant which my 8 month old loved and a member of staff gave him a peanut in a shell to crack open so she could watch. Our meal was very nice and at the right price. The toilets were clean. The hotel is 2-star and what we saw of the inside looked good. It's well-located in the small Chenonceaux village, a short walk from the castle. A nice place for a family lunch...

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KangarooBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Retaurant opened at 7pm. We turned up with our 18 month old son at 7pm on the dot - there was no one else in the restaurant at this point. We didn't get a very friendly welcome and this set the tone for the rest of our eveining meal. We are always VERY aware that not everyone enjoys the company of a toddler at a restaurnat in the evenings, and it was this reason that we booked a table as soon as the restaurant opened. Our son was on his best behaviour, he sat in his booster seat for the whole hour we were there (i.e. we didn't let him run around). However our efforts seemed to be wasted on both restaurant staff and guests alike. An off-hand attitude, dirty looks, tutting from our server and even a shhhhh from one of guests!! We were totally gobsmacked! Although the food arrived promptly, it was awful - cold and no taste/flavour watsoever. We ordered a salad that never arrived and when we told our server this (as it was on the bill) she didn't even apologise - just adjusted the total amount. We were out of the restaurant as soon as possible.

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to diners wioth children - they are obviously not welcome. Although saying that, even if we had gone without our son, I wouldn't recommend it as the food and level of service was below average.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luctay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

The double room was really cozy, a bit warm though. I understand some people may not like the old style of the place, but if you go there, that is what you are looking for: an old looking yet very cozy hotel. The restaurant is probably the best in town (next door La Roseraie was closed) and the staff really really really nice, helpfull and friendly. Now, on high season, like in any other touristic place, it might be different, I donno...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
0.0 km away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
603 reviews
0.1 km away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
808 reviews
1.3 km away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hostellerie de la Renaudiere
Hostellerie de la Renaudiere
#4 of 5 in Chenonceaux
62 reviews
1.7 km away
Hostellerie du Chateau de l'Isle
Hostellerie du Chateau de l'Isle
#1 of 1 in Civray-de-Touraine
65 reviews
5.2 km away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Chenonceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Chenonceaux

Property: Le Relais Chenonceaux
Address: 10 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Relais Chenonceaux 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Relais Chenonceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Hotel Chenonceaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing