We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, authentic and right in middle of town”
Review of Hotel de l'Abeille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Abeille
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“charming, authentic and right in middle of town”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

within walking distance from the railway this bee-themed hotel is just gorgeous. Very surprised to see it only has two stars as it is a lot better than many three star ones we have stayed in.
Us oldies would like a lift, but in Europe we are almost happy to manage without them. And yes, the very clean and modern bathroom could be a tad larger. but -- Yes, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    133
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
74
159
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A truly fabulous hotel. We stayed with our two boys in adjoining room on our way to south of France. It really kick started our holiday. Beautiful rooms each so different with antique furniture and unique decor. Our boys would have happily spent a week there. Huge ensuite bathrooms!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pau1inamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We booked Hotel de l'Abeille for a stop over on the way day to the South of France and also for our return. There were four of us (2 adults and 2 children 11 years and 2 years) when we booked a family room was not available so we had to book two rooms. This was fine but we stressed that the rooms has to be next to each other. The hotel accommodated our request and on our arrival we were given rooms 109 and 110. It was perfect. The rooms had a further outer door which meant we could leave our bedroom doors open and lock the outer door. This is perfect when travelling with children as they we could leave our doors open without the worry of someone wondering through.

On our second stay we had booked a family suite, however we were very disappointed, the room was beautiful and the bathroom was huge. However the set up of the room consisted of two rooms, in one room was a double bed and a small single bed and in the other room a single bed. As we were travelling with a 2 year old she had to sleep in a travel cot in the double room. This did not give us a lot of room once the cot was up and the dimensions could not work. After making enquiries with the reception staff we ended up changing rooms to two rooms however they did not have two rooms next to each other but they were on the same floor slightly apart. We took one large room (105) and room 109 was available again. This was the best option and worked out well. Besides the little problems on the return journey the staff were very helpful and tried their best to help us.

I would highly recommend this hotel it's cute and and in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked 2 nights in a small room but asked to see the larger room too. The small room was a bit small but still gorgeously decorated but we decided to stay an extra night so took a larger room; which was quite spacious.
Rooms had plenty of light and air and were quiet as the hotel is on the corner of the pedestrian street.
When we arrived we were given a welcoming juice drink, I'm not sure if only cyclists get this.
One night we had a picnic dinner on the rooftop terrace and I highly regimens it for the view, peace and quiet and sunset.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Right at the centre, we can walk to most places of interest. Nice and clean. Not expensive - may be because there is no air conditioning. We were driving in France for a month, and we had the best breakfast in this hotel. Dining room and reception area beautifully decorated. The only thing we didn't like is no parking, we have to park at the city parking lot - about 10 minutes walk from hotel. Front desk girls and owner very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We had driven all day through England and France and decided Orleans was the place for a stopover. We had not booked ahead and this was the first place we came across. It was like a little shining jewel of tasteful rooms. Although they had no family rooms left to offer us they asked if we wanted to see 2 small doubles as an alternative. The helfpful and friendly receptionist quoted us a very reasonable rate and once we'd peeked at the rooms the children gave it a big thumbs us (as did we all!). There are tiny symbols of bees everywhere but subtle and tasteful. The rooms were small but had everything you would need inculuding a flatscreen TV and "green" toiletries. They also offered a partly organic breakfast though we didn't eat at the hotel but found a nearby cafe. We were informed of a small roof terrace where one could relax with a drink and I really wished we could have done that but our tight schedule meant that we didn't take advantage of this. Being August the street parking outside was free though it wouldn't always be... that might need checking, though on street parking would be available for a fee and there was a big multi story a coulple of streets away. If you need a cute bolt hole for a few days touring the area I would take this - its lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for only one night on the way back home but it was just perfect. The rooms are quirky and unusual and the location is excellent. The reception staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. There was a "problem" with our booking in that they were unable to provide us with the triple that we had booked. But it never became a problem because they immediately told us that we were being given a single room on the same floor for free in addition to two doubles. We had the same problem with a chain hotel in Spain and the difference in how it was handled in Orleans could not have been more stark. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in central France, forget the Ibis and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orleans hotels
1.2 km away
Escale Oceania Orleans
Escale Oceania Orleans
#2 of 31 in Orleans
704 reviews
0.8 km away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
383 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel D'Orleans
Hotel D'Orleans
#3 of 31 in Orleans
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Orleans Centre
Mercure Orleans Centre
#4 of 31 in Orleans
762 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Marguerite
Hotel Marguerite
#6 of 31 in Orleans
308 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Hotel D'Arc
Best Western Hotel D'Arc
#10 of 31 in Orleans
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Abeille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abeille

Property: Hotel de l'Abeille
Address: 64 rue d Alsace Lorraine, 45000, Orleans, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Abeille 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de l'Abeille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Abeille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing