We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot - very nice rooms and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lautrec Opera
Ranked #1,115 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot - very nice rooms and hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I would reccomend this place as a great one to stay...comfortable rooms, very clean, nice enough breakfast...not too turistic!! And check out is at 12 noon.

Only shame was that the cleaner woke us up at 8.30AM, as she was on her mobile phone chatting....when we were banking on a bit of sleep, as check out was so late and we had quite a long day ahead and a long one just gone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimoRoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    182
    94
    34
    18
See reviews for
66
200
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel has a great location, close to the Opera and the Louvre. There is a metro station very close. It is just off a large street with a lot of restaurants, cafes and shops as well. The staff is very friendly and speaks English well.
There is free wi-fi or a computer with printer for use in the lobby.
The room is small, but that's expected for Europe. The bathroom was larger than I expected, with a bathtub and normal shower!
For the money, I think this place is great and I will definitely recommend it to friends traveling to Paris in the future!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This small hotel is quaint and interesting. It is in a block of many old buildings joined together, just south of the main street "Haussman Boulevard", so it is a quiet street. The building that houses the lobby and some of the rooms was the home of Toulouse Lautrec (artist/painter). At some point, the hotel expanded to the building next door.

Remember that we are in Europe....in France....hotels and hotel rooms in the "downtown" or historic areas tend to be small (I'll be using this word frequently). The lobby area has a "compact" reception area, a nice waiting area and an "internet" station. Both reception personnel that we encountered spoke English well.

Our room was in the actual "Lautrec" house, accessed by two tiny elevators--only one person with their luggage, could fit at one time; without luggage, four could it. Hallways are narrow. Our room had a queen bed, and one original brick/stone wall and ceiling beam--gave it a neat "old" feel. There was a narrow desk and 2 chairs and room to walk around the bed. Our private bathroom had tub/shower combo. Looked as if the room had been recently renovated.

There is a breakfast room in the basement level which can be accessed either by elevator or stairs. Again, a neat "old" feeling because of the brick/stone walls. Breakfast included juices, water, milk, tea, coffee (coffee in Europe tends to be more like espresso--rather strong, but good), hot chocolate, cereal, yogurt, cheeses, meats, buns, bread, croissants, (and a toaster), scrambled eggs, sausage (tasty), and was 15 euros a person--a little pricey, but convenient, good, and typical price for France.

Turn left out of the hotel to the first street (patisserie/coffee shop in the corner), turn right and it's about a 15 min walk to the Louvre. On the way, you pass two little grocery/market shops and a great little pizza parlour (locals were buying there). We bought fruit, snacks, wine in the grocery.

We booked tours online, before our trip and used City Discovery, but there are many tour companies that I'm sure are equally as good. We booked the Paris Discovery tour--1 hr narrated bus tour of the city, 1 hr narrated boat cruise of the Seine, the "Front of the Line' pass to the Eiffel Tower. This meant that we didn't wait in the line to get into the Eiffel Tower--we went straight in and up to the 2nd level, where we had a delicious lunch. After lunch we were on our own--the tour was over. You could walk up one level (or take an elevator)to get a better view of the city and there was an interesting display on the history of the tower. You can pay an extra 7 euros to take the elevator to the top of the tower, which we did; after all, we were in Paris, in the Eiffel Tower--we had to go to the top. In hindsight, I'm asking myself "was it worth it?" It took us 3 hours, from the time we bought the extra ticket, lined up for the elevator, rode to the top, spent 45 min walking around and looking at the city, lining up for the elevator down, and getting down to ground level again.

We are "walkers"--love to discover on foot. So from the Eiffel Tower, we walked all over--Champs d'Elysee, along the Seine, the Obelisk, the ferris wheel, etc.) and eventually, back to our hotel.

Also booked the "Front of the Line" tour of Versailles--a bus took us to the beautiful palace that housed the Kings and Queens of France; we toured the kings and queens apartments and hall of mirrors--gorgeous! Our tour guide was excellent. Also walked through some of the many fabulous gardens and saw some of the fountains displays. The fountains only "spurt" at certain times. Because tours are on a time schedule, you only have time to see a small part of the gardens--they are magnificent. If went back on your own, I'm sure you could spend a whole day there, to see everything.

We only had 2 days in Paris--not nearly enough time, but the two tours certainly gave us a good overview--the bus tour of the city, cruise on the Seine, Eiffel Tower, and Versailles. There are sooo many other tours--they are expensive but are narrated in many languages and show you the main attractions.

My main advice, if you want to book tours, is book 'FRONT OF THE LINE ACCESS'!!!!!! Wait lines are unbelievably long.

I would recommend our Hotel Lautrec Opera--if you are looking for a quaint, boutique hotel. We loved it. One male hotel receptionist was particularly helpful in getting us transportation to the airport--he knew to make a special request for a larger vehicle since there were 4 of us, with luggage, otherwise the taxi company would have sent a regular cab.

Transportation in France is awesome, from subway to buses to trains, you can get anywhere and everywhere--to the airport, downtown, Disneyland, all over Paris, to London, England, and all over Europe.

We definitely have to go back and spend more time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Connie654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspendale, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here for a week from the 12 May to our surprise it was being renovated so its very noisy during the day work with radio on and lots of hammering. So you really cant stay in your room during the day. We had Breakfast included which was a disappointment its a buffet and is not re stock quickly enough this happened many times so even though we had paid for breakfast we ate elsewhere there is a great cafe on the corner. This hotel is in a very good location close to the Metro with lots of restaurants close by. You are right between the Louvre and Montmartre

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We booked this hotel on their own website in Jan for stay in June and obtained confirmation for room for 4. However, only 3 days before our stay they sent an e-mail (did not even call) to say could only accommodate 3! I called the front desk but they were extremely unhelpful and did not offer any options and refused to help us obtain alternative accommodation. They also initially even refused to cancel the reservation and said we had to cancel online! It was a very busy week in Paris and we were already there with 2 young children and no accommodation in 3 days time!! I WOULD DEFINITELY AVOID THIS HOTEL and book another.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

perfect spot for traveling around to anywhere in Paris but it just wasn't quite what we'd expected. You wouldn't know there was any connection to Lautrec except for a book they sell at reception and the interior all looks very dated and untraditional. Also a bit of building work going on so would be worth checking if this has finished when planning your trip as can be very loud from 8am onwards.
But overall if you want a basic hotel to sleep in and be in a good central spot then this is good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank badelbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I stayed in this hotel during recent trip to Paris with my wife
I have never bothered to write a review because how busy I usually am.......
I was advised by my travel agent to LOWER my expectatons when it comes to typical hotel in the center of Paris.
well...... location is the only good thing about this hotel
service is simply horrible
front desk people were rude and did not even tried to hide the fact that they dont give a s-t
hotel had active renovation going on with workers outside constanly making noise - it was impossible to even open the window.
basic amenities were absent , horrible shower despite us staying in privilaged room??
front desk person did not bother to make a phone call in am as requested prior to departure to the airport and the person who replaced him claimed no request was ever made.
Avoid this hotel at all cost.
there are numerous 3 starts hotel in Paris in similar location with far superior atmosphere and much more professional and pleasent staff.
this expirience almost spoiled what overwise was very nice trip to a gorgeous city of Paris

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liliadoc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Icone
Hotel Icone
#720 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera
Opera / Bourse
Mercure Paris Opera Louvre
Mercure Paris Opera Louvre
#798 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
London Hotel
London Hotel
#1,028 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Richmond Opera Hotel
Richmond Opera Hotel
#852 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Gramont Opera Paris
Hotel Gramont Opera Paris
#340 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lautrec Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lautrec Opera

Property: Hotel Lautrec Opera
Address: 8 rue d Amboise, 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,115 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lautrec Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old residence of the famous painter Toulouse Lautrec, you can discover a unique typical Parisian hotel, located in the full heart of Paris, historical city. Right in the middle of Opera district, our establishment is about a few hundred meters away from the Opera Garnier close by the Lafayette or the Printemps Haussman Galleries. This place is also well known for its business department specialized in the stock exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lautrec Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lautrec Opera Hotel
Lautrec Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing