We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy hotel for Chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Cheval Rouge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Villandry
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed here as a pre-booked overnight stop, planning to visit the Chateau the next day whilst travelling further south into France. We had booked a family room but on our arrival we were given 2 rooms for the same price as our original booking. One room had been modernised with new decor whilst the other was looking a little worse for wear and dated - we assumed that the older room was due for the re-fit the other had recently gone through. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable - no air conditioning - given we were there in August where temperatures were hitting 34c this made it a little uncomfortable but not unbearable. We did not book breakfast so unable to comment on food

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadsarah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Every effort was made to make us feel welcome and both the food and the service were excellent. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, the rooms are in poor decorative order, wallpaper peeling from walls or missing and scratched paintwork, which made the visit a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Late booking father, son and dog. Rooms located upstairs in outbuildings with difficult access for old man. Rooms were clean and tidy but a bit dated. Nothing special for dinner, service was initially slow to start. Locals seemed to enjoy it
Plastic grass in the back garden is definitely a no-no for such a picturesque setting.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Charming old fashioned hotel on the outskirts of Tours. Dated rooms but clean and comfortable. We were surprised at the quality of the dinner that represented excellent value. The house wine was outstanding. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The parking was problematical as there were major building works in the road. Very good WiFi.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dordogner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Lovely, friendly hotel in great location beside Loire with very easy access to Loire a Velo route. Clean, comfortable room with nice shower. Room was quiet even though it is right beside a busy road. Great meal.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our bicycle tour. It was a good choice because they are perfectly organised in catering for cyclists. The nice thing about the hotel is that you can walk over to the castle for a visit to the well-known gardens. We also enjoyed the evening meal there and were quite happy with the food.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilmaSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The Cheval Rouge is perfectly placed for a visit to the wonderful gardens and chateau in Villandry. The hotel has seen better days but was clean and welcoming and well priced. There were several restaurants nearby, and the hotel restaurant was busy and nicely set out

Room Tip: Our room was large with separate shower and loo. Despite the sign on the door banning smoking there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Inter-Hotel
1  Thank MyDailyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villandry
0.5 km away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
335 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Le Colombien
Hotel Le Colombien
#3 of 3 in Villandry
109 reviews
6.4 km away
Chateau de Beauvois
Chateau de Beauvois
#1 of 1 in Saint-Etienne-de-Chigny
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
267 reviews
9.4 km away
Les Trois Lys
Les Trois Lys
#10 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
176 reviews
9.6 km away
Campanile Tours Sud - Joue Les Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cheval Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cheval Rouge

Address: 9 rue Principale, 37510 Villandry, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Villandry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Villandry
Price Range: $106 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Cheval Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Cheval Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing