We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
28
10
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
10
6
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 51 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Perfect location in the heart of Bastias old town and steps away from the old port which is the most beautiful area of old buildings and nice restaurants to suit all tastes!

Youssef is a wonderful host and ensures everyone is felt welcome and at home from the minute you walk through it’s pleasant reception area.

I made last minute booking as never organized!!!!
He gave wonderful recommendations on where to eat and also re market area on where to get best charcuterie and cheese.

I spent 5 days traveling and returned to Du Palais on last night as it has a wonderful homely feel.

Room was spotless and linen /towels etc all perfect .

Also, I got cups of tea ( I’m Irish need my tea!!!) which Youssef kindly made for me!!

100 percent recommend for friendliness, location and vibe!

Angela

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Castlemoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

I must admit this was my third choice accommodation in Bastia.

Having spent a few days hiking in Cap Corse I was tired and very smelly and upon returning to the city found that the campsite I’d stayed in previously was closed. Damn. The tourist office pointed me in the direction of a scuzzy looking hostel that was fully booked, and then I took a chance and wandered into Hotel du Palais off the street.

Yusef, the owner, couldn’t have greeted me more warmly or have been kinder and the room he showed me was simple yet stylish. Perhaps it was because I hadn’t slept in a bed for four days or taken a shower but I found the facilities more than comfortable.

The following day he extended his generosity by allowing me to return to the hotel and make further plans after missing my morning ferry.

In a city where accommodation options are limited and crazy expensive, Hotel du Palais is a great choice!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Grubbertastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

Upgraded to larger room with two double beds
No air conditioning in room - opened windows for air but traffic from road constant through night.
No tea/coffee/refrigerator in room
Two flight of stairs to reception

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SteveandRete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOUSLIMYOU, Gérant at Hotel du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear Sir and Madame,
Thanks for your review.
Our hotel is note advertised as a hotel with air conditioning.
You had no coffeein your room but a tea pot in your room with different kind of teas and cups and sweets wich is not usual in a two star hotel .
We don' t have a fridge but we made sure your beers and wine were kept fresh in our fridge.
Also for a 75€ room in bastia in high season we think that you haven't travel enough when we read your expectations.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is dirty and located in the busy street. Windows are very poorly isolated so it seems that you are sleeping on the road. Though smoking is not allowed the room is smelly. What is most important the pictures in booking are not true! Also in the single room the show is just opposite the bed, in the same room. THERE IS NO TOILET in single rooms, the toilet is shared between 4 rooms and it's not mentioned anywhere. But the worst is the owner. I told him in the polite way the room does not match the picture and he told me to get out since he doesn't want me as a guest anymore even though I had two nights booked, then there were 4 hours between me him and booking.com which ended by booking bringing me to another hotel. He also called the police (who were nice enough to calm me down and bring me to another hotel) and he attacked me and forced to pay for 2 nights though booking already changed reservation for 1 night. Nightmarish hotel and nightmarish owner! This has nothing to do with the stars the hotel "has" 2 that they claim is too much, it should be 0

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Ekaterina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOUSLIMYOU, Gérant at Hotel du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear madam,

It seems like you are becoming obsessed by our hotel since you have posted a comment in almost every platform where a comment can be posted.
I don't think it is fare from you to post pictures that do not belong to the room you occupied in our hotel.
If Asking nicely means for you screaming and waking up and disturb other guests then we won't agree on the meaning of this word.
It has been 4 months since I hown this hotel I have been making many important changes and improvments and my guest are really happy with this.
Also since you were not happy with your room I offered to relocate you in another hotel and also offered to pay the 20 € relocation fees for the night with you refused and wasted my all morning (from 9 H30 to 1.00 PM).
The reason I called the police is because you tried to leave without paying your bill and also because you seemed like having some issues with communication and I needed the authority to witness your attitude and it shows today that I was ritght since you are trying really hard to advertise my hotel as a nightmare .
As I told you the only thing that counts for me is having my guest happy and you were not happy in my hotel and so that is why the idea of relocate you in another hotel sounded better for both my happiness and yours.
The only memory I will keep from you is that you are an unhappy person.
It is true that the reviews on trip advisor count for me a lot but what counts more for me is having my guest happy on the spot.
It seems to me like you know a lot about crazyness.
For your information there are other websites where you forgot to ad a review about the terrible hotel with the terrible owner.

Wishing you to stay healthy.

Regards
YM/Gérant
Hotel du Palais Bastia Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews