We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
230
140
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
140
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river great location busy square excellent room air conditioned hotel is situated walking distance nice hotel city centre quai essentials element parking locks wifi doubs elevator
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 385 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2018

Right in the city centre between the river and a charming square, we received a very warm welcome from the very helpful owner who even lent us guide books to help us enjoy our stay. Our room was roomy with a nice bathroom and a lovely view over the busy square. Parking was in an underground car park, but quite close by. Breakfast was a normal type Continental breakfast which I thought was a little overpriced.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EnglandJay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

This is a great place, perfect location, and still quiet and peaceful. The rooms are very smartly setup so it does not feel cramped and all essentials are there. Have stayed here 3 times already and would not hesitate to do so again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle l, Gérant at Hotel Vauban, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Dear Clientt

Thanks so much for your comment.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018

The hotel is very good situated in the center of Besancon. The rooms are nice and clean. The owner is very gentle and helpfull for informations. We were two times there and we will sure visite the place again.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zvezdaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2017

It has been my first stay at the hotel VAUBAN Besançon, to be honest, I really enjoyed my saty at this hotel , even it was short (only3 nights) but I had found it very clean, very good service, a really very quiet hotel , the hotel is located almost in the heart of Besançon's city , outside of the hotel , a very nice view on the river , I will come back with a great pleasure. Congratulations to the hotel staff.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abelou2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle l, Gérant at Hotel Vauban, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Vauban.
We appreciate your comment.
We will have a great pleasure to welcome you again

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

The Good:
The bedding was comfortable. Hotel had an elevator! Yeah! Door locks were modern keycard entry.

Be Aware:
The hotel is right "downtown" and there is an unsavory element on the main street by the nearby bridge. While we didn´t necessarily feel unsafe, you need to keep your wits about you. Parking on the street is a little dicey; I strongly suggest you use the nearby covered lot - parking was only a euro overnight. Our room was a tad cramped. Our room faced the river; supporting structural elements greatly reduced the available headroom for a third of the room. I clocked my head twice.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawaiianGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews