We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely home hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Manoir
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Tours
central District, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely home hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The place is lovely just like in a fairy tale. I love sitting in the table in the garden in the morning and have a cup of coffee. They know how to make this hotel lively with light colors and flowers. However the weather in town is quite hot and humid. It’s a little bit uncomortable sleeping in my first nights because it was hot. But apart from the tiny point, this hotel still worths it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RitaJHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    84
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
67
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel was just fine; exactly what you might expect from a small 2* French provincial hotel. This one had a charming, attractive exterior with a fairly ordinary interior, nevertheless very clean and comfortable. We stayed for 1 night only in a twin bedded room fronting onto the street which had a bath as requested but no overhead shower. Now the dear lady wife likes a bath and I like a shower and you kind of expect both possibilities if you book a room with a bath. There was a shower fitting just above the taps with the usual flexible hose so you could stand up and use it if you wished but there was no shower screen or curtain so it was more intended for washing your hair when sitting in the bath. Anyway, not a major issue when staying for only 1 night. The room was reasonably good value at €70.00 Euros but quite small and I think if we were staying for more than 1 night then I would have happily paid more for a larger room. I would suggest looking at their website before booking and being specific as to what type of room you want.

There was a very, good choice at breakfast, some might say expensive, but I think it was just about good value at €9.00 Euros. We certainly enjoyed it. Also the car parking was secure; they lock the gates at night and again fair value at €7.00 Euros for the night. However, there are only 4 spaces so make sure you book in advance if you need it.

Finally, the central location of the hotel is excellent with just a short walk up Rue Jules Simon to the magnificent cathedral and then a left turn after this into Rue Colbert which is lined with many bars and restaurants. Here we had a very good meal at Restaurant La Ruche as recommended by the hotel; we can certainly endorse the recommendation. Continue along Rue Colbert until you reach the historic old town, this is within a 15 minute walk of the hotel and is absolutely charming. Tours is certainly a very pleasant city with the River Loire running right through it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Tours surprised me, I didn't expect such a beautiful town. This hotel is perfect for a couple of nights as it too is a pretty place. Pleasant rooms, clean, decent value and despite being an old house there is a lift if you are on the top floors.
The car park is famously tight but the owners will park for you if you wish. Good breakfast too.

Room Tip: If you want decent size rooms I would avoid the top floor. The rooms there are nice but a wee bit cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights in early August with my wife and daughter.

The good:

The staff were all very friendly, welcoming, helpful. They truly seem to enjoy being the gracious hosts for their guests. Mme. Christine, especially, excelled at providing great service and made us feel very welcome and valued as a guest. Mme. Laurence speaks English fluently (but no one else does), but we still had no trouble communicating with the staff, getting directions, recommendations, etc.. It does help if you speak a little French, though. The staff was very willing to give directions, make a dinner recommendation and reservation, and to call for a taxi.

The hotel is a short walk from the street where most of the restaurants are located, a short walk from the Office of Tourism (this should be one of your first stops), an ATM (across the street from the Office of Tourism), and the train station (probably too far of a walk with luggage, though, so you might want a taxi).

The rooms are a decent size.

The breakfast was good (but expensive at 9 euro's/person).

The hotel lobby and garden are beautiful. Just what you picture in a small town in France.

Free wi-fi

The bad:

No air conditioning, but this is the story almost every where in France. The French simply say that it doesn't get hot enough to need a/c in France, but don't believe them. It gets hot and humid.

Breakfast is expensive at the hotel.

If you stay here:

Have dinner at Le Touron. Laurence recommended this restaurant, and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere. Traditional French cuisine without pretense.

They do not take American (swipe only, no chip) credit cards. You will find this many places in Europe, even if your credit card company tells you that American cards are taken "everywhere."

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. When we left, Mme. Christine and one of housekeepers walked us out to our taxi and stood there waving as we left, as if we were family. We'd never experienced such gracious service at a hotel before (and probably never will again).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very small room but ok, the bathroom was also ok but had a bathtub with no curtain (I hate this... Avoiding a flood when taking a shower is a challenge!). Also, we were at this hotel with a group of friends with whom we were cycling around the area. Since we all arrived at tho hotel at the same time, hot water was quickly over and some of us had to take a cold shower. Nice breakfast provided, the service is good. If you are looking for a budget solution, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is rated well by some but I do not agree. The rooms are average, parking is hard to come by and the quality is just not there. Rooms are noisy. The staff are friendly however. I would not recommend this hotel and you should not go out of your way to visit this hotel. In spite of the hotel did enjoy our visit to Tours.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We loved staying this hotel for its location close to the Tours railway station and the great service of the hotel's staff. The hotel manager, Simone, was consistently helpful with all inquiries, including recommending our best restaurant in Tours, Le Theleme. The rooms are small, but in every other regard, we loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Grnd floor rm 6, a triple, is worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFtraveler60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#14 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 88 in Tours
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 km away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#31 of 88 in Tours
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#8 of 88 in Tours
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel de Tours
Grand Hotel de Tours
#13 of 88 in Tours
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Manoir

Property: Hotel du Manoir
Address: 2 rue Traversiere, 37000, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Manoir 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet street of the city center, the hotel is a 5-minute walk away from Tours train station. Our 20 rooms all have en-suite bathroom and TV. All floors can be easily reached with our lift. Paying parking spaces are available upon previous request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Manoir Hotel
Du Manoir Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing