We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in center of Reims”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place in center of Reims”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

If you are looking for a nice hotel in the center of Reims, this is it. It is a very nice place with all the amenities you could need. If you are looking for something a little more "atmospheric" instead of centrally-located, I would look elsewhere though (but then you probably won't be centrally-located).

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_S2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    977
    184
    64
    20
See reviews for
268
1,055
43
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of Reims, so excellent for city sightseeing everything is within close proximity - except for champagne caves you will need to drive there - but they all have good parking on site. Hotel also has an underground car park but do book in advance.
Rooms were fine, standard rooms were small but very comfortable and the bathroom was adequate, with everything you need. The breakfast room served a really good breakfast. Wifi was available throughout the hotel at no charge.
The front desk staff were very efficient and helpful.
Only negative for us was on three occasions we were left standing outside our room whilst they brought up new keys - not great when you are keen to get in after a hard days sightseeing.

Room Tip: A front room can be noisy at night as it is near the main restaurant street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awaywegoagain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is probably the nicest hotel in Reims. Location couldn't be better. A Privilege room was very good although the sliding bathroom doors don't close properly.
There is free wireless but once you leave the hotel and come back no amount of entering your password and fiddling with settings will get you back on line. Fear not. You can just sign up again using any old made up email and password as you won't have to enter it again.
Also beware ordering taxis. One was fine but the other had 6:30€ already on the meter when we got in. There are no taxi ranks apart from the station. There is a good tram system though and most things are walkable anyway. Hotel restaurant and bar are fine but better places nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWilbury101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have booked the hotel last minute for a short weekend trip. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was very big and clean with a very large bathroom. We have also tried the spa which was nice and clean. The pool is not very big but it is more than enough for an afternoon swim.
The hotel is right in the city center and only 10 min walk from the city center. We were close to the cathedral, restaurants and shops.
Lovely location, nice hotel perfect for a weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is a smart hotel right in the centre of Reims - 2 steps from restaurant- and bar-filled place Drouet d'Erlon and 10 min walk from the Cathedral. Rooms are fresh and nicely designed, though a bit overpriced for their size. The parking is on site for 11 Euro/ day. The hotel restaurant is highly recommended for fresh seafood and excellent choice of champagnes

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxLondon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I think the problem with this hotel is inconsistent staff. Although i found most of their staff friendly and helpful, there were a few that were rude and unwilling to help. The worst one was the lady that checked us into the hotel. First of all, there was no greeting or smile. She just took the voucher from me and threw it back at me a few minutes afterwards saying that she couldn't find my name on the voucher, which was clearly written on the front. Ok, fine. I then handed her my passport. Then she handed me an electronic key and gave me instructions as if i was an idiot. She said, "this is an electronic key, u know? You have to tap it at the door. It gives you electricity, ok?" It was quite offensive to hear. A simple "let me know if you have any questions" would've been fine. And then when my husband asked if a password was necessary for the free wifi, she rolled her eyes again. First, she said of course it's not necessary because it was free, then she gave us an access code. Isn't that the equivalent of a password?

We had room 626 which faces the courtyard as i had requested (from the advice of previous reviewers) which was completely away from the noise. The room, thank goodness, was clean, modern and large. I was pleased that even the bathrooms were updated and were very spacious. Internet was extremely fast.

We had wanted to book a day tour in champagne for the next day, and the guy at the evening reception was very helpful and helping us choose a tour. It was past office hours, however and he explained that the reception would be glad to book the tour for us the next morning. In the morning, it was another lady which booked the tour for us. I thought she was helpful until i realized she had booked the wrong tour. She assumed that we wanted the cheapest tour even though we specifically asked to book the private tour. When we found out it was already too late to change.

Overall it's a fine hotel to stay in if all you need is a nice clean room. But don't expect the staff to be very helpful when you seek their assistance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Ours was a Deluxe room on the third floor of the most recently completed part of the hotel (about 6 years ago), it overlooked a pleasant courtyard and we were delighted with it and, in particular, with the space it offered.

The sitting area had a large comfortable settee, flat screen TV and a writing desk with two armchairs, plus storage for baggage An attractive bay window provided lots of light and had a table and two more armchairs set within the bay. These chairs were surprisingly comfortable, given that they were of solid plastic! Wood featured prominently in the room, but none of it was real so not one tree was felled to provide furniture and features.

But despite all this wood there was not one drawer in the room - not even a little one - although there was a wardrobe with plenty of hangers A floor to ceiling (almost) room divider separated the sitting area from the bedroom and provided numerous open shelves on which all clothing which could not be hung was "displayed". Given that our stay was one of six nights we had lots to display on the shelves; a bit like a charity shop really!

As to the bed and pillows, they could not have been more comfortable and the beautifully laundered bed linen was changed daily. Bed lights were well arranged for reading and all lighting controlled from easily reached bedside switches.

Double sliding doors of polished aluminium gave entry to a large area housing a deep and fullsized bath and a washbasin of generous proportions, and a further sliding door led to a spacious shower cubicle with ultra efficient shower heads, both hand held and high level, and to the WC. Bath sheets and hand towels were large, thick and fluffy and changed daily unless placed on hooks. Housekeeping was absolutely first class.

Breakfast, charged extra at 14 Euros per person, was acceptable and offered reasonable choice, but could not be described as a banquet or feast. The hotel's restaurant was incredibly popular and busy with local people and, having eaten two dinners there, we can understand why. Quality and choice of dishes was excellent and, though pricey, well worth the money, and wines were by no means overpriced.

In summary, this is a splendid hotel in a wonderful location and with friendly and helpful staff, and we shall probably make a point of returning there sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 68 in Reims
693 reviews
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
Address: 9 Rue Buirette, 51100, Reims, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reims
#2 Business Hotel in Reims
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#4 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix is located in the heart of Reims, in an exceptional setting. A stone's throw away from the cathedral, our hotel is also situated near the conventioncentre and the highspeed train station.The hotel, which combines modernity and cultural heritage, has 165 comfortable, soundproof and air-conditioned rooms with free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Reims
Best Western Reims
Reims Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing